adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Cressida Cowell, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times by Cressida Cowell

Title: Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times Author: Cressida Cowell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books/Hachette Published: 24th September 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 460 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The No.1 bestselling series from the author of HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON, Cressida Cowell. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful Magic in an exciting… Continue reading Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times by Cressida Cowell

biography, Book Industry, Books, history, memoir, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Good Germans: Resisting the Nazis 1933-1945 by Catrine Clay

Title: The Good Germans: Resisting the Nazis 1933-1945 Author: Catrine Clay Genre: World War Two History, Non-Fiction Publisher: Hachette/W&N Published: 8th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 404 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Award-winning historian Catrine Clay tells the gripping stories of six ordinary Germans who witnessed the rise of Nazism in Germany from within, and dared to… Continue reading The Good Germans: Resisting the Nazis 1933-1945 by Catrine Clay

adventure, Book Industry, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Cressida Cowell, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Wizards of Once

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic by Cressida Cowell

Title: The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic Author: Cressida Cowell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette Australia/Hodder Published: 20th September 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 480 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The No.1 Bestselling Series. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful magic in an exciting fantasy adventure from the author of HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON. The… Continue reading The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic by Cressida Cowell

Book Industry, Books, challenges, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

A Girl Made of Air by Nydia Hetherington

Title: A Girl Made of Air Author: Nydia Hetherington Genre: Historical Fiction, Folklore, Myth, Magical Realism Publisher: Hachette/Quercus Published: 8th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 376 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A lyrical debut packed with myth, magic and folklore, perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern and Angela Carter 'A captivating tale of love and loss and… Continue reading A Girl Made of Air by Nydia Hetherington

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Silk House by Kayte Nunn

Title: The Silk House Author: Kayte Nunn Genre: Historical Fiction/Gothic Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 30th June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 380 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Weaving. Healing. Haunting. The spellbinding story of a mysterious boarding school sheltering a centuries-old secret by the bestselling author of THE BOTANIST'S DAUGHTER Weaving. Healing. Haunting. The spellbinding story of… Continue reading The Silk House by Kayte Nunn

Australian literature, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Giant and the Sea by Trent Jamieson, Rovina Cai (Illutrator)

Title: The Giant and the Sea Author: Trent Jamieson, Rovina Cai (Illutrator) Genre: Fiction, Eco-themes Publisher: Hachette/Lothian Children’s Books Published: 26th May 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $26.99 Synopsis: A stunningly beautiful and powerful take on climate change, standing up for what you believe in, and the power of hope. With lyrical text by… Continue reading The Giant and the Sea by Trent Jamieson, Rovina Cai (Illutrator)

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Writing

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Orion/Hachette Australia Published: 28th April 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 380 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of THE TRAIN TO IMPOSSIBLE PLACES and THE POLAR BEAR EXPLORERS' CLUB. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

Books, challenges, check in post, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, The Modern Mrs Darcy, translated works

The Bell in the Lake by Lars Mytting

Title: The Bell in the Lake Author: Lars Mytting Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 10th March 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 392 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: The first in a rich historical trilogy that draws on legend, by the author of NORWEGIAN WOOD and THE SIXTEEN TREES OF THE SOMME. Norway, 1880. In the secluded… Continue reading The Bell in the Lake by Lars Mytting

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The River Home by Hannah Richell

Title: The River Home Author: Hannah Richell Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 25th February 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 360 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: The river can take you home. But the river can also drag you under... The new novel from bestselling author Hannah Richell. A wise and emotionally powerful story of a broken family… Continue reading The River Home by Hannah Richell

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, Events, history, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Killing Streets: Uncovering Australia’s first serial murderer by Tanya Bretherton

Title: The Killing Streets: Uncovering Australia’s first serial murderer Author: Tanya Bretherton Genre: History, Non-Fiction, True Crime Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 25th February 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 340 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: From the acclaimed author of THE SUITCASE BABY and THE SUICIDE BRIDE, the story of a series of horrific murders that began in 1930s Sydney - and… Continue reading The Killing Streets: Uncovering Australia’s first serial murderer by Tanya Bretherton