#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Rabbit, Soldier, Angel, Thief by Katrina Nannestad

Title: Rabbit, Soldier, Angel, Thief Author: Katrina Nannestad Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: ABC Books Published: 27th October 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 320 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Award-winning writer Katrina Nannestad transports us to Russia and the Great Patriotic War and into the life of Sasha, a soldier at only six years old ... Wood splinters and… Continue reading Rabbit, Soldier, Angel, Thief by Katrina Nannestad

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Deltora Quest, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Young Adult

Deltora Quest (21st Anniversary Edition) by Emily Rodda

Title: Deltora Quest (21st Anniversary Edition) Author: Emily Rodda Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 774 Price: $39.99 Synopsis: A stunning 21st Anniversary edition of the Deltora Quest books in one hardback collection. Emily Rodda is Australia’s number one fantasy writer for children. Cover artwork by Deltora artist Marc… Continue reading Deltora Quest (21st Anniversary Edition) by Emily Rodda

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Magic of Magnolia Moon by Edwina Wyatt

Title: The Magic of Magnolia Moon Author: Edwina Wyatt Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Published: 6th October 2021 Format: Hardback Pages: 160 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: For Magnolia Moon, magic is a way to solve problems. And when you're starting a new class at school and your best friend doesn't live across the road anymore, problems… Continue reading The Magic of Magnolia Moon by Edwina Wyatt

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Monster of Her Age by Danielle Binks

Title: The Monster of Her Age Author: Danielle Binks Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Australia Published: 28th July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 265 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: In a neo-Gothic mansion in a city at the end of the world, Ellie finds there's room enough for art, family, forgiveness and love. A coming-of-age story about embracing the… Continue reading The Monster of Her Age by Danielle Binks

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, memoir, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Real Pigeons, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, spies, Young Adult

September 2021 Round Up

In September, I read 21 books, and most of those were again Australian authors, with two quiz books and 19 review books. To date on the day of writing this, I have read 217 books, and September saw me reach 215 books for 2021. I completed my Dymocks Reading Challenge, leaving only my QBD Challenge… Continue reading September 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, biography, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Monty's Island, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Real Pigeons, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Young Adult

Dymocks Reading Challenge – CHALLENGE COMPLETED

One of the reading challenges I undertook this year was the Dymocks Reading Challenge, which I like because the categories are fairly open, yet still challenging – sometimes it can be hard to find the book you want without doubling up, and for some, there are lots of books that work here. I started in… Continue reading Dymocks Reading Challenge – CHALLENGE COMPLETED

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Completed

Another challenge completed! I completed this one a few weeks ago, and my original post about it is here. This was the build your own challenge from lists of prompts from previous iterations of this challenge and I have to say, it was a really good one as there was a lot less pressure to… Continue reading Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Completed

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Ella at Eden, Enola Holmes, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

August Round-Up 2021

August saw most of Australia back in lockdown due to the Delta variant of COVID, so it was a great month to get on top of my reading as much as I could. Between books for work and review, I read 29 books, and reviewed most of them. Again, most were by Australian authors, with… Continue reading August Round-Up 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Song of Lewis Carmichael by Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride

Title: The Song of Lewis Carmichael Author: Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 192 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A beautiful, illustrated adventure story with a classic feel, about a quiet boy and a talking crow on an extraordinary hot-air balloon ride to… Continue reading The Song of Lewis Carmichael by Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride