#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Painting by Alison Booth

Title: The Painting The Painting by Alison Booth Author: Alison Booth Genre: Mystery/Historical Fiction/Literary Publisher: Red Door Press Published: 15th July 2021 (28th July Australia) Format: Paperback Pages: 300 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: When Anika Molnar flees her home country of Hungary not long before the break-up of the Soviet Union, she carries only a small… Continue reading The Painting by Alison Booth

Book Industry, Books, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The Last Daughter by Nicola Cornick

Title: The Last Daughter The Last Daughter Author: Nicola Cornick Genre: Historical Fiction/Magical Realism Publisher: HarperCollins Published: 8th July 2021 (7th July 2021 in Australia) Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A secret hidden in the past.A family bound by a dark legacy… Ever since her sister disappeared eleven years ago, Serena Warren has… Continue reading The Last Daughter by Nicola Cornick

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Awards, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Nancys by R.W.R McDonald

Title: The Nancys Author: R.W.R McDonald Genre: Crime Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 3rd June 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 416 Price: $16.99 Synopsis:  A schoolgirl and her uncle and his boyfriend have two weeks to solve a murder in a small town style forgot... WINNER of the Ngaio Marsh Award for Best First NovelTippy Chan… Continue reading The Nancys by R.W.R McDonald

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, LJM Owen, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, short stories

The Only One in the World: A Sherlock Holmes Anthology by Narelle M Harris (editor)

Title: The Only One in the World: A Sherlock Holmes Anthology The Only One in the World Author: Narelle M Harris (editor) Genre: Crime Publisher: Clandestine Press Published: 15th April 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 300 Price: $39.95 ($29.95 paperback) Synopsis: What if Sherlock Holmes was Polish? What if he or John Watson were Indian or… Continue reading The Only One in the World: A Sherlock Holmes Anthology by Narelle M Harris (editor)

animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Twitch by M.G. Leonard

Title: Twitch Twitch by M.G. Leonard Author: M.G. Leonard Genre: Mystery Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 2nd June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: The internationally bestselling author of Beetle Boy writes a thrilling mystery adventure about friendship, bravery and the wonderful world of birds, starring a birdwatching detective called Twitch. Can a birdwatcher outwit… Continue reading Twitch by M.G. Leonard

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Crime/Mystery, history, literary fiction, Pamela Hart, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Digging up Dirt (Poppy McGowan) by Pamela Hart

Title: Digging up Dirt (Poppy McGowan) Author: Pamela Hart Genre: Cozy Crime Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 2nd June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: Renovations are hell. And that's before you find the body beneath the floorboards. An intriguing mystery from a stylish new voice in crime fiction, for readers of Kerry Greenwood… Continue reading Digging up Dirt (Poppy McGowan) by Pamela Hart

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Traffic: A Sandi Kent Mystery by Robin Gregory

Title: Traffic: A Sandi Kent Mystery Author: Robin Gregory Genre: Crime Publisher: Clan Destine Press Published: 1st December 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 230 Price: $29.95 Synopsis: In Robin Gregory's Traffic, Melbourne Private Investigator Sandi Kent has her hopes for an easy December dashed when two complicated cases crash into her lap. First, she is hired by her volatile… Continue reading Traffic: A Sandi Kent Mystery by Robin Gregory

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Orion Published: 13th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Vanishing at the Small Castle (The Butter O’Bryan Mysteries #2) by Jackie French

Title: The Vanishing at the Small Castle (The Butter O’Bryan Mysteries #2) Author: Jackie French Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 7th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: It's 1932, the height of the Depression, and Butter O'Bryan and his friends have another mystery to solve. The Very Small Castle… Continue reading The Vanishing at the Small Castle (The Butter O’Bryan Mysteries #2) by Jackie French

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, biography, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

March 2021 Round Up

https://ashleighmeikle.com.au/2021/03/11/firewatcher-3-vigil-by-kelly-gardiner/ In March 2021, I managed to read 21 books, despite being away for the first ten days of the month for a wedding. Most were by Australian authors – 17 out of 21, and 14 were by Australian Women. I also completed my Aussie Author Challenge this month, and decided to extend to the… Continue reading March 2021 Round Up