#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Traffic: A Sandi Kent Mystery by Robin Gregory

Title: Traffic: A Sandi Kent Mystery Author: Robin Gregory Genre: Crime Publisher: Clan Destine Press Published: 1st December 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 230 Price: $29.95 Synopsis: In Robin Gregory's Traffic, Melbourne Private Investigator Sandi Kent has her hopes for an easy December dashed when two complicated cases crash into her lap. First, she is hired by her volatile… Continue reading Traffic: A Sandi Kent Mystery by Robin Gregory

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Orion Published: 13th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Vanishing at the Small Castle (The Butter O’Bryan Mysteries #2) by Jackie French

Title: The Vanishing at the Small Castle (The Butter O’Bryan Mysteries #2) Author: Jackie French Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 7th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: It's 1932, the height of the Depression, and Butter O'Bryan and his friends have another mystery to solve. The Very Small Castle… Continue reading The Vanishing at the Small Castle (The Butter O’Bryan Mysteries #2) by Jackie French

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, biography, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

March 2021 Round Up

https://ashleighmeikle.com.au/2021/03/11/firewatcher-3-vigil-by-kelly-gardiner/ In March 2021, I managed to read 21 books, despite being away for the first ten days of the month for a wedding. Most were by Australian authors – 17 out of 21, and 14 were by Australian Women. I also completed my Aussie Author Challenge this month, and decided to extend to the… Continue reading March 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The French Gift by Kirsty Manning

Title: The French Gift Author: Kirsty Manning Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 328 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A World War II story of female friendship, longing and sacrifice through war and loss, bringing together the present and the past. 'Kirsty Manning has delivered yet again with this… Continue reading The French Gift by Kirsty Manning

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Phryne Fisher, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, short stories

The Lady with the Gun Asks the Questions by Kerry Greenwood

Title: The Lady with the Gun Asks the Questions Author: Kerry Greenwood Genre: Crime, short stories Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The elegant Miss Phryne Fisher returns in this scintillating collection, which features four brand-new stories. The Honourable Phryne Fisher - she of the Lulu… Continue reading The Lady with the Gun Asks the Questions by Kerry Greenwood

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

Title: House of Hollow Author: Krystal Sutherland Genre: Young Adult, fantasy, mystery, urban fantasy/fairy tale Publisher: Penguin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: 'This dark, deliciously twisted novel has everything you could hope for as a reader – a brilliant concept, glamorous characters with secrets to hide, immersive world-building, and… Continue reading House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Space Detectives by Mark Powers and Dapo Adeola

Title: Space Detectives Author: Mark Powers and Dapo Adeola Genre: Science Fiction, Crime Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 2nd March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages:176 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Connor and Ethan are spending their summer holidays aboard the world's first orbiting city, Starville (basically Beverley Hills in space!). The amazing space station is bursting with celebrities and… Continue reading Space Detectives by Mark Powers and Dapo Adeola

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

Challenge Completed: Aussie Authors Challenge

When I started this challenge, I thought it would take me a little longer than three months, given I primarily read books by Australian women, and thought I’d be searching more for books by Australian men. However, I got lucky, and with so many releases, I managed to complete this challenge by March, well ahead… Continue reading Challenge Completed: Aussie Authors Challenge

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Crime/Mystery, Dystopia, Futuristic Fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The Ghost Squad by Sophie Masson

Title: The Ghost Squad Author: Sophie Masson Genre: Science Fiction, dystopia Publisher: MidnightSun Publishing Published: February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 448 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Imagine a world where all seems normal and yet nothing is — a world very much like our own, yet jarringly unlike. A world where two clandestine organisations, the Ghost Squad… Continue reading The Ghost Squad by Sophie Masson