#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Completed

Another challenge completed! I completed this one a few weeks ago, and my original post about it is here. This was the build your own challenge from lists of prompts from previous iterations of this challenge and I have to say, it was a really good one as there was a lot less pressure to… Continue reading Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Completed

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Kid President Totally Rules by Jack Heath

Title: Kid President Totally Rules Author: Jack Heath Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Jaxxon has accidentally been elected to rule as the first ever KID PRESIDENT. He has big ideas: free ice-cream in every school, homework to be made illegal, and all national parks… Continue reading Kid President Totally Rules by Jack Heath

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Ella at Eden, Enola Holmes, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

August Round-Up 2021

August saw most of Australia back in lockdown due to the Delta variant of COVID, so it was a great month to get on top of my reading as much as I could. Between books for work and review, I read 29 books, and reviewed most of them. Again, most were by Australian authors, with… Continue reading August Round-Up 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

School of Fish: Frozen Fish by Louis Shea

Title: School of Fish: Frozen Fish Author: Louis Shea Genre: Graphic Novel Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 128 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: Brand new graphic novel by Louis Shea. Bright, funny, full colour illustration. Graphic novel format for ages 6+. Hilarious illustrations by the illustrator of There Was an Old Lady… Continue reading School of Fish: Frozen Fish by Louis Shea

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The School for Talking Pets by Kelli Anne Hawkins

Title: The School for Talking Pets Author: Kelli Anne Hawkins Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: DOCTOR DOLITTLE MEETS WILLY WONKA IN THIS FUNNY AND THRILLING ADVENTURE FROM AN EXCITING NEW VOICE. Pets? Tick!TALKING pets? Double tick!Silly spies, secret plots and one shy kid… Continue reading The School for Talking Pets by Kelli Anne Hawkins

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Lola Out Loud: The Recipe for Disaster by Shannan and Tayla Stedman

Title: Lola Out Loud: The Recipe for Disaster Author: Shannan and Tayla Stedman Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: The second book in the brand new, exciting series. Funny, fresh fiction with characters that leap off the page. Perfect for reluctant readers. “Highly recommended”, ReadPlus… Continue reading Lola Out Loud: The Recipe for Disaster by Shannan and Tayla Stedman

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Curse of the Vampire Robot by Graeme Base

Title: The Curse of the Vampire Robot Author: Graeme Base Genre: Fantasy, Poetry Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: Classic vampire mythology meets nerdy computer-speak in a rhyming tale of adventure, bravery and compassion from master storyteller Graeme Base. Deep in the Scottish Highlands, Many years from… Continue reading The Curse of the Vampire Robot by Graeme Base

#LoveOZMG, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The What on Earth Institute of Wonder by Lisa Nicol

Title: The What on Earth Institute of Wonder Author: Lisa Nicol Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Puffin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A mind-boggling expedition into the secrets of the Animal Kingdom with only an invisible map of the human heart as a guide. (Unless, of course, you count the… Continue reading The What on Earth Institute of Wonder by Lisa Nicol

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Song of Lewis Carmichael by Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride

Title: The Song of Lewis Carmichael Author: Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 192 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A beautiful, illustrated adventure story with a classic feel, about a quiet boy and a talking crow on an extraordinary hot-air balloon ride to… Continue reading The Song of Lewis Carmichael by Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride