Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, short stories

The Fire Wombat by Jackie French, illustrated by Danny Snell

Title: The Fire Wombat Author: Jackie French, illustrated by Danny Snell Genre: Survival stories, adventure Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 29th October 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: As the bushfire swallowed up the world they knew, a wombat shared her burrow with other animals. As the flames of the bushfire approach, one small… Continue reading The Fire Wombat by Jackie French, illustrated by Danny Snell

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

We Are Wolves by Katrina Nannestad

Title: We Are Wolves Author: Katrina Nannestad Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Australia/ABC Books Published: 29th October 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 320 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: THE POWERFUL NEW NOVEL FROM AWARD-WINNING AUSTRALIAN WRITER KATRINA NANNESTAD Sometimes it's good to be wild. Sometimes you have to be wild. When the Russian Army marches into East Prussia… Continue reading We Are Wolves by Katrina Nannestad

Australian literature, biography, Books, Christmas, humour, memoir, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Christmas Tales by William McInnes

Title: Christmas Tales Author: William McInnes Genre: Memoir, Non-Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 27th October 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 280 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: 'Tis the season to be jolly! One of Australia's favourite storytellers is back with a collection of stories about everyone's favourite family holiday. I can't help it if I'm a boring conservative… Continue reading Christmas Tales by William McInnes

animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Ultimate Animal Alphabet Book by Jennifer Cossins

Title: The Ultimate Animal Alphabet Book Author: Jennifer Cossins Genre: Education Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Published: 27th October 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: From the Adelie penguin to the zigzag heron, this A-Z book is jam-packed with over 400 animal species and all kinds of interesting animal facts. A companion book to Jennifer Cossins' Ultimate… Continue reading The Ultimate Animal Alphabet Book by Jennifer Cossins

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The Boy, the Wolf and the Stars by Shivaun Plozza

Title: The Boy, the Wolf and the Stars Author: Shivaun Plozza Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 20th October 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The Boy, the Wolf and the Stars is a sweeping, timeless adventure, an introduction to a brilliant new world with the feel of an instant classic. Every night Ulv is… Continue reading The Boy, the Wolf and the Stars by Shivaun Plozza

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Transit of Angels by Desney King

Title: Transit of Angels Author: Desney King Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Pilyara Press Published: 19th October 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 285 Price: $27.99 Synopsis: Is there life after death?  Angelica is thirty-four when her beloved husband, Bill, is killed in a motorbike accident. She knows Bill is dead. Yet she yearns to be reunited with… Continue reading Transit of Angels by Desney King

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

2020 CBCA Awards

Congrats to the winners! Such an achievement and great news for the local book industry.  Some great ideas for Christmas for the young readers in your lives! Announcement: The CBCA Awards for 2020 were announced today, and are as follows: CBCA Book of the Year 2020 winners announced 16 October 2020 The winners of the… Continue reading 2020 CBCA Awards

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, check in post, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Natasha Lester, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Book Bingo Ten 2020 – Set During A Time of War

And just like that, it is October, and Theresa, Amanda and I each have two posts left after this one. Sometimes, we choose the same square, and sometimes we choose the same book or books by the same author, even in our regular reviewing. We seem to have very similar tastes, which makes discussing the… Continue reading Book Bingo Ten 2020 – Set During A Time of War

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain by Jo Simmons

Title: I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain Author: Jo Simmons Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons, this is a new hilarious adventure from the creative team behind the bestselling I Swapped My Brother On The Internet.Keith has entered… Continue reading I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain by Jo Simmons

A Murder Most Unladylike, adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Death Sets Sail (Murder Most Unladylike #9) by Robin Stevens

Title: Death Sets Sail Author: Robin Stevens Genre: Historical Fiction, Crime Publisher: Puffin Published: 1st September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The final novel in the number-one bestselling, award-winning Murder Most Unladylike series. Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong are in Egypt, where they are taking a cruise along the Nile. They are hoping to… Continue reading Death Sets Sail (Murder Most Unladylike #9) by Robin Stevens