#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, middle grade, non-fiction, Pamela Hart, Picture Books, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

May 2021 Round Up

Current stats: Modern Mrs Darcy – 13/14 Australian Authors Challenge – 24/24 (47) AWW2021 – 75/50 Dymocks Reading Challenge – 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge – 24/26 Overall goal – 122/170 In May, I managed to read 36 books, with a vast majority by Australian authors, and have almost finished my reading challenges – with a… Continue reading May 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Warsaw Orphan by Kelly Rimmer

Title: The Warsaw Orphan Author: Kelly Rimmer Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 28th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Inspired by the real-life heroine who smuggled thousands of Jewish children to safety during WWII, the powerful new novel by the New York Times bestselling author In the spring of 1942, young Elzbieta Rabinek is… Continue reading The Warsaw Orphan by Kelly Rimmer

Book Industry, Books, challenges, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Dark Lady by Akala

Title: The Dark Lady Author: Akala Genre: Magical Realism, Historical Fiction Publisher: Hodder/Hachette Australia Published: 27th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A natural storyteller with a vision of his own, The Dark Lady, Akala's debut novel for teens will enthuse and entertain teenagers and young adults, showing that reading is a true… Continue reading The Dark Lady by Akala

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Orion Published: 13th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, history, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Husband Poisoner: Suburban Women Who Killed in Post-World War II Sydney by Tanya Bretherton

Title: The Husband Poisoner: Suburban Women Who Killed in Post-World War II Sydney Author: Tanya Bretherton Genre: History, True Crime Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 23rd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 310 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Shocking real-life stories of murderous women who used rat poison to rid themselves of husbands and other inconvenient family members. For… Continue reading The Husband Poisoner: Suburban Women Who Killed in Post-World War II Sydney by Tanya Bretherton

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Last Reunion by Kayte Nunn

Title: The Last Reunion Author: Kayte Nunn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 31st March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 370 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Five women come together at a New Year's Eve party after decades apart, in this thrilling story of desire, revenge and courage, based on a brave group of Australian and British… Continue reading The Last Reunion by Kayte Nunn

animals, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Zookeeper of Belfast by S. Kirk Walsh

Title: The Zookeeper of Belfast Author: S. Kirk Walsh Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette/Hodder and Stoughton Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A stunning World War Two novel for fans of Natasha Lester, Heather Morris, Kate Furnivall, Mandy Robotham, based on a true story. As the bombs rain down on… Continue reading The Zookeeper of Belfast by S. Kirk Walsh

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, Young Adult

February 2021 Round-up

February’s reading leaped considerably to thirty books read that month for blogging and blog tours, and a couple that I read for myself. I’m yet to start back working as a quiz writer, but I also review for Scholastic, so several of these books were for that. Most were by Australian authors, and about 27… Continue reading February 2021 Round-up

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Shiver by Allie Reynolds

Title: Shiver Author: Allie Reynolds Genre: Thriller Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 27th January 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 425 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: In this propulsive locked-room thriller, a reunion weekend in the French Alps turns deadly when five friends discover someone has deliberately stranded them in a deserted mountaintop resort When Milla is invited to a reunion in… Continue reading Shiver by Allie Reynolds

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Lost Soul Atlas by Zana Fraillon

Title: The Lost Soul Atlas Author: Zana Fraillon Genre: Fiction Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Published: 14th July 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A powerful story of hope and friendship, from the author of The Bone Sparrow. Loyalty is tested, and a cruel twist of fate leads to an act of ultimate betrayal in this epic… Continue reading The Lost Soul Atlas by Zana Fraillon