#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, Young Adult

February 2021 Round-up

February’s reading leaped considerably to thirty books read that month for blogging and blog tours, and a couple that I read for myself. I’m yet to start back working as a quiz writer, but I also review for Scholastic, so several of these books were for that. Most were by Australian authors, and about 27… Continue reading February 2021 Round-up

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Shiver by Allie Reynolds

Title: Shiver Author: Allie Reynolds Genre: Thriller Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 27th January 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 425 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: In this propulsive locked-room thriller, a reunion weekend in the French Alps turns deadly when five friends discover someone has deliberately stranded them in a deserted mountaintop resort When Milla is invited to a reunion in… Continue reading Shiver by Allie Reynolds

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Lost Soul Atlas by Zana Fraillon

Title: The Lost Soul Atlas Author: Zana Fraillon Genre: Fiction Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Published: 14th July 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A powerful story of hope and friendship, from the author of The Bone Sparrow. Loyalty is tested, and a cruel twist of fate leads to an act of ultimate betrayal in this epic… Continue reading The Lost Soul Atlas by Zana Fraillon

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, A Murder Most Unladylike, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, Kensy and Max, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, spies, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

October Wrap Up 2020

As we head into the pointy end of the year, I’ve had to make the decision to change the way I tackle challenges, doubling up where I can, and even thinking about reducing the challenges I take on next year, due to the overly prescriptive nature of the reading challenges that are available, and at… Continue reading October Wrap Up 2020

Australian literature, biography, Books, Christmas, humour, memoir, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Christmas Tales by William McInnes

Title: Christmas Tales Author: William McInnes Genre: Memoir, Non-Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 27th October 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 280 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: 'Tis the season to be jolly! One of Australia's favourite storytellers is back with a collection of stories about everyone's favourite family holiday. I can't help it if I'm a boring conservative… Continue reading Christmas Tales by William McInnes

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

When Rain Turns to Snow by Jane Godwin

Title: When Rain Turns to Snow Author: Jane Godwin Genre: Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 30th June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 280 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A beautiful and timely coming-of-age story about finding out who you are in the face of crisis and change. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo, Fiona Wood and Emily Rodda.… Continue reading When Rain Turns to Snow by Jane Godwin

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Interviews, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Year the Maps Changed by Danielle Binks

Title: The Year the Maps Changed Author: Danielle Binks Genre: Fiction Publisher: Hachette/Lothian Children’s Books Published: 28th April 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: One extraordinary year will change them all... Sorrento, Victoria, 1999. Fred's family is a mess. Her mother died when she was six and she's been raised by her Pop and… Continue reading The Year the Maps Changed by Danielle Binks

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Natasha Lester, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, The Nerd Daily

The Paris Secret by Natasha Lester

Title: The Paris Secret Author: Natasha Lester Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette Published: 31st March 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 460 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A wardrobe of Dior gowns, a secret kept for sixty-five years, and the three women bound forever by war... from the New York Times bestselling author of THE FRENCH PHOTOGRAPHER. England, 1939 Talented pilot Skye Penrose… Continue reading The Paris Secret by Natasha Lester

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Children's Literature, Events, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Isolation Publicity: Interview with Danielle Binks – literary agent, blogger and author.

Due to recent events, many Australian authors have had to cancel book launches and festival appearances. For some, this means new novels, series continuations and debut novels are heading into this scary, strange world without much publicity or attention. The good news is, you can still buy books - online or get your local bookstore… Continue reading Isolation Publicity: Interview with Danielle Binks – literary agent, blogger and author.

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The River Home by Hannah Richell

Title: The River Home Author: Hannah Richell Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 25th February 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 360 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: The river can take you home. But the river can also drag you under... The new novel from bestselling author Hannah Richell. A wise and emotionally powerful story of a broken family… Continue reading The River Home by Hannah Richell