#loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Garth Nix, historical fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Left-Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

Title: The Left-Handed Booksellers of London Author: Garth Nix Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 29th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: From the bestselling author of Angel Mage, this new fantasy adventure set in 1980s London follows one girl's quest to find her father, leading her to a secret society of… Continue reading The Left-Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

Title: The Monstrous Devices Author: Damien Love Genre: Science Fiction, Adventure Publisher: Bloomsbury/Rock the Boat Published: 19th May 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A cinematic and original page-turner for fans of Indiana Jones and Alex Rider On a winter's day, twelve-year old Alex receives a package in the mail: an old tin… Continue reading The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

Books and Bites Book Bingo – A book with bad reviews: Trials of Apollo: The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan

In my tenth post for Books and Bites Book Bingo, I chose to mark off the square for a book with bad reviews. This was always going to be a subjective square – as all books are going to have good and bad reviews, so any book could really fit in here. Usually, the more… Continue reading Books and Bites Book Bingo – A book with bad reviews: Trials of Apollo: The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan

#loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history

Book Bingo Three 2020 – A time in history you’d like to travel back to

March, and my third book bingo square for my book bingo with Theresa and Amanda. For this square, I have nominated the time in history you’d like to travel back to. Sticking clear of revolutions and war, I chose a book that is set during the Minoan era, as I think it would be interesting… Continue reading Book Bingo Three 2020 – A time in history you’d like to travel back to

#loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, Dystopia, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, House of Heroes, humour, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, The Nerd Daily, translated works, Writing, Young Adult

February 2020 Round Up

In February this year I read seventeen books – several for pleasure, some for quiz writing purposes and the rest for review purposes – most coming out in March or in the next few months. My current total stats for my reading challenges are: The Modern Mrs Darcy 9/12 AWW2020 -15/25 Book Bingo - 9/12… Continue reading February 2020 Round Up

Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, humour, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

The Dark Prophecy (Trials of Apollo #2) by Rick Riordan

Title: Trials of Apollo: The Dark Prophecy Author: Rick Riordan Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Penguin Random House Published: 30th April 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 528 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: The second title in Rick Riordan's Trials of Apollo series - set in the action-packed world of Percy Jackson. The god Apollo, cast down to earth and trapped… Continue reading The Dark Prophecy (Trials of Apollo #2) by Rick Riordan

biography, Book Industry, Books, challenges, history, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Venus and Aphrodite: History of a Goddess by Bettany Hughes

Title: Venus and Aphrodite: History of a Goddess Author: Bettany Hughes Genre: Biography, History, Non-Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 12th November 2019 Format: Hardcover Pages: 242 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: A vivid history of the ancient goddess Venus by the bestselling historian and broadcaster Bettany Hughes Through ancient art, evocative myth, exciting archaeological revelations and philosophical… Continue reading Venus and Aphrodite: History of a Goddess by Bettany Hughes

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

Title: Norse Mythology Author: Neil Gaiman Genre: Mythology Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 19th November 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The great Norse myths, which have inspired so much of modern fiction, are dazzlingly retold by Neil Gaiman. Tales of dwarfs and frost giants, of treasure and magic, and of Asgard, home to… Continue reading Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

animals, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Harry Potter, history

Harry Potter: A History of Magic by JK Rowling, British Library

Title: Harry Potter: A History of Magic Author: JK Rowling, British Library Genre: Exhibition Catalogue/Non-Fiction/Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 18th February 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $34.99 Synopsis:Harry Potter: A History of Magic is the official book of the record-breaking British Library exhibition, a once-in-a-lifetime collaboration between Bloomsbury, J.K. Rowling and a team of brilliant curators.… Continue reading Harry Potter: A History of Magic by JK Rowling, British Library

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, Fairytales, history, literary fiction, Reading, Reviews

Pre-Release Review: Beneath the Mother Tree by D.M. Cameron

Title: Beneath the Mother Tree Author: D.M. Cameron Genre: Literary Fiction, Mystery Publisher: MidnightSun Publishing Published: 1st August 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A spine-chilling mystery and contemporary love story, Beneath the Mother Tree plays out in a unique and wild Australian setting, interweaving Indigenous history and Irish mythology. On a small island, something… Continue reading Pre-Release Review: Beneath the Mother Tree by D.M. Cameron