#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, Ella at Eden, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, Kensy and Max, literary fiction, middle grade, Miss Mary-Kate, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, spies, Young Adult

May 2022 Reading Round-Up

In May, I managed to read 26 books. All were review books, and most were Australian, and twenty-three were  by women. I have almost completed all my chosen challenges – with one category in the Dymocks Reading Challenge and one in the QBD Reading Challenge left. Some reviews are scheduled for June and July as… Continue reading May 2022 Reading Round-Up

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Secret Animal Society by Luke Gamble

Title: The Secret Animal Society Author: Luke Gamble Genre: Fantasy, Magical Realism Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st April 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: A thrilling magical adventure, perfect for animal lovers! The debut novel from real-life vet Luke Gamble, as seen on Sky TV.‘ An irresistible, magical adventure’ Vashti Hardy, author of Wildspark When… Continue reading The Secret Animal Society by Luke Gamble

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Young Adult

Bravely by Maggie Stiefvater

Title: Bravely Author: Maggie Stiefvater Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st April 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Merida goes on an all-new, life-changing adventure in this original YA novel set several years after the close of Brave! What if you had one year to save everything you loved? One Princess.… Continue reading Bravely by Maggie Stiefvater

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Bird Singers by Eve Wersocki Morris

Title: The Bird Singers Author: Eve Wersocki Morris Genre: Magical realism Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 8th February 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A thrilling debut from author Eve Wersocki Morris to send shivers down your spine, for fans of Michelle Harrison and Abi Elphinstone. 'The whistling had started on their first night.… Continue reading The Bird Singers by Eve Wersocki Morris

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Chime Seekers by Ross Montgomery

Title: The Chime Seekers Author: Ross Montgomery Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Walker Books Published: 3rd November 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: From the Costa-shortlisted and critically acclaimed author of the bestselling The Midnight Guardians comes a middle-grade fantasy adventure about siblings, courage and the magic that hides in the cracks. Step into a world… Continue reading The Chime Seekers by Ross Montgomery

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Medusa: The Girl Behind the Myth by Jessie Burton

Title: Medusa: The Girl Behind the Myth Author: Jessie Burton Genre: Mythology Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 1st November 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 224 Price: $22.99 Synopsis: A dazzling, feminist retelling of Greek myth from the internationally bestselling author of The Miniaturist, stunningly illustrated by Olivia Lomenech Gill.Exiled to a far-flung island by the whims of the… Continue reading Medusa: The Girl Behind the Myth by Jessie Burton

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

Title: House of Hollow Author: Krystal Sutherland Genre: Young Adult, fantasy, mystery, urban fantasy/fairy tale Publisher: Penguin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: 'This dark, deliciously twisted novel has everything you could hope for as a reader – a brilliant concept, glamorous characters with secrets to hide, immersive world-building, and… Continue reading House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

The Good Hawk by Joseph Elliott

Title: The Good Hawk Author: Joseph Elliott Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 1st February 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 368 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A rich fantasy adventure trilogy, full of warring clans, deadly shadows and devastating plagues... If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back? Agatha patrols the sea… Continue reading The Good Hawk by Joseph Elliott

#loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Garth Nix, historical fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Left-Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

Title: The Left-Handed Booksellers of London Author: Garth Nix Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 29th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: From the bestselling author of Angel Mage, this new fantasy adventure set in 1980s London follows one girl's quest to find her father, leading her to a secret society of… Continue reading The Left-Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

Title: The Monstrous Devices Author: Damien Love Genre: Science Fiction, Adventure Publisher: Bloomsbury/Rock the Boat Published: 19th May 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A cinematic and original page-turner for fans of Indiana Jones and Alex Rider On a winter's day, twelve-year old Alex receives a package in the mail: an old tin… Continue reading The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love