animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Jumbo: The Most Famous Elephant Who Ever Lived by Alexandra Stewart and Emily Sutton

Title: Jumbo: The Most Famous Elephant Who Ever Lived Author: Alexandra Stewart, Emily Sutton (Illustrator) Genre: History, Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 3rd November 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 48 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: Roll up! Roll up! And meet the incredible, the colossal, the world-famous … JUMBO!Our story begins in 1860, in the mountains of East Africa,… Continue reading Jumbo: The Most Famous Elephant Who Ever Lived by Alexandra Stewart and Emily Sutton

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

The Werewolves Who Weren’t by T.C. Shelley

Title: The Werewolves Who Weren’t Author: T.C. Shelley Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 29th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: The magical follow-up to The Monster Who Wasn't. The second book in this brilliantly rich and strange fantasy series will make us all believe in monsters – be they good, bad or somewhere in between.Sam… Continue reading The Werewolves Who Weren’t by T.C. Shelley

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain by Jo Simmons

Title: I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain Author: Jo Simmons Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons, this is a new hilarious adventure from the creative team behind the bestselling I Swapped My Brother On The Internet.Keith has entered… Continue reading I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain by Jo Simmons

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Verse novels

Pirate Stew by Neil Gaiman, and illustrated by Chris Riddell

Title: Pirate Stew Author: Neil Gaiman, and illustrated by Chris Riddell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st October 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 48 Price: $22.99 Synopsis: Meet LONG JOHN McRON, SHIP'S COOK . . . and the most unusual babysitter you've ever seen.Long John has a whole crew of wild pirates in tow, and –… Continue reading Pirate Stew by Neil Gaiman, and illustrated by Chris Riddell

animals, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

October, October by Katya Balen

Title: October, October Author: Katya Balen Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published:  29th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Katya Balen's October, October is a very special new addition to the shelf and deserves classic status - Times Children's Book of the WeekA classic in the making for anyone who ever longed to be WILD.October and her… Continue reading October, October by Katya Balen

Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Wild Way Home by Sophie Kirtley

Title: The Wild Way Home Author: Sophie Kirtley Genre: Historical Fiction, Time Slip Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 15th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: When Charlie's longed-for brother is born with a serious heart condition, Charlie's world is turned upside down. Upset and afraid, Charlie flees the hospital and makes for the… Continue reading The Wild Way Home by Sophie Kirtley

Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Piranesi by Susanna Clarke

Title: Piranesi Author: Susanna Clarke Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 15th September 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 272 Price: $27.99 Synopsis: The long-awaited return from the author of the multi-million copy bestselling Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell Piranesi lives in the House. Perhaps he always has? Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell transported over four million readers… Continue reading Piranesi by Susanna Clarke

Book Industry, Books, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Events, history, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Alice: Curiouser and Curiouser by Kate Bailey

Title: Alice: Curiouser and Curiouser Author: Kate Bailey Genre: Non-Fiction/Exhibition Guide Publisher: V&A Publications Published: 2nd July 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 224 Price: $79.99 Synopsis: Lewis Carroll's Alice in Wonderland is a cultural phenomenon. First published in 1865, it has never been out of print and has been translated into 170 languages. But why does… Continue reading Alice: Curiouser and Curiouser by Kate Bailey

Books, history, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Death by Shakespeare: Snakebites, Stabbings and Broken Hearts by Kathryn Harkup

Title: Death by Shakespeare: Snakebites, Stabbings and Broken Hearts Author: Kathryn Harkup Genre: Non-Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Sigma Published: 2nd July 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 368 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: William Shakespeare found dozens of different ways to kill off his characters, and audiences today still enjoy the same reactions – shock, sadness, fear – that they… Continue reading Death by Shakespeare: Snakebites, Stabbings and Broken Hearts by Kathryn Harkup

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Kid Normal and the Final Five by Greg James and Chris Smith

Title: Kid Normal and the Final Five Author: Greg James and Chris Smith Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 2nd June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 432 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: The epic conclusion to the awesome, award-winning, bestselling, super-charged KID NORMAL series by Greg James and Chris Smith. Praise for Kid Normal: 'So funny, it's almost criminal'… Continue reading Kid Normal and the Final Five by Greg James and Chris Smith