#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Ella Diaries, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, Kate Morton, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, spies, The Girls Who Change the World, Wherewithal Way, Young Adult

2022 Aussie Authors Reading Challenge Completed – Emu

I completed this challenge in about February but have only just managed to sit down and write this post amidst all my other reviewing. As usual, I started on the Kangaroo level, and progressed to Emu, and well beyond that. My reasoning for doing this is because even though I always know I’ll have as… Continue reading 2022 Aussie Authors Reading Challenge Completed – Emu

#AussieAuthors2022, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Fantasy, literary fiction, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Her Fierce Creatures by Maria Lewis

Title: Her Fierce Creatures Author: Maria Lewis Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 8th March 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: The new gripping female-led fantasy from author Maria Lewis with her trademark brand of feisty female heroines, world-building and a bit of romance, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J Maas… Continue reading Her Fierce Creatures by Maria Lewis

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Fairytales, Fantasy, Festivals, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, spies, The Girls Who Change the World, Tim Harris, Young Adult

My Reading Journey February 2022

In February I read thirty books and have almost completed my reading challenges. I’ve hit my target for the Aussie Author Reading Challenge. There are only a few books I haven’t reviewed – mostly books I have had to read for my work as a quiz writer haven’t been reviewed. I’ve read a variety of… Continue reading My Reading Journey February 2022

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Howling Hag Mystery by Nicki Thornton

Title: The Howling Hag Mystery Author: Nicki Thornton Genre: Mystery Publisher: Chicken House Published: 1st March 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 362 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: When there’s a murder in Twinhills and a hag is heard howling at the local inn, Raven Charming realizes she may not be the only secret witch in the village. With… Continue reading The Howling Hag Mystery by Nicki Thornton

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, short stories

A Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz

Title: A Tale Dark and Grimm Author: Adam Gidwitz Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books/Andersen Press Published: 2nd February 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 208 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: A gruesome but funny retelling of Grimm's terrifying tales. Soon to be a Netflix animated series! Reader: beware. Warlocks with dark spells, hunters with deadly aim, and bakers with… Continue reading A Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz

#AussieAuthors2022, #loveozya, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Young Adult

Hexenhaus by Nikki McWatters

Title: Hexenhaus Author: Nikki McWatters Genre: Historical Fictiob Publisher: UQP Published: 31st October 2016 Format: Paperback Pages: 344 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A powerful novel about three young women caught in the hysteria of their own times. In 1628, Veronica and her brother flee for their lives into the German woods after their father is burned… Continue reading Hexenhaus by Nikki McWatters

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, The Modern Mrs Darcy

The Forest of Moon and Sword by Amy Raphael

Title: The Forest of Moon and Sword Author: Amy Raphael Genre: Historical fiction, Adventure Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Australia Published: 12th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 300 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: When Art's mother is accused of witchcraft and captured, she is determined to get her back - at any cost. A lyrical adventure with folklore at its… Continue reading The Forest of Moon and Sword by Amy Raphael

adventure, Book Industry, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Roald Dahl

The Witches (Film Tie In) by Roald Dahl

Title: The Witches (Film Tie In) Author: Roald Dahl Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 17th November 2020 (this edition) Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: The phizzwhizzing inspiration behind a new major motion picture coming 2020, starring Anne Hathaway, Octavia Spencer, Stanley Tucci and Chris Rock. BEWARE. Real witches dress in ordinary clothes and… Continue reading The Witches (Film Tie In) by Roald Dahl

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

Jinxed! The Curious Curse of Cora Bell by Rebecca McRitchie, Illustrated by Sharon O’Connor

Title: Jinxed! The Curious Curse of Cora Bell Author: Rebecca McRitchie Genre: Fantasy Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 19th August 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Magic awaits around every corner … Cora is eleven years old and missing one eye. She lives with an elderly lady named Dot in a room hidden behind… Continue reading Jinxed! The Curious Curse of Cora Bell by Rebecca McRitchie, Illustrated by Sharon O’Connor

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Roxy and Jones: The Great Fairy Tale Cover Up by Angela Woolfe

Title: Roxy and Jones: The Great Fairy Tale Cover Up Author: Angela Woolfe Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Published: 1st July 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A hilarious modern fairy-tale mash-up set in a world in which witches are real, magic is real and fairy tales are not only real ... but… Continue reading Roxy and Jones: The Great Fairy Tale Cover Up by Angela Woolfe