Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Shadow Arts by Damien Love

Title: The Shadow Arts Author: Damien Love Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Bloomsbury/Rock the Boat Published: 2nd July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 160 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: "The thrilling sequel to Monstrous Devices–Alex and his grandfather hold the fate of history itself in their hands in a Rick Riordan meets Raiders of the Lost Ark adventure of… Continue reading The Shadow Arts by Damien Love

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, middle grade, non-fiction, Pamela Hart, Picture Books, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

May 2021 Round Up

Current stats: Modern Mrs Darcy – 13/14 Australian Authors Challenge – 24/24 (47) AWW2021 – 75/50 Dymocks Reading Challenge – 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge – 24/26 Overall goal – 122/170 In May, I managed to read 36 books, with a vast majority by Australian authors, and have almost finished my reading challenges – with a… Continue reading May 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Dystopia, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi

Stealing Time by Rebecca Bowyer

Title: Stealing Time Author: Rebecca Bowyer Genre: Dystopia, Science Fiction Publisher: StoryAddict Press Published: 23rd March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: $32.99 Price: 290 Synopsis: They’ll kill to get more time. She’ll die to stop them. In a world where each person’s life span is limited by law, time is a lucrative commodity that some people… Continue reading Stealing Time by Rebecca Bowyer

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, Young Adult

February 2021 Round-up

February’s reading leaped considerably to thirty books read that month for blogging and blog tours, and a couple that I read for myself. I’m yet to start back working as a quiz writer, but I also review for Scholastic, so several of these books were for that. Most were by Australian authors, and about 27… Continue reading February 2021 Round-up

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Christmas, classics, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Roald Dahl, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories

December 2020 Wrap Up post

December 2020 saw me reading my final 22 books for the year, bringing me to 239 for the year.  Of these books, three were rereads, and another was one that I chose not to review, and therefore not reviewed, and two were reviews that are for books coming out in January 2021 and will therefore… Continue reading December 2020 Wrap Up post

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, Ella at Eden, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Jacqueline Harvey, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Meg Keneally, memoir, middle grade, Monsarrat Series, mythology, Natasha Lester, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Rowland Sinclair, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, Sulari Gentill, The Nerd Daily, Young Adult

The Nerd Daily 2020 Challenge – completed, sort of

One of the challenges I took part in this year was The Nerd Daily Challenge with 52 prompts – one for each week of the year. As with some of my other challenges, I did use the same book a couple of times, especially towards the end of the year when I knew I wasn’t… Continue reading The Nerd Daily 2020 Challenge – completed, sort of

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, A.L. Tait, adventure, Alice-Miranda, Around the World Supper Club, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Covers, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, House of Heroes, humour, Interviews, Isolation Publicity, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, Kensy and Max, literary fiction, Maven and Reeve, memoir, middle grade, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, spies, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily, Toffle Towers

  Isolation Publicity Wrap Up

This year, the world was turned upside down as a pandemic hurtled across borders. Very quickly, Australia shut down, and many events and festivals were cancelled, hitting the arts industry hard. All sectors of the arts were hit, with some finding new and innovative ways to keep going, and others finding ways to reschedule things.… Continue reading   Isolation Publicity Wrap Up

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

House of Dragons by Jessica Cluess

Title: House of Dragons Author: Jessica Cluess Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Penguin Random House Published: 16th June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 448 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Five royal houses will hear the call to compete in the Trial for the dragon throne. A liar, a soldier, a servant, a thief, and a murderer will answer it. Who… Continue reading House of Dragons by Jessica Cluess

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

Title: The Monstrous Devices Author: Damien Love Genre: Science Fiction, Adventure Publisher: Bloomsbury/Rock the Boat Published: 19th May 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A cinematic and original page-turner for fans of Indiana Jones and Alex Rider On a winter's day, twelve-year old Alex receives a package in the mail: an old tin… Continue reading The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Lucy Worsley, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily, Young Adult

April 2020 Round Up

In April, we found ourselves amidst a pandemic – and I found myself with an influx of review books, some quite long, and some not so long. As I usually do, I aim to read ahead in my review stack, to get things cleared, and posted or scheduled to save time. I’m still a bit… Continue reading April 2020 Round Up