#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Christmas, classics, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Roald Dahl, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories

December 2020 Wrap Up post

December 2020 saw me reading my final 22 books for the year, bringing me to 239 for the year.  Of these books, three were rereads, and another was one that I chose not to review, and therefore not reviewed, and two were reviews that are for books coming out in January 2021 and will therefore… Continue reading December 2020 Wrap Up post

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, Ella at Eden, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Jacqueline Harvey, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Meg Keneally, memoir, middle grade, Monsarrat Series, mythology, Natasha Lester, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Rowland Sinclair, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, Sulari Gentill, The Nerd Daily, Young Adult

The Nerd Daily 2020 Challenge – completed, sort of

One of the challenges I took part in this year was The Nerd Daily Challenge with 52 prompts – one for each week of the year. As with some of my other challenges, I did use the same book a couple of times, especially towards the end of the year when I knew I wasn’t… Continue reading The Nerd Daily 2020 Challenge – completed, sort of

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, A.L. Tait, adventure, Alice-Miranda, Around the World Supper Club, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Covers, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, House of Heroes, humour, Interviews, Isolation Publicity, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, Kensy and Max, literary fiction, Maven and Reeve, memoir, middle grade, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, spies, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily, Toffle Towers

  Isolation Publicity Wrap Up

This year, the world was turned upside down as a pandemic hurtled across borders. Very quickly, Australia shut down, and many events and festivals were cancelled, hitting the arts industry hard. All sectors of the arts were hit, with some finding new and innovative ways to keep going, and others finding ways to reschedule things.… Continue reading   Isolation Publicity Wrap Up

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

House of Dragons by Jessica Cluess

Title: House of Dragons Author: Jessica Cluess Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Penguin Random House Published: 16th June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 448 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Five royal houses will hear the call to compete in the Trial for the dragon throne. A liar, a soldier, a servant, a thief, and a murderer will answer it. Who… Continue reading House of Dragons by Jessica Cluess

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

Title: The Monstrous Devices Author: Damien Love Genre: Science Fiction, Adventure Publisher: Bloomsbury/Rock the Boat Published: 19th May 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A cinematic and original page-turner for fans of Indiana Jones and Alex Rider On a winter's day, twelve-year old Alex receives a package in the mail: an old tin… Continue reading The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Lucy Worsley, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily, Young Adult

April 2020 Round Up

In April, we found ourselves amidst a pandemic – and I found myself with an influx of review books, some quite long, and some not so long. As I usually do, I aim to read ahead in my review stack, to get things cleared, and posted or scheduled to save time. I’m still a bit… Continue reading April 2020 Round Up

Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reviews, Sci-Fi

Books and Bites Bingo – Scary: The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

Choosing a scary book was hard for me – I tend not to read much horror fiction that most people would classify as scary. So I always knew I would struggle with this square and how I would interpret it. As I move through this bingo, some squares have been open to interpretation, others not… Continue reading Books and Bites Bingo – Scary: The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Children's Literature, Covers, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Sci-Fi, short stories, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

2020 ABIAs

Every year, the Australian Book Industry Awards are presented to various books published the year before. In the past week, the long list has gone up, and I have taken the following list from the Readings blog. Some of these I have read, and some I am hoping to read. I will not be able… Continue reading 2020 ABIAs

#loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Speculative fiction, The Nerd Daily, Young Adult

The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte

Title: The Vanishing Deep Author: Astrid Scholte Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 3rd March 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 416 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Astrid Scholte, bestselling author of Four Dead Queens, brings fans a thrilling new standalone YA fantasy where the dead can be revived…for a price. Two sisters. One dangerous secret. Twenty-four hours to… Continue reading The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte

#loveozya, Anita Heiss, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Clementine Rose, Crime/Mystery, Dr Pimms, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Garth Nix, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Jaclyn Moriarty, Jacqueline Harvey, Kate Forsyth, Kate Morton, Kensy and Max, Kingdoms and Empires Series, literary fiction, LJM Owen, Medoran Chronicles, memoir, middle grade, Miss Lily, Natasha Lester, Nevermoor, non-fiction, Picture Books, Pippa's Island, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Rowan of Rin, Rowland Sinclair, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, Sulari Gentill, Writing, Young Adult

Bookish Podcasts

In the last year, I’ve discovered podcasts, and the ones I mainly listen to revolve around books, history and popular culture. Because podcasts are generally short – usually no longer than an hour for the ones I listen to, I find them great to pop on whilst working or writing and just listen to them… Continue reading Bookish Podcasts