#AussieAuthor2021, #AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Ella at Eden, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

December 2021 Reading Wrap Up

In December, I read twenty-five books, some of those were books for quiz writing and others were 2022 releases that I decided to read, review and schedule the post for so I don’t fall behind. As a result, these reviews are not included but the books themselves are. I have also completed all my challenges,… Continue reading December 2021 Reading Wrap Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, A.L. Tait, adventure, Alice-Miranda, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Belinda Murrell, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Deltora Quest, Ella at Eden, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Jaclyn Moriarty, Jacqueline Harvey, Jinxed, Junior Fiction, Kensy and Max, Kingdoms and Empires Series, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, Miss Lily, Monty's Island, non-fiction, Pamela Hart, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, short stories, Speculative fiction, spies, Young Adult

Challenge Completed – Australian Women Writers Challenge 2021

2021 marks the end of the Australian Women Writer’s challenge as a general challenge focusing on women authors throughout Australian history. From next year, it shifts focus to the unknown, lesser recognised authors from the 19th and early 20th century. Interesting, but I don’t think I’ll be able to focus on that with all my… Continue reading Challenge Completed – Australian Women Writers Challenge 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, biography, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, spies

QBD Reading Challenge Wrap-up Post

As the year comes to a close, so are my reading challenges, and I’m getting very close to being able to tick all of them off. With one left to complete – The Australian Women Writer’s Challenge – I’ve managed to wrap every other challenge. My one hurdle with this challenge was a coffee table… Continue reading QBD Reading Challenge Wrap-up Post

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Jaclyn Moriarty, Junior Fiction, Kingdoms and Empires Series, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

October Wrap Up 2021

Whilst a quieter month reading and work wise, October felt busier as we opened again, and as some of the books I read were a little longer or came later than usual for publication day reviews. At least ten of the books I read were by Australian authors, and I still need to complete the… Continue reading October Wrap Up 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Dragon Skin by Karen Foxlee

Title: Dragon Skin Author: Karen Foxlee Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 28th September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 336 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: From the bestselling and multi-award-winning author of Lenny's Book of Everything comes a magical tale about a girl who saves a dragon and rescues her family. How to save a dragon:1) Assemble equipment.… Continue reading Dragon Skin by Karen Foxlee

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The School Between Winter and Fairyland by Heather Fawcett

Title: The School Between Winter and Fairyland Author: Heather Fawcett Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A spell-binding tale of magic, monsters and mystery, set in an enchanted boarding school. Full of suspense and exquisitely written, this is middle-grade fantasy at its best -… Continue reading The School Between Winter and Fairyland by Heather Fawcett

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Ella at Eden, Enola Holmes, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

August Round-Up 2021

August saw most of Australia back in lockdown due to the Delta variant of COVID, so it was a great month to get on top of my reading as much as I could. Between books for work and review, I read 29 books, and reviewed most of them. Again, most were by Australian authors, with… Continue reading August Round-Up 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, Time Catchers

When Days Tilt (Time Catchers #1) by Karen Ginnane

Title: When Days Tilt (Time Catchers #1) Author: Karen Ginnane Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fictionm Publisher: Penguin Random House Published: 2nd July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Magic, mystery, and darkness – a gripping fantasy adventure for lovers of Philip Pullman’s Northern Lights. In this page-turning debut, one girl must figure out why she is… Continue reading When Days Tilt (Time Catchers #1) by Karen Ginnane

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, A Murder Most Unladylike, A.L. Tait, adventure, Alice-Miranda, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Maven and Reeve, middle grade, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

Reading Round Up July 2021

July saw me head back to my job as a quiz writer, which I do from home. This means more reading, and like my reviewing, can see me reading books ahead of release as I work to get resources ready for the upcoming school term. This means more books will be read each month, but… Continue reading Reading Round Up July 2021