adventure, Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The School Between Winter and Fairyland by Heather Fawcett

Title: The School Between Winter and Fairyland Author: Heather Fawcett Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A spell-binding tale of magic, monsters and mystery, set in an enchanted boarding school. Full of suspense and exquisitely written, this is middle-grade fantasy at its best -… Continue reading The School Between Winter and Fairyland by Heather Fawcett

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Ella at Eden, Enola Holmes, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

August Round-Up 2021

August saw most of Australia back in lockdown due to the Delta variant of COVID, so it was a great month to get on top of my reading as much as I could. Between books for work and review, I read 29 books, and reviewed most of them. Again, most were by Australian authors, with… Continue reading August Round-Up 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, Time Catchers

When Days Tilt (Time Catchers #1) by Karen Ginnane

Title: When Days Tilt (Time Catchers #1) Author: Karen Ginnane Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fictionm Publisher: Penguin Random House Published: 2nd July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Magic, mystery, and darkness – a gripping fantasy adventure for lovers of Philip Pullman’s Northern Lights. In this page-turning debut, one girl must figure out why she is… Continue reading When Days Tilt (Time Catchers #1) by Karen Ginnane

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, A Murder Most Unladylike, A.L. Tait, adventure, Alice-Miranda, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Maven and Reeve, middle grade, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

Reading Round Up July 2021

July saw me head back to my job as a quiz writer, which I do from home. This means more reading, and like my reviewing, can see me reading books ahead of release as I work to get resources ready for the upcoming school term. This means more books will be read each month, but… Continue reading Reading Round Up July 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

June 2021 Reading Wrap Up

   In June 2021, I read 20 books, and have reviewed them all. My totals for my challenges have reached the following numbers: Modern Mrs Darcy – 13/14 Australian Authors Challenge – 24/24 (57) AWW2021 – 90/50 Dymocks Reading Challenge – 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge – 24/26 Overall goal – 147/170 Total Australian authors read:… Continue reading June 2021 Reading Wrap Up

Book Industry, Books, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The Last Daughter by Nicola Cornick

Title: The Last Daughter The Last Daughter Author: Nicola Cornick Genre: Historical Fiction/Magical Realism Publisher: HarperCollins Published: 8th July 2021 (7th July 2021 in Australia) Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A secret hidden in the past.A family bound by a dark legacy… Ever since her sister disappeared eleven years ago, Serena Warren has… Continue reading The Last Daughter by Nicola Cornick

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Shadow Arts by Damien Love

Title: The Shadow Arts Author: Damien Love Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Bloomsbury/Rock the Boat Published: 2nd July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 160 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: "The thrilling sequel to Monstrous Devices–Alex and his grandfather hold the fate of history itself in their hands in a Rick Riordan meets Raiders of the Lost Ark adventure of… Continue reading The Shadow Arts by Damien Love

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, middle grade, non-fiction, Pamela Hart, Picture Books, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

May 2021 Round Up

Current stats: Modern Mrs Darcy – 13/14 Australian Authors Challenge – 24/24 (47) AWW2021 – 75/50 Dymocks Reading Challenge – 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge – 24/26 Overall goal – 122/170 In May, I managed to read 36 books, with a vast majority by Australian authors, and have almost finished my reading challenges – with a… Continue reading May 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows by Denis Knight and Cristy Burne

Title: Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows Author: Denis Knight and Cristy Burne Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Lothian Children’s Books Published: 27th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 250 Price: $16.99 Synopsis:  A seriously smart and funny new series about a reluctant sorcerer's apprentice who would rather study science than magic, which asks the question: In… Continue reading Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows by Denis Knight and Cristy Burne