#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, Ella at Eden, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Jacqueline Harvey, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Meg Keneally, memoir, middle grade, Monsarrat Series, mythology, Natasha Lester, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Rowland Sinclair, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, Sulari Gentill, The Nerd Daily, Young Adult

The Nerd Daily 2020 Challenge – completed, sort of

One of the challenges I took part in this year was The Nerd Daily Challenge with 52 prompts – one for each week of the year. As with some of my other challenges, I did use the same book a couple of times, especially towards the end of the year when I knew I wasn’t… Continue reading The Nerd Daily 2020 Challenge – completed, sort of

adventure, Book Industry, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Roald Dahl

The Witches (Film Tie In) by Roald Dahl

Title: The Witches (Film Tie In) Author: Roald Dahl Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 17th November 2020 (this edition) Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: The phizzwhizzing inspiration behind a new major motion picture coming 2020, starring Anne Hathaway, Octavia Spencer, Stanley Tucci and Chris Rock. BEWARE. Real witches dress in ordinary clothes and… Continue reading The Witches (Film Tie In) by Roald Dahl

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, classics, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

The Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch

Title: The Paper Bag Princess Author: Robert Munsch Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st December 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: 40 years. Seven million copies sold. One princess who has inspired generations of readers. ·  An empowerment-focused edition of one of the world's best-loved picture books.·  Readers the world-over have fallen… Continue reading The Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Blog Tour: We’re All in This Together by Skye Hughes, illustrated by Alice Coates

Title: We’re All in This Together Author: Skye Hughes, illustrated by Alice Coates Genre: Fiction Publisher: Dean Publishing Published: September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 32 Price: $19.95 Synopsis: School friends – Kiana, Amin, Roshan, Casey, Ming, and Tyler all have one thing in common — they can’t go to school. The world changed very quickly… Continue reading Blog Tour: We’re All in This Together by Skye Hughes, illustrated by Alice Coates

Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

The Incredible Runaway Snot by Josh Pyke and Heath McKenzie

Title: The Incredible Runaway Snot Author: Josh Pyke and Heath McKenzie Genre: Humour Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st November 2020 Format: Hardback Pages: 24 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Ages 3+ Hilariously cheeky new picture book from award- winning singer/songwriter, Josh Pyke Eric the snot just wants peace and quiet, but there’s a sudden boom in the… Continue reading The Incredible Runaway Snot by Josh Pyke and Heath McKenzie

animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

The Grinny, Granny Donkey by Craig Smith, Katz Cowley (illustrator)

Title: The Grinny, Granny Donkey Author: Craig Smith, Katz Cowley (illustrator) Genre: Humour Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st November 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: The Grinny Granny Donkey is the third book from Craig Smith and Katz Cowley, the creative team behind the Scottish Granny internet sensation, The Wonky Donkey! At a… Continue reading The Grinny, Granny Donkey by Craig Smith, Katz Cowley (illustrator)

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain by Jo Simmons

Title: I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain Author: Jo Simmons Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons, this is a new hilarious adventure from the creative team behind the bestselling I Swapped My Brother On The Internet.Keith has entered… Continue reading I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain by Jo Simmons

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Verse novels

Pirate Stew by Neil Gaiman, and illustrated by Chris Riddell

Title: Pirate Stew Author: Neil Gaiman, and illustrated by Chris Riddell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st October 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 48 Price: $22.99 Synopsis: Meet LONG JOHN McRON, SHIP'S COOK . . . and the most unusual babysitter you've ever seen.Long John has a whole crew of wild pirates in tow, and –… Continue reading Pirate Stew by Neil Gaiman, and illustrated by Chris Riddell

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Cressida Cowell, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times by Cressida Cowell

Title: Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times Author: Cressida Cowell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books/Hachette Published: 24th September 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 460 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The No.1 bestselling series from the author of HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON, Cressida Cowell. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful Magic in an exciting… Continue reading Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times by Cressida Cowell

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, A.L. Tait, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Cora Bell, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, Isolation Publicity, Jacqueline Harvey, Jinxed, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Marshmallow Pie, Maven and Reeve, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

August 2020 Wrap Up

In August, I read twenty-one books. Thirteen were written by Australian Women Writers, and all contributed to my challenges across the board. Several were part of series, and many were review books. Some I had been looking forward to, and one from Scholastic Australia, by comedian Rove McManus was a surprise arrival, and one that… Continue reading August 2020 Wrap Up