Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Nisha’s War by Dan Smith

Title: Nisha’s War Author: Dan Smith Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Chicken House Published: 1st April 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 368 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: 1942. Nisha has escaped the terror of the Japanese invasion of Singapore. Missing the heat  of home in Malaya, her grandmother’s house in the North of England seems especially cold and grey.… Continue reading Nisha’s War by Dan Smith

#AussieAuthors2022, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Whisper on the Wind by Claire Saxby and Jess Racklyeft

Title: Whisper on the Wind Author: Claire Saxby and Jess Racklyeft Genre: Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 1st April 2022 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: A stunning picture book about separation, connection and reunion from the team behind the glorious Iceberg, renowned picture book creators Claire Saxby and Jess Racklyeft. This is the windthat… Continue reading Whisper on the Wind by Claire Saxby and Jess Racklyeft

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Bird Singers by Eve Wersocki Morris

Title: The Bird Singers Author: Eve Wersocki Morris Genre: Magical realism Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 8th February 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A thrilling debut from author Eve Wersocki Morris to send shivers down your spine, for fans of Michelle Harrison and Abi Elphinstone. 'The whistling had started on their first night.… Continue reading The Bird Singers by Eve Wersocki Morris

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

These Unlucky Stars by Gillian McDunn

Title: These Unlucky Stars Author: Gillian McDunn Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 28th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Ever since her mother left a few years ago, Annie has felt like the odd one out in her family. Her dad and brother are practical and organised - they just don't understand… Continue reading These Unlucky Stars by Gillian McDunn

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Summer We Turned Green by William Sutcliffe

Title: The Summer We Turned Green Author: William Sutcliffe Genre: Contemporary, Climate Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 28th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: It's the summer holidays, and thirteen-year-old Luke has just had his life turned upside down. First his older sister Rose moved 'across the road' – where a community of… Continue reading The Summer We Turned Green by William Sutcliffe

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Dragon Skin by Karen Foxlee

Title: Dragon Skin Author: Karen Foxlee Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 28th September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 336 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: From the bestselling and multi-award-winning author of Lenny's Book of Everything comes a magical tale about a girl who saves a dragon and rescues her family. How to save a dragon:1) Assemble equipment.… Continue reading Dragon Skin by Karen Foxlee

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

What Zola did on Sunday by Melina Marchetta and illustrated by Deb Hudson

Title: What Zola did on Sunday Author: Melina Marchetta Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Puffin Published: 28th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 96 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: From the author of Looking for Alibrandi comes this gorgeous series to engage and entertain newly independent young readers. A wonderful children’s series celebrating community, friendship and kindness from the bestselling author of Looking… Continue reading What Zola did on Sunday by Melina Marchetta and illustrated by Deb Hudson

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Song of Lewis Carmichael by Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride

Title: The Song of Lewis Carmichael Author: Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 192 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A beautiful, illustrated adventure story with a classic feel, about a quiet boy and a talking crow on an extraordinary hot-air balloon ride to… Continue reading The Song of Lewis Carmichael by Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride

adventure, Alexander McCall-Smith, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Noah Wild and the Floating Zoo by Alexander McCall-Smith

Title: Noah Wild and the Floating Zoo Author: Alexander McCall-Smith Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloosmbury Published: 3rd August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 128 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Noah looked at Hatty. ‘Imagine having a zoo,’ he said. It’s full-time monkey business on the high seas in this new family adventure from Alexander McCall-Smith, the best-selling author of… Continue reading Noah Wild and the Floating Zoo by Alexander McCall-Smith

animals, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Hattie and Olaf by Frida Nilsson (translated by Julia Marshall)

Title: Hattie and Olaf Author: Frida Nilsson (translated by Julia Marshall) Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Gecko Press/Walker Books Published: 4th August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 184 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The audacious and captivating Hattie and her best friend Linda navigate the social politics of their first school years in this funny illustrated chapter book Hattie wants… Continue reading Hattie and Olaf by Frida Nilsson (translated by Julia Marshall)