Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Cardboard Cowboys by Brian Conaghan

Title: Cardboard Cowboys Author: Brian Conaghan Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 4th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: I'm not a genius. Not yet anyway. But Bruce is. Even though I found him living in a house made of cardboard, he's a massive genius. Fact. So this is mine and Bruce's story.… Continue reading Cardboard Cowboys by Brian Conaghan

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Eliza Vanda’s Button Box by Emily Rodda

Title: Eliza Vanda’s Button Box Author: Emily Rodda Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 5th May 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 288 Price: $22.99 Synopsis: From the author of the award-winning His Name was Walter comes another magical mystery story that will delight Emily Rodda fans. Buttons three, attend to me! Take me where I want to… Continue reading Eliza Vanda’s Button Box by Emily Rodda

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

A Glasshouse of Stars by Shirley Marr

Title: A Glasshouse of Stars Author: Shirley Marr Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 4th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: An exquisite, heartbreakingly beautiful gem of a novel for anyone who loved Wonder, Lenny's Book of Everything, A Monster Calls or When You Reach Me. 'Heart-twisting and hopeful, bursting with big feelings and gentle magic. This… Continue reading A Glasshouse of Stars by Shirley Marr

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Orion Published: 13th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Everything We Keep by Di Walker

Title: Everything We Keep Author: Di Walker Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Omnibus/Scholastic Australia Published: 1st April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: Age 9+ ·  Emotive middle grade fiction ·  Explores issues of foster families, anxiety, hoarding ·  Intelligently written, exploring difficult topics in a gentle and compassionate way ·  A talented author… Continue reading Everything We Keep by Di Walker

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, literary fiction, Miss Lily, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, spies

Legends of the Lost Lilies by Jackie French

Title: Legends of the Lost Lilies Author: Jackie French Genre: Historical Fiction, Thriller, Espionage Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 7th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 448 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: The final and thrilling conclusion to the popular and bestselling Miss Lily series A mysterious telegram that says, 'Lily needs you' arrives just before a plane from… Continue reading Legends of the Lost Lilies by Jackie French

animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Covers, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

How Not to Annoy Mum by Dave Hughes, Holly Ife, illustrated by Heath McKenzie

Title: How Not to Annoy Mum Author: Dave Hughes, Holly Ife, illustrated by Heath McKenzie Genre: Humour Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st April 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: From hugely popular comedian and TV/Radio personality DAVE HUGHES and Holly Ife!Hilarious sequel to the best-selling book How Not To Annoy DadThe Koala family… Continue reading How Not to Annoy Mum by Dave Hughes, Holly Ife, illustrated by Heath McKenzie

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Storm Keepers’ Battle by Catherine Doyle

Title: The Storm Keepers’ Battle Author: Catherine Doyle Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Fionn Boyle, Storm Keeper of Arranmore, is facing the fight of his life. The terrifying all- powerful sorceress Morrigan has been raised from the dead and has sealed off the island… Continue reading The Storm Keepers’ Battle by Catherine Doyle

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Huda and Me by H. Hayek

Title: Huda and Me Author: H. Hayek Genre: Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 208 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A cheeky, fun and fast-moving tale of two Lebanese-Australian kids who decide to escape their horrible babysitter by running away…to the other side of the world. Huda's sitting in the airport… Continue reading Huda and Me by H. Hayek

#AussieAuthor2021, #loveozya, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Harmony by Richard Yaxley

Title: Harmony Author: Richard Yaxley Genre: Historical Fiction, Young Adult Publisher: Scholastic Australia/Omnibus Books Published: 1st March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: New YA from PM’s Literary Award Winner, Richard Yaxley. ·  Moving, insightful, unputdownable.·  Compelling themes of love, family, secrets, war. In 1914, Tom Stott falls in love with Gracie O’Donnell,… Continue reading Harmony by Richard Yaxley