#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Housemate by Sarah Bailey

Title: The Housemate Author: Sarah Bailey Genre: Crime Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 464 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: The new standalone thriller from the award-winning writer of the bestselling Gemma Woodstock trilogy: The Dark Lake, Into the Night and Where the Dead Go.Three housemates. One dead, one missing and one accused of murder.Dubbed the… Continue reading The Housemate by Sarah Bailey

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, poetry

Brainwaves by Ziggy Alberts

Title: Brainwaves Author: Ziggy Alberts Genre: poetry Publisher: Commonfolk Publishing Published: 3rd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 96 Price: $24.95 Synopsis: A debut collection of poetry from platinum ARIA accredited artist Ziggy Alberts, 'brainwaves', explores life's experiences and emotions, inwards and out. Deeply personal, frank, insightful yet relatable, Alberts uncovers his introspective thoughts and lessons… Continue reading Brainwaves by Ziggy Alberts

animals, Book Industry, Books, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, short stories

Who Sleuthed It? Edited by Lindy Cameron

Title:  Who Sleuthed It? Author: Edited by Lindy Cameron Genre: Crime Publisher: Clan Destine Press Published: August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 340 Price: $29.95 Synopsis: Who Sleuthed It? is the book you want when you want a book about animals helping their animal friends – or their human sidekicks – solve a host of diabolical crimes… Continue reading Who Sleuthed It? Edited by Lindy Cameron

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The School Between Winter and Fairyland by Heather Fawcett

Title: The School Between Winter and Fairyland Author: Heather Fawcett Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A spell-binding tale of magic, monsters and mystery, set in an enchanted boarding school. Full of suspense and exquisitely written, this is middle-grade fantasy at its best -… Continue reading The School Between Winter and Fairyland by Heather Fawcett

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Book Industry, Books, history, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Dressmakers of Auschwitz by Lucy Adlington

Title: The Dressmakers of Auschwitz Author: Lucy Adlington Genre: History, Non-fiction Publisher: Hodder and Stoughton/Hachette Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 381 Price: $34.99 Synopsis: 'Lucy Adlington tells of the horrors of the Nazi occupation and the concentration camps from a fascinating and original angle. She introduces us to a little-known aspect of the… Continue reading The Dressmakers of Auschwitz by Lucy Adlington

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

What Zola did on Saturday by Melina Marchetta, illustrated by Deb Hudson

Title: What Zola did on Saturday Author: Melina Marchetta Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Puffin Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 96 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: From the author of Looking for Alibrandi comes this gorgeous series to engage and entertain newly independent young readers. A wonderful children’s series celebrating community, friendship and kindness from the bestselling author of Looking… Continue reading What Zola did on Saturday by Melina Marchetta, illustrated by Deb Hudson

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

What Zola did on Friday by Author: Melina Marchetta, illustrated by Deb Hudson

Title: What Zola did on Friday Author: Melina Marchetta, illustrated by Deb Hudson Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Puffin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 96 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: From the author of Looking for Alibrandi comes this gorgeous series to engage and entertain newly independent young readers. A wonderful children’s series celebrating community, friendship and kindness from… Continue reading What Zola did on Friday by Author: Melina Marchetta, illustrated by Deb Hudson

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Dulcinea in the Forbidden Forest by Ole Könnecke (translated by Shelley Tanaka

Title: Dulcinea in the Forbidden Forest Author: Ole Könnecke (translated by Shelley Tanaka Genre: Fairy tale Publisher: Walker Books/Gecko Press Published: 8th September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 64 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: A funny illustrated fairy tale for early readers about the brave and capable Dulcinea, who must save her father from the witch’s spell and… Continue reading Dulcinea in the Forbidden Forest by Ole Könnecke (translated by Shelley Tanaka

#AussieAuthor2021, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Drover by Neridah McMullin, illustrated by Sarah Anthony

Title: Drover Author: Neridah McMullin, illustrated by Sarah Anthony Genre: History Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 8th September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $26.99 Synopsis: The true story of an important pioneering woman in Australian history. Courageous, clever and daring, Drover is one of a kind. Travelling through the heart of the outback, Drover… Continue reading Drover by Neridah McMullin, illustrated by Sarah Anthony