#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Shadow Arts by Damien Love

Title: The Shadow Arts Author: Damien Love Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Bloomsbury/Rock the Boat Published: 2nd July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 160 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: "The thrilling sequel to Monstrous Devices–Alex and his grandfather hold the fate of history itself in their hands in a Rick Riordan meets Raiders of the Lost Ark adventure of… Continue reading The Shadow Arts by Damien Love

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, middle grade, non-fiction, Pamela Hart, Picture Books, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

May 2021 Round Up

Current stats: Modern Mrs Darcy – 13/14 Australian Authors Challenge – 24/24 (47) AWW2021 – 75/50 Dymocks Reading Challenge – 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge – 24/26 Overall goal – 122/170 In May, I managed to read 36 books, with a vast majority by Australian authors, and have almost finished my reading challenges – with a… Continue reading May 2021 Round Up

adventure, Book Industry, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Roald Dahl

The Witches (Film Tie In) by Roald Dahl

Title: The Witches (Film Tie In) Author: Roald Dahl Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 17th November 2020 (this edition) Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: The phizzwhizzing inspiration behind a new major motion picture coming 2020, starring Anne Hathaway, Octavia Spencer, Stanley Tucci and Chris Rock. BEWARE. Real witches dress in ordinary clothes and… Continue reading The Witches (Film Tie In) by Roald Dahl

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Around the World Supper Club, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Covers, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, Meg Keneally, memoir, middle grade, Monsarrat Series, non-fiction, Picture Books, Pippa's Island, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

Challenge Completed – Books and Bites Bingo

    12th December 2020 – Another reading challenge completed! I have ticked off five out of seven reading challenges with the completion of my Books and Bites Bingo challenge. I remember with the one category, a book that got bad reviews, someone got very upset that I’d chosen the book I did – but… Continue reading Challenge Completed – Books and Bites Bingo

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Fly on the Wall by Remy Lai

Title: Fly on the Wall Fly on the Wall Cover Author: Remy Lai Genre: Fiction Publisher: Walker Books Published: 15th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: In this moving and hilarious illustrated novel from the critically acclaimed author of Pie in the Sky, a twelve-year-old boy goes on a (forbidden) solo journey halfway… Continue reading Fly on the Wall by Remy Lai

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Charlotte Barkla, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Edie's Experiments, Ella at Eden, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, Monty's Island, mythology, non-fiction, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily, Tim Harris, Toffle Towers

July 2020 Wrap Up

In July, I read twenty-two books, and have managed to complete my Australian Women Writer’s Challenge – which I am still going with, and my Book Bingo Challenge. All those posts are written and scheduled, as are several others for reviews and my isolation publicity series, which ends on the twenty-first of this month. I’ve… Continue reading July 2020 Wrap Up

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Alice-Miranda, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Charlotte Barkla, check in post, Crime/Mystery, Edie's Experiments, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, House of Heroes, Isolation Publicity, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Petra James, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

May 2020 Round Up

In May, we seemed to settle into a lockdown routine, so I got a bit more reading done. This month, I read 20 books – the vast majority of those – seventeen – were by Australian women writers – some for review, some my own reads and one or two that I read alongside Isolation… Continue reading May 2020 Round Up

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Lucy Worsley, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily, Young Adult

April 2020 Round Up

In April, we found ourselves amidst a pandemic – and I found myself with an influx of review books, some quite long, and some not so long. As I usually do, I aim to read ahead in my review stack, to get things cleared, and posted or scheduled to save time. I’m still a bit… Continue reading April 2020 Round Up

#loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, Dystopia, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, House of Heroes, humour, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, The Nerd Daily, translated works, Writing, Young Adult

February 2020 Round Up

In February this year I read seventeen books – several for pleasure, some for quiz writing purposes and the rest for review purposes – most coming out in March or in the next few months. My current total stats for my reading challenges are: The Modern Mrs Darcy 9/12 AWW2020 -15/25 Book Bingo - 9/12… Continue reading February 2020 Round Up