Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Eyes that Speak to the Stars by Joanna Ho

Title: Eyes that Speak to the Stars Author: Joanna Ho Genre: Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 2nd March 2022 Format: Hardcover Pages: 40 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: New York Times bestselling team Joanna Ho and Dung Ho present Eyes That Speak to the Stars, companion to the acclaimed Eyes That Kiss in the Corners. “A brilliant treatise to love of… Continue reading Eyes that Speak to the Stars by Joanna Ho

#AussieAuthors2022, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

When You’re Older by Sofie Laguna and Judy Watson

Title: When You’re Older Author: Sofie Laguna and Judy Watson Genre: Family Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 1st March 2022 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: Beautiful, warm and evocative, this stunning picture book reveals an older brother's hopes for the amazing experiences he will share with his new baby brother - when he's… Continue reading When You’re Older by Sofie Laguna and Judy Watson

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Mertales: The Great Treasure Hunt by Rebecca Timmis

Title: Mertales: The Great Treasure Hunt Author: Rebecca Timmis Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 1st February 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 136 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Turbulent turtles! It's Book 3 in the sea-sational MerTales series, packed with mer-magical adventure. It's the day of the Great Treasure Hunt and everyone is joining in!Coral is excited… Continue reading Mertales: The Great Treasure Hunt by Rebecca Timmis

#AussieAuthor2021, #AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Ella at Eden, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

December 2021 Reading Wrap Up

In December, I read twenty-five books, some of those were books for quiz writing and others were 2022 releases that I decided to read, review and schedule the post for so I don’t fall behind. As a result, these reviews are not included but the books themselves are. I have also completed all my challenges,… Continue reading December 2021 Reading Wrap Up

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Christmas, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Frindleswylde by Natalia and Laura O’Hara

Title: Frindleswylde Author: Natalia and Laura O’Hara Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Published: 3rd November 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 40 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: Can you feel a tremble in the wind? The sun grows pale. The wild things hide. Frindleswylde is coming! A beautiful gift picture book for Christmas. When the mysterious boy Frindleswylde enters Cora… Continue reading Frindleswylde by Natalia and Laura O’Hara

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Shadow Arts by Damien Love

Title: The Shadow Arts Author: Damien Love Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Bloomsbury/Rock the Boat Published: 2nd July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 160 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: "The thrilling sequel to Monstrous Devices–Alex and his grandfather hold the fate of history itself in their hands in a Rick Riordan meets Raiders of the Lost Ark adventure of… Continue reading The Shadow Arts by Damien Love

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, middle grade, non-fiction, Pamela Hart, Picture Books, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

May 2021 Round Up

Current stats: Modern Mrs Darcy – 13/14 Australian Authors Challenge – 24/24 (47) AWW2021 – 75/50 Dymocks Reading Challenge – 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge – 24/26 Overall goal – 122/170 In May, I managed to read 36 books, with a vast majority by Australian authors, and have almost finished my reading challenges – with a… Continue reading May 2021 Round Up

adventure, Book Industry, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Roald Dahl

The Witches (Film Tie In) by Roald Dahl

Title: The Witches (Film Tie In) Author: Roald Dahl Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 17th November 2020 (this edition) Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: The phizzwhizzing inspiration behind a new major motion picture coming 2020, starring Anne Hathaway, Octavia Spencer, Stanley Tucci and Chris Rock. BEWARE. Real witches dress in ordinary clothes and… Continue reading The Witches (Film Tie In) by Roald Dahl

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Around the World Supper Club, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Covers, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, Meg Keneally, memoir, middle grade, Monsarrat Series, non-fiction, Picture Books, Pippa's Island, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

Challenge Completed – Books and Bites Bingo

    12th December 2020 – Another reading challenge completed! I have ticked off five out of seven reading challenges with the completion of my Books and Bites Bingo challenge. I remember with the one category, a book that got bad reviews, someone got very upset that I’d chosen the book I did – but… Continue reading Challenge Completed – Books and Bites Bingo