animals, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Zookeeper of Belfast by S. Kirk Walsh

Title: The Zookeeper of Belfast Author: S. Kirk Walsh Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette/Hodder and Stoughton Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A stunning World War Two novel for fans of Natasha Lester, Heather Morris, Kate Furnivall, Mandy Robotham, based on a true story. As the bombs rain down on… Continue reading The Zookeeper of Belfast by S. Kirk Walsh

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

Challenge Completed: Aussie Authors Challenge

When I started this challenge, I thought it would take me a little longer than three months, given I primarily read books by Australian women, and thought I’d be searching more for books by Australian men. However, I got lucky, and with so many releases, I managed to complete this challenge by March, well ahead… Continue reading Challenge Completed: Aussie Authors Challenge

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Carly Mills, Pioneer Girl: Superstar by Jane Smith

Title: Carly Mills, Pioneer Girl: Superstar Author: Jane Smith Genre: Historical Fiction, Time slip Publisher: Big Sky Publishing Published: 8th February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 140 Price: $12.50 Synopsis: When Carly Mills goes to Melbourne with the school choir, she gets more than she bargained for: a trip back in time and a chance meeting… Continue reading Carly Mills, Pioneer Girl: Superstar by Jane Smith

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Stunt Kid Seriously Stacks It by Jack Heath

Title: Stunt Kid Seriously Stacks It Author: Jack Heath Genre: Comedy Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Levi is pretty sick of starring in Dad’s stupid TV show, Kid Kablam. Because Levi is the kid who gets KABLAMMED. So far he’s been knocked down, blown up, and… Continue reading Stunt Kid Seriously Stacks It by Jack Heath

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, The Modern Mrs Darcy

The Forest of Moon and Sword by Amy Raphael

Title: The Forest of Moon and Sword Author: Amy Raphael Genre: Historical fiction, Adventure Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Australia Published: 12th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 300 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: When Art's mother is accused of witchcraft and captured, she is determined to get her back - at any cost. A lyrical adventure with folklore at its… Continue reading The Forest of Moon and Sword by Amy Raphael

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, The Modern Mrs Darcy

Elizabeth and Elizabeth by Sue Williams

Title: Elizabeth and Elizabeth Author: Sue Williams Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 11th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: The story of how two women, who should have been bitter foes, combined their courage and wisdom to wield extraordinary power and influence behind the scenes of the fledgling colony.… Continue reading Elizabeth and Elizabeth by Sue Williams

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Reading, Reviews

2020 Wrap up

In 2020, I participated in the following seven challenges, and completed them all, apart from one category in the Nerd Daily Challenge, explained in the Nerd Daily Wrap Up post linked here. Some of these wrap up posts will have linked content, others won’t, but you can search each title and find the post. The… Continue reading 2020 Wrap up

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Alice-Miranda, animals, Around the World Supper Club, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, Charlotte Barkla, check in post, Children's Literature, Cora Bell, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Edie's Experiments, Ella at Eden, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, House of Heroes, Jackie French, Jaclyn Moriarty, Jacqueline Harvey, Jinxed, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, Kensy and Max, Kingdoms and Empires Series, literary fiction, Matilda Saga, Maven and Reeve, Meg Keneally, memoir, middle grade, Miss Lily, Monsarrat Series, Monty's Island, non-fiction, Petra James, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Pippa's Island, poetry, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Rowland Sinclair, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction, spies, Sulari Gentill, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

Australian Women Writers Challenge wrap up post

I participated in the Australian Women Writer’s Challenge again in 2020 – with a goal of 65 books, and I managed to read 141, with two of those being re-reads. As much of this year was spent in lockdown or under restrictions, I had lots of time to read. I read just over double my… Continue reading Australian Women Writers Challenge wrap up post

Book Industry, Books, challenges, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, The Modern Mrs Darcy

Modern Mrs Darcy Challenge – sign up post

In 2021, The Modern Mrs Darcy challenge took a different tack in 2021 – more about quality of reading lives, rather than fitting your reading life and journey around a reading challenge. Last year, I took on SEVEN challenges, and completed six – with the final posts on the way at the time of writing… Continue reading Modern Mrs Darcy Challenge – sign up post

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Around the World Supper Club, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Covers, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, Meg Keneally, memoir, middle grade, Monsarrat Series, non-fiction, Picture Books, Pippa's Island, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

Challenge Completed – Books and Bites Bingo

    12th December 2020 – Another reading challenge completed! I have ticked off five out of seven reading challenges with the completion of my Books and Bites Bingo challenge. I remember with the one category, a book that got bad reviews, someone got very upset that I’d chosen the book I did – but… Continue reading Challenge Completed – Books and Bites Bingo