#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

QBD Reading Challenge

Another challenge I am doing this year is the QBD Reading Challenge. Like the Dymocks Reading Challenge, it is broad enough that I should be able to fulfill most of the categories easily and hope to fill in as many as possible early on, so I can focus on the ones that might not be… Continue reading QBD Reading Challenge

#AussieAuthor2021, #AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews

2021 Reading Wrap up

In 2021, I took on five reading challenges, and completed them all. I read 268 books, with 187 of those by Australian authors, and 81 non-Australian authors. Most books I read were by women, with 150 by Australian women. I read for pleasure, review, and my quiz writing work, and covered as much ground as… Continue reading 2021 Reading Wrap up

#AussieAuthor2021, #AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, A.L. Tait, adventure, Alice-Miranda, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Belinda Murrell, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Deltora Quest, Ella at Eden, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Jaclyn Moriarty, Jacqueline Harvey, Jinxed, Junior Fiction, Kensy and Max, Kingdoms and Empires Series, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, Miss Lily, Monty's Island, non-fiction, Pamela Hart, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, short stories, Speculative fiction, spies, Young Adult

Challenge Completed – Australian Women Writers Challenge 2021

2021 marks the end of the Australian Women Writer’s challenge as a general challenge focusing on women authors throughout Australian history. From next year, it shifts focus to the unknown, lesser recognised authors from the 19th and early 20th century. Interesting, but I don’t think I’ll be able to focus on that with all my… Continue reading Challenge Completed – Australian Women Writers Challenge 2021

Aussie authors, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Reading, Reviews

Dymocks Reading Challenge 2022

My second challenge for 2022 is the Dymocks Reading Challenge. It’s another one that has categories that are fairly open, and easy to find books for. The reason I like these sorts of challenges is because I can adjust what I read to fit the categories, rather than having to find a specific book for… Continue reading Dymocks Reading Challenge 2022

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, biography, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, spies

QBD Reading Challenge Wrap-up Post

As the year comes to a close, so are my reading challenges, and I’m getting very close to being able to tick all of them off. With one left to complete – The Australian Women Writer’s Challenge – I’ve managed to wrap every other challenge. My one hurdle with this challenge was a coffee table… Continue reading QBD Reading Challenge Wrap-up Post

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, memoir, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Real Pigeons, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, spies, Young Adult

September 2021 Round Up

In September, I read 21 books, and most of those were again Australian authors, with two quiz books and 19 review books. To date on the day of writing this, I have read 217 books, and September saw me reach 215 books for 2021. I completed my Dymocks Reading Challenge, leaving only my QBD Challenge… Continue reading September 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, biography, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Monty's Island, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Real Pigeons, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Young Adult

Dymocks Reading Challenge – CHALLENGE COMPLETED

One of the reading challenges I undertook this year was the Dymocks Reading Challenge, which I like because the categories are fairly open, yet still challenging – sometimes it can be hard to find the book you want without doubling up, and for some, there are lots of books that work here. I started in… Continue reading Dymocks Reading Challenge – CHALLENGE COMPLETED

animals, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Zookeeper of Belfast by S. Kirk Walsh

Title: The Zookeeper of Belfast Author: S. Kirk Walsh Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette/Hodder and Stoughton Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A stunning World War Two novel for fans of Natasha Lester, Heather Morris, Kate Furnivall, Mandy Robotham, based on a true story. As the bombs rain down on… Continue reading The Zookeeper of Belfast by S. Kirk Walsh

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

Challenge Completed: Aussie Authors Challenge

When I started this challenge, I thought it would take me a little longer than three months, given I primarily read books by Australian women, and thought I’d be searching more for books by Australian men. However, I got lucky, and with so many releases, I managed to complete this challenge by March, well ahead… Continue reading Challenge Completed: Aussie Authors Challenge

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Carly Mills, Pioneer Girl: Superstar by Jane Smith

Title: Carly Mills, Pioneer Girl: Superstar Author: Jane Smith Genre: Historical Fiction, Time slip Publisher: Big Sky Publishing Published: 8th February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 140 Price: $12.50 Synopsis: When Carly Mills goes to Melbourne with the school choir, she gets more than she bargained for: a trip back in time and a chance meeting… Continue reading Carly Mills, Pioneer Girl: Superstar by Jane Smith