#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, Young Adult

February 2021 Round-up

February’s reading leaped considerably to thirty books read that month for blogging and blog tours, and a couple that I read for myself. I’m yet to start back working as a quiz writer, but I also review for Scholastic, so several of these books were for that. Most were by Australian authors, and about 27… Continue reading February 2021 Round-up

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Winterborne Home for Mayhem and Mystery by Ally Carter

Title: Winterborne Home for Mayhem and Mystery Author: Ally Carter Genre: Fiction Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Published: 23rd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: April is one of five foster kids living at Winterborne Home, a sprawling mansion full of secrets. The biggest secret is that Gabriel Winterborne, their reclusive millionaire guardian, is actually The… Continue reading Winterborne Home for Mayhem and Mystery by Ally Carter

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Lola Online: The Secret Upstairs Fan Club Party by Shannan and Taylor Stedman

Title: Lola Online: The Secret Upstairs Fan Club Party Author: Shannan and Taylor Stedman Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 208 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: A brand new exciting series for the Youtube generation ·  Funny, fresh fiction with characters that leap off the page·  Perfect for reluctant readers·  Themes include… Continue reading Lola Online: The Secret Upstairs Fan Club Party by Shannan and Taylor Stedman

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, Festivals, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

Title: The House at the Edge of Magic Author: Amy Sparkes Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 6th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A quirky, funny and fast-paced middle grade fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Kaye Umansky, Sophie Anderson and Peter Bunzl. Nine is an orphan pickpocket determined to… Continue reading The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Friday Barnes, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series

Friday Barnes: Never Fear by R.A. Spratt

Title: Friday Barnes: Never Fear Author: R.A. Spratt Genre: Mystery Publisher: Puffin Published: 7th January 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: Friday's time at Highcrest is running out! Friday's time at Highcrest is running out!The new headmaster is turning everything upside down. Friday's irritatingly high IQ has her fast-tracked to graduation, while a… Continue reading Friday Barnes: Never Fear by R.A. Spratt

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Friday Barnes, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, The Modern Mrs Darcy

Friday Barnes: The Plot Thickens by R.A. Spratt

Title: Friday Barnes: The Plot Thickens Author: R.A. Spratt Genre: Crime/Mystery Publisher: Puffin/Penguin Random House Published: 7th January 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: Friday Barnes is being attacked on all fronts! Friday Barnes is being attacked on all fronts! When Friday Barnes gets involved in her frenemy Ian Wainscott’s family dispute, it… Continue reading Friday Barnes: The Plot Thickens by R.A. Spratt

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, Ella at Eden, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Jacqueline Harvey, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Meg Keneally, memoir, middle grade, Monsarrat Series, mythology, Natasha Lester, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Rowland Sinclair, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, Sulari Gentill, The Nerd Daily, Young Adult

The Nerd Daily 2020 Challenge – completed, sort of

One of the challenges I took part in this year was The Nerd Daily Challenge with 52 prompts – one for each week of the year. As with some of my other challenges, I did use the same book a couple of times, especially towards the end of the year when I knew I wasn’t… Continue reading The Nerd Daily 2020 Challenge – completed, sort of

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Sick Bay by Nova Weetman

Title: Sick Bay Author: Nova Weetman Genre: Fiction Publisher: UQ Press Published: 4th June 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 280 Price: $16.95 Synopsis: Meg uses Sick Bay to hide from other kids. She’s struggling with changes at home, wears slippers to school and buries her head in books. New girl Riley is a type 1 diabetic… Continue reading Sick Bay by Nova Weetman

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Father Christmas and Me by Matt Haig

Title: Father Christmas and Me Author: Matt Haig Genre: Fantasy, Christmas Publisher: Allen and Unwin/Canongate Published: October 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The third magical book in the festive series, which began with A Boy Called Christmas and continued with The Girl Who Saved Christmas, from number one bestselling author Matt Haig, and featuring enchanting illustrations… Continue reading Father Christmas and Me by Matt Haig

adventure, Book Industry, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Roald Dahl

The Witches (Film Tie In) by Roald Dahl

Title: The Witches (Film Tie In) Author: Roald Dahl Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 17th November 2020 (this edition) Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: The phizzwhizzing inspiration behind a new major motion picture coming 2020, starring Anne Hathaway, Octavia Spencer, Stanley Tucci and Chris Rock. BEWARE. Real witches dress in ordinary clothes and… Continue reading The Witches (Film Tie In) by Roald Dahl