#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

What Zola did on Saturday by Melina Marchetta, illustrated by Deb Hudson

Title: What Zola did on Saturday Author: Melina Marchetta Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Puffin Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 96 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: From the author of Looking for Alibrandi comes this gorgeous series to engage and entertain newly independent young readers. A wonderful children’s series celebrating community, friendship and kindness from the bestselling author of Looking… Continue reading What Zola did on Saturday by Melina Marchetta, illustrated by Deb Hudson

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

What Zola did on Friday by Author: Melina Marchetta, illustrated by Deb Hudson

Title: What Zola did on Friday Author: Melina Marchetta, illustrated by Deb Hudson Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Puffin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 96 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: From the author of Looking for Alibrandi comes this gorgeous series to engage and entertain newly independent young readers. A wonderful children’s series celebrating community, friendship and kindness from… Continue reading What Zola did on Friday by Author: Melina Marchetta, illustrated by Deb Hudson

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Dulcinea in the Forbidden Forest by Ole Könnecke (translated by Shelley Tanaka

Title: Dulcinea in the Forbidden Forest Author: Ole Könnecke (translated by Shelley Tanaka Genre: Fairy tale Publisher: Walker Books/Gecko Press Published: 8th September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 64 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: A funny illustrated fairy tale for early readers about the brave and capable Dulcinea, who must save her father from the witch’s spell and… Continue reading Dulcinea in the Forbidden Forest by Ole Könnecke (translated by Shelley Tanaka

#AussieAuthor2021, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Drover by Neridah McMullin, illustrated by Sarah Anthony

Title: Drover Author: Neridah McMullin, illustrated by Sarah Anthony Genre: History Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 8th September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $26.99 Synopsis: The true story of an important pioneering woman in Australian history. Courageous, clever and daring, Drover is one of a kind. Travelling through the heart of the outback, Drover… Continue reading Drover by Neridah McMullin, illustrated by Sarah Anthony

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Completed

Another challenge completed! I completed this one a few weeks ago, and my original post about it is here. This was the build your own challenge from lists of prompts from previous iterations of this challenge and I have to say, it was a really good one as there was a lot less pressure to… Continue reading Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Completed

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Kid President Totally Rules by Jack Heath

Title: Kid President Totally Rules Author: Jack Heath Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Jaxxon has accidentally been elected to rule as the first ever KID PRESIDENT. He has big ideas: free ice-cream in every school, homework to be made illegal, and all national parks… Continue reading Kid President Totally Rules by Jack Heath

#AussieAuthor2021, adventure, animals, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Monkey’s Big Adventures: Afloat in Venice by Tina Wilson

Title: Monkey’s Big Adventures: Afloat in Venice Author: Tina Wilson Genre: Travel, Friendship, Adventure Publisher: One Tentacle Publishing Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Hardcover and Audio Pages: 40 Price: $27.95 Synopsis: ABOUT THE SERIES Imaginative, nostalgic and quirky, the Monkey’s Great Adventures series, with bespoke hand-knitted toys, is beautifully photographed in locations around the world… Continue reading Monkey’s Big Adventures: Afloat in Venice by Tina Wilson

#AussieAuthor2021, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Coco and the Bee by Laura Bunting, illustrated by Nicky Johnston

Title: Coco and the Bee Author: Laura Bunting, illustrated by Nicky Johnston Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 48 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Book three in a delightful new series by Laura Bunting, in stunning large format hardback, embossed. Irresistible and adorable illustrations by Nicky Johnston. Destined to be every… Continue reading Coco and the Bee by Laura Bunting, illustrated by Nicky Johnston

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Ella at Eden, Enola Holmes, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

August Round-Up 2021

August saw most of Australia back in lockdown due to the Delta variant of COVID, so it was a great month to get on top of my reading as much as I could. Between books for work and review, I read 29 books, and reviewed most of them. Again, most were by Australian authors, with… Continue reading August Round-Up 2021