#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Golden Tower

Title: The Golden Tower Author: Belinda Murrell Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fiction/Time slip Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: In her wildest dreams, Sophie never thought she might be kidnapped by a cat and taken to a world of flying horses and wonder – but also magic, mystery and danger!… Continue reading The Golden Tower

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, Young Adult

February 2021 Round-up

February’s reading leaped considerably to thirty books read that month for blogging and blog tours, and a couple that I read for myself. I’m yet to start back working as a quiz writer, but I also review for Scholastic, so several of these books were for that. Most were by Australian authors, and about 27… Continue reading February 2021 Round-up

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

The Flying Angel by Vicki Bennett and Tull Suwannakit

Title: The Flying Angel Author: Vicki Bennett and Tull Suwannakit Genre: Historical, Biographical Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: March 2021 Format: Hardback Pages: 32 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: A story inspired by the life of Sister Marie Eileen Craig ·  Great teaching resource·  The perfect title to commemorate World War II·  Themes: family, friendship, war, perseverance, bravery,… Continue reading The Flying Angel by Vicki Bennett and Tull Suwannakit

Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

A Net for Small Fishes by Lucy Jago

Title: A Net for Small Fishes Author: Lucy Jago Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 18th February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: Frances Howard has beauty and a powerful family – and is the most unhappy creature in the world.Anne Turner has wit and talent – but no stage on which to… Continue reading A Net for Small Fishes by Lucy Jago

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Dragon and her Boy by Penny Chrimes

Title: The Dragon and her Boy Author: Penny Chrimes Genre: Fantasy, Historical, Time slip Publisher: Hachette Australia/Orion Published: 23rd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: A story of the very last living dragon, stuck living in a tunnel under London, and the boy who unintentionally finds himself as her protector, perfect for… Continue reading The Dragon and her Boy by Penny Chrimes

Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, The Modern Mrs Darcy

The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

Title: The Paris Library Author: Janet Skeslien Charles Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 9th February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 430 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Inspired by the true story of the librarians at the American Library in Paris who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage, defiance and… Continue reading The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Monty's Island, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy

January 2021 Wrap Up

In January 2021, I read fifteen books, and reviewed seventeen – two were read in 2020 but only due for publication in early January. Of these books, most were Australian authors, and one was by a male author, whilst another was a collaboration with a woman and a man. Many were kids’ books, as this… Continue reading January 2021 Wrap Up

animals, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Violet Veil Mysteries: A Case of Grave Danger by Sophie Cleverly

Title: The Violet Veil Mysteries: A Case of Grave Danger Author: Sophie Cleverly Genre: Historical Fiction, Crime Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 3rd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A breakout new detective series, from the author of the spine-tingling SCARLET AND IVY series, beautifully illustrated by Hannah Peck. Violet Veil wants nothing… Continue reading The Violet Veil Mysteries: A Case of Grave Danger by Sophie Cleverly

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant

Title: The Hatmakers Author: Tamzin Merchant Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The first adventure in a spellbinding new magical world. Cordelia comes from a long line of magical milliners, who weave alchemy and enchantment into every hat. In Cordelia's world, Making - crafting items… Continue reading The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, Festivals, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

Title: The House at the Edge of Magic Author: Amy Sparkes Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 6th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A quirky, funny and fast-paced middle grade fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Kaye Umansky, Sophie Anderson and Peter Bunzl. Nine is an orphan pickpocket determined to… Continue reading The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes