adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Dragon and her Boy by Penny Chrimes

Title: The Dragon and her Boy Author: Penny Chrimes Genre: Fantasy, Historical, Time slip Publisher: Hachette Australia/Orion Published: 23rd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: A story of the very last living dragon, stuck living in a tunnel under London, and the boy who unintentionally finds himself as her protector, perfect for… Continue reading The Dragon and her Boy by Penny Chrimes

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, Festivals, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

Title: The House at the Edge of Magic Author: Amy Sparkes Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 6th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A quirky, funny and fast-paced middle grade fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Kaye Umansky, Sophie Anderson and Peter Bunzl. Nine is an orphan pickpocket determined to… Continue reading The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, The Modern Mrs Darcy

The Forest of Moon and Sword by Amy Raphael

Title: The Forest of Moon and Sword Author: Amy Raphael Genre: Historical fiction, Adventure Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Australia Published: 12th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 300 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: When Art's mother is accused of witchcraft and captured, she is determined to get her back - at any cost. A lyrical adventure with folklore at its… Continue reading The Forest of Moon and Sword by Amy Raphael

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

The Good Hawk by Joseph Elliott

Title: The Good Hawk Author: Joseph Elliott Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 1st February 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 368 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A rich fantasy adventure trilogy, full of warring clans, deadly shadows and devastating plagues... If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back? Agatha patrols the sea… Continue reading The Good Hawk by Joseph Elliott

Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Wild Way Home by Sophie Kirtley

Title: The Wild Way Home Author: Sophie Kirtley Genre: Historical Fiction, Time Slip Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 15th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: When Charlie's longed-for brother is born with a serious heart condition, Charlie's world is turned upside down. Upset and afraid, Charlie flees the hospital and makes for the… Continue reading The Wild Way Home by Sophie Kirtley

adventure, Book Industry, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Cressida Cowell, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Wizards of Once

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic by Cressida Cowell

Title: The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic Author: Cressida Cowell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette Australia/Hodder Published: 20th September 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 480 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The No.1 Bestselling Series. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful magic in an exciting fantasy adventure from the author of HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON. The… Continue reading The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic by Cressida Cowell

adventure, Books, challenges, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Mermaid, the Witch and the Sea by Maggie Tokuda-Hall

Title: The Mermaid, the Witch and the Sea Author: Maggie Tokuda-Hall Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Published:    2nd September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 416 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: In a world divided by colonialism and threaded with magic, a desperate orphan turned pirate and a rebellious imperial lady find a connection on the high seas.… Continue reading The Mermaid, the Witch and the Sea by Maggie Tokuda-Hall

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Futuristic Fiction, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Max Booth, Future Sleuth: Chip Blip by Cameron Macintosh and Dave Atze

Title: Max Booth, Future Sleuth: Chip Blip Author: Cameron Macintosh and Dave Atze Genre: Science Fiction, Mystery, Adventure Publisher: Big Sky Publishing Published: 13th July 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 130 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: It’s 2424. Super Sleuth Max Booth is uncovering the secrets of mysterious 20th Century gadgets. His faithful, but slightly neurotic robodog Oscar… Continue reading Max Booth, Future Sleuth: Chip Blip by Cameron Macintosh and Dave Atze

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Books, Children's Literature, Emily Rodda, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Monty's Island, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Monty’s Island: Beady Bold and the Yum-Yams by Emily Rodda

Title: Monty’s Island: Beady Bold and the Yum-Yams Author: Emily Rodda Genre: Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 4th August 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 176 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Monty lives on a perfect island in the middle of a magical sea. Sometimes the sea throws up something interesting … and Monty goes on an amazing… Continue reading Monty’s Island: Beady Bold and the Yum-Yams by Emily Rodda

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Events, Interviews, Isolation Publicity, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers

Isolation Publicity with Tim Cope

Due to recent events, many Australian authors have had to cancel book launches and festival appearances. For some, this means new novels, series continuations and debut novels are heading into this scary, strange world without much publicity or attention. The good news is, you can still buy books – online or get your local bookstore… Continue reading Isolation Publicity with Tim Cope