Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Wild Way Home by Sophie Kirtley

Title: The Wild Way Home Author: Sophie Kirtley Genre: Historical Fiction, Time Slip Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 15th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: When Charlie's longed-for brother is born with a serious heart condition, Charlie's world is turned upside down. Upset and afraid, Charlie flees the hospital and makes for the… Continue reading The Wild Way Home by Sophie Kirtley

adventure, Book Industry, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Cressida Cowell, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Wizards of Once

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic by Cressida Cowell

Title: The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic Author: Cressida Cowell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette Australia/Hodder Published: 20th September 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 480 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The No.1 Bestselling Series. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful magic in an exciting fantasy adventure from the author of HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON. The… Continue reading The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic by Cressida Cowell

adventure, Books, challenges, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Mermaid, the Witch and the Sea by Maggie Tokuda-Hall

Title: The Mermaid, the Witch and the Sea Author: Maggie Tokuda-Hall Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Published:    2nd September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 416 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: In a world divided by colonialism and threaded with magic, a desperate orphan turned pirate and a rebellious imperial lady find a connection on the high seas.… Continue reading The Mermaid, the Witch and the Sea by Maggie Tokuda-Hall

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Futuristic Fiction, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Max Booth, Future Sleuth: Chip Blip by Cameron Macintosh and Dave Atze

Title: Max Booth, Future Sleuth: Chip Blip Author: Cameron Macintosh and Dave Atze Genre: Science Fiction, Mystery, Adventure Publisher: Big Sky Publishing Published: 13th July 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 130 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: It’s 2424. Super Sleuth Max Booth is uncovering the secrets of mysterious 20th Century gadgets. His faithful, but slightly neurotic robodog Oscar… Continue reading Max Booth, Future Sleuth: Chip Blip by Cameron Macintosh and Dave Atze

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Books, Children's Literature, Emily Rodda, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Monty's Island, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Monty’s Island: Beady Bold and the Yum-Yams by Emily Rodda

Title: Monty’s Island: Beady Bold and the Yum-Yams Author: Emily Rodda Genre: Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 4th August 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 176 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Monty lives on a perfect island in the middle of a magical sea. Sometimes the sea throws up something interesting … and Monty goes on an amazing… Continue reading Monty’s Island: Beady Bold and the Yum-Yams by Emily Rodda

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Events, Interviews, Isolation Publicity, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers

Isolation Publicity with Tim Cope

Due to recent events, many Australian authors have had to cancel book launches and festival appearances. For some, this means new novels, series continuations and debut novels are heading into this scary, strange world without much publicity or attention. The good news is, you can still buy books – online or get your local bookstore… Continue reading Isolation Publicity with Tim Cope

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The Unadoptables by Hana Tooke

Title: The Unadoptables Author: Hana Tooke Genre: Fantasy, Historical Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd July 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The amazing humour and world-building of Nevermoor meets the wisdom and warmth of Rooftoppers in this most un-ordinary adventure about five amazing children . . . 'Milou,' Lotta said softly. 'We need adoption papers to leave.… Continue reading The Unadoptables by Hana Tooke

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Wonderscape by Jennifer Bell

Title: Wonderscape Author: Jennifer Bell Genre: Fantasy/Magical Realism Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 1st June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Gaming and time travel collide in this thrilling middle-grade adventure, from bestselling author Jennifer Bell. When Arthur, Ren and Cecily investigate a mysterious explosion, they find themselves trapped in the year 2473.… Continue reading Wonderscape by Jennifer Bell

#LoveOZMG, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Emily Rodda, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Monty's Island, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, short stories

Monty’s Island: Scary Mary and the Stripe Spell by Emily Rodda and Lucinda Gifford (Illustrator)

Title: Monty’s Island: Scary Mary and the Stripe Spell Author: Emily Rodda and Lucinda Gifford (Illustrator) Genre: Adventure Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: March 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 176 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Monty lives on a perfect island in the middle of a magical sea. Sometimes the sea throws up something interesting … and Monty… Continue reading Monty’s Island: Scary Mary and the Stripe Spell by Emily Rodda and Lucinda Gifford (Illustrator)

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

Title: The Monstrous Devices Author: Damien Love Genre: Science Fiction, Adventure Publisher: Bloomsbury/Rock the Boat Published: 19th May 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A cinematic and original page-turner for fans of Indiana Jones and Alex Rider On a winter's day, twelve-year old Alex receives a package in the mail: an old tin… Continue reading The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love