adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, short stories, Speculative fiction

Blog Tour: Gorkle by Penny Macoun

Title: Blog Tour: Gorkle Author: Penny Macoun Genre: Science Fiction Publisher: Self-Published Published: 5th November 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 32 Price: $33.95 Synopsis: Gorkle is a gremlin who lives in cyberspace.  He doesn’t like where he lives, it’s a miserable place because there are no bright colours anywhere.  He likes the look of Earth.  He… Continue reading Blog Tour: Gorkle by Penny Macoun

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, Dystopia, Ella at Eden, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, Futuristic Fiction, Garth Nix, historical fiction, history, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, Meg Keneally, memoir, middle grade, Monsarrat Series, Natasha Lester, non-fiction, Picture Books, Pippa's Island, Publishers, quiz books, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

Challenge Completed – Dymocks Reading Challenge

The idea with this challenge was to read one book every two weeks – I managed to knock most of the categories out within a few months, and when going over the lists for each one Dymocks had on their website, I found out I could finish them with stuff I had already read. So… Continue reading Challenge Completed – Dymocks Reading Challenge

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, short stories

Tashi and the Stolen Forest by Anna Fienberg, Barbara Fienberg and Kim Gamble (illustrator)

Title: Tashi and the Stolen Forest Author: Anna Fienberg, Barbara Fienberg and Kim Gamble (illustrator) Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 3rd November 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 96 Price: $2.99 Synopsis: In this Australia Reads exclusive story, can Tashi use Much-to-Learn's spell to outsmart the Wicked Baron and stop the old forest from disappearing?… Continue reading Tashi and the Stolen Forest by Anna Fienberg, Barbara Fienberg and Kim Gamble (illustrator)

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, A Murder Most Unladylike, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, Kensy and Max, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, spies, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

October Wrap Up 2020

As we head into the pointy end of the year, I’ve had to make the decision to change the way I tackle challenges, doubling up where I can, and even thinking about reducing the challenges I take on next year, due to the overly prescriptive nature of the reading challenges that are available, and at… Continue reading October Wrap Up 2020

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, short stories

The Fire Wombat by Jackie French, illustrated by Danny Snell

Title: The Fire Wombat Author: Jackie French, illustrated by Danny Snell Genre: Survival stories, adventure Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 29th October 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: As the bushfire swallowed up the world they knew, a wombat shared her burrow with other animals. As the flames of the bushfire approach, one small… Continue reading The Fire Wombat by Jackie French, illustrated by Danny Snell

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

2020 CBCA Awards

Congrats to the winners! Such an achievement and great news for the local book industry.  Some great ideas for Christmas for the young readers in your lives! Announcement: The CBCA Awards for 2020 were announced today, and are as follows: CBCA Book of the Year 2020 winners announced 16 October 2020 The winners of the… Continue reading 2020 CBCA Awards

animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, short stories

Scary Bird by Michael Streich

Title: Scary Bird Author: Michael Streich Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: October 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: There’s a new bird in the aviary . . .and everyone’s in a flap!He’s strange and different . . . and SCARY!Will the scary bird ever feel at home with the others? A fresh… Continue reading Scary Bird by Michael Streich

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Around the World Supper Club, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Pippa's Island, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Rowland Sinclair, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, Sulari Gentill

Books and Bites Bingo Update Two

In the past four months, I have managed to fill in twenty out of twenty-five categories in Books and Bites Bingo with Monique Mulligan. I have a few of the others planned, and others I need to decide. I have three months to complete this and my other challenges and hope that I can make… Continue reading Books and Bites Bingo Update Two

#LoveOZMG, adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories

Rocky Lobstar #2: Time Travel Tangle by Rove McManus

Title: Rocky Lobstar #2: Time Travel Tangle Author: Rove McManus Genre: Humour Publisher: Scholastic Published: 1st August 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 192 Price: $14.99 • Synopsis: A NEW fiction series written AND illustrated by Australian actor and TV Personality ROVE McMANUS! • Hilarious tale of Rocky Lobstar—the star of Felidi’s Fabulous Sideshow Carnival! • Highly… Continue reading Rocky Lobstar #2: Time Travel Tangle by Rove McManus

adventure, animals, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Marshmallow Pie, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, short stories

Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar on TV by Clara Vulliamy

Title: Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar on TV Author: Clara Vulliamy Genre: Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Published: 5th August 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 128 Price: $9.99 Synopsis: The second book in the Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar series by Clara Vulliamy, the author-illustrator of Dotty Detective. Perfect for fans of Toto the Ninja Cat or The… Continue reading Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar on TV by Clara Vulliamy