animals, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

October, October by Katya Balen

Title: October, October Author: Katya Balen Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published:  29th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Katya Balen's October, October is a very special new addition to the shelf and deserves classic status - Times Children's Book of the WeekA classic in the making for anyone who ever longed to be WILD.October and her… Continue reading October, October by Katya Balen

#LoveOZMG, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Wolves of Greycoat Hall by Lucinda Gifford

Title: The Wolves of Greycoat Hall Author: Lucinda Gifford Genre: Fiction Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 2nd September 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 224 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A deliciously funny tale, with equally amusing illustrations, about being judged for what, rather than who, you are. When Boris and his parents learn that Scotland is re-introducing wolves,… Continue reading The Wolves of Greycoat Hall by Lucinda Gifford

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Books, check in post, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Aussie Kids: Meet Matilda at the Festival by Jacqueline de Rose-Ahern, and Tania McCartney

Title: Aussie Kids: Meet Matilda at the Festival Author: Jacqueline de Rose-Ahern, and Tania McCartney Genre: Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 1st September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 64 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Aussie Kids is an exciting new series for emerging readers 6-8 years. From a NSW Zoo to a Victorian lighthouse, or an outback sheep farm… Continue reading Aussie Kids: Meet Matilda at the Festival by Jacqueline de Rose-Ahern, and Tania McCartney

adventure, animals, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Marshmallow Pie, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, short stories

Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar on TV by Clara Vulliamy

Title: Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar on TV Author: Clara Vulliamy Genre: Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Published: 5th August 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 128 Price: $9.99 Synopsis: The second book in the Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar series by Clara Vulliamy, the author-illustrator of Dotty Detective. Perfect for fans of Toto the Ninja Cat or The… Continue reading Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar on TV by Clara Vulliamy

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Starfell

Starfell #2: Willow Moss and the Forgotten Tale by Dominique Valente

Title: Starfell #2: Willow Moss and the Forgotten Tale Author: Dominique Valente Genre: Fantasy Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 20th April 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The anticipated second book in 2019's breakout magical fantasy series, Starfell, starring misfit witch Willow Moss. Perfect for readers of 8+ and beautifully illustrated throughout by Sarah… Continue reading Starfell #2: Willow Moss and the Forgotten Tale by Dominique Valente

animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, short stories

Evie and Pog: Party Perfect by Tania McCartney

Title: Evie and Pog: Party Perfect Author: Tania McCartney Genre: Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 20th April 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 144 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: In the bestselling tradition of Ella and Olivia, comes a further book in a new series for early readers about best friends, Evie and Pog. High in a tree house… Continue reading Evie and Pog: Party Perfect by Tania McCartney

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Finding Eadie by Caroline Beecham

Title: Finding Eadie Author: Caroline Beecham Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 2nd July 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 368 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: The author of Maggie's Kitchen and Eleanor's Secret delivers another compelling story of love and mystery during wartime. London 1943: War and dwindling resources are taking their toll on the staff of Partridge Press. The… Continue reading Finding Eadie by Caroline Beecham

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

When Rain Turns to Snow by Jane Godwin

Title: When Rain Turns to Snow Author: Jane Godwin Genre: Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 30th June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 280 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A beautiful and timely coming-of-age story about finding out who you are in the face of crisis and change. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo, Fiona Wood and Emily Rodda.… Continue reading When Rain Turns to Snow by Jane Godwin

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Charlotte Barkla, check in post, Children's Literature, Edie's Experiments, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Edie’s Experiments: How to Make Friends by Charlotte Barkla

Title: Edie’s Experiments: How to Make Friends Author: Charlotte Barkla Genre: Fiction Publisher: Puffin Australia Published: 4th February 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A new school, a classroom full of potential new friends and a science kit. What could possibly go wrong? I’m Edie and I love science. So when I started… Continue reading Edie’s Experiments: How to Make Friends by Charlotte Barkla

Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Besties Make A Splash by Felice Arena and Tom Jellett

Title: The Besties Make A Splash Author: Felice Arena and Tom Jellett Genre: Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 28th April 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 80 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: From the author and illustrator of the popular Sporty Kids books comes an exciting new beginner-reader series that celebrates the everyday adventures – at school, at home, in… Continue reading The Besties Make A Splash by Felice Arena and Tom Jellett