#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Gus and the Starlight by Victoria Carless

Title: Gus and the Starlight Author: Victoria Carless Genre: Literary Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 4th May 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A spine-tingling and heart-warming story about friendship and finding your special place in the world. Gus doesn't want to make friends. She also doesn't want to be intrigued by the cat-lady… Continue reading Gus and the Starlight by Victoria Carless

#AussieAuthor2021, #AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Wherewithal Way, Young Adult

Seven Wherewithal Way by Samantha-Ellen Bound

Title: Seven Wherewithal Way Author: Samantha-Ellen Bound Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Affirm Press Published: 28th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Ferdinand fell out of the sky on the hottest day of the year, while Celeste and Esmerelda Barden were on the front porch eating ice-cream. Celeste is having the worst summer ever. Her… Continue reading Seven Wherewithal Way by Samantha-Ellen Bound

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Fairytales, Fantasy, Festivals, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, spies, The Girls Who Change the World, Tim Harris, Young Adult

My Reading Journey February 2022

In February I read thirty books and have almost completed my reading challenges. I’ve hit my target for the Aussie Author Reading Challenge. There are only a few books I haven’t reviewed – mostly books I have had to read for my work as a quiz writer haven’t been reviewed. I’ve read a variety of… Continue reading My Reading Journey February 2022

#AussieAuthors2022, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, short stories

Mary and Marcus: The Crazy Dance and Other Stories by Ursula Dubosarsky and Andrew Joyner

Title: Mary and Marcus: The Crazy Dance and Other Stories Author: Ursula Dubosarsky and Andrew Joyner Genre: Humour Publisher: HarperCollins Australia/ABC Books Published: 2nd March 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Hook them on reading for life, with the fully illustrated adventures of Mary and Marcus. Contains five hilarious and silly stories, perfect… Continue reading Mary and Marcus: The Crazy Dance and Other Stories by Ursula Dubosarsky and Andrew Joyner

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

When the War Came Home by Lesley Parr

Title: When the War Came Home Author: Lesley Parr Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st March 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: 12-year-old Natalie is furious when her mum, Ffion, loses her factory job for sticking up for workers' rights. Now they have to leave their home and go to stay at… Continue reading When the War Came Home by Lesley Parr

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Paris Takes Over the World: Welcome to New York, USA by Kyla May and Zanni Louise

Title: Paris Takes Over the World: Welcome to New York, USA Author: Kyla May and Zanni Louise Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st March 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 128 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Hi! I’m Paris. I write in my travel journal as I explore the world! Paris is off on a new adventure in… Continue reading Paris Takes Over the World: Welcome to New York, USA by Kyla May and Zanni Louise

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

Yesterday Crumb and the Storm in a Teacup by Andy Sagar

Title: Yesterday Crumb and the Storm in a Teacup Author: Andy Sagar Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Orion/Hachette Published: 22nd February 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 340 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: When strangeling girl Yesterday Crumb discovers a magical, walking teashop, she feels like she belongs for the first time - until her new life comes crashing down. With… Continue reading Yesterday Crumb and the Storm in a Teacup by Andy Sagar

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

13 Treasures by Michelle Harrison

Title: 13 Treasures Author: Michelle Harrison Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Simon and Schuster Published: 1st November 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Tanya has a secret. She can see fairies. But not the fairies we imagine. These fairies cast spells on her, rousing her from her sleep and propelling her out of bed.… Continue reading 13 Treasures by Michelle Harrison

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The School Between Winter and Fairyland by Heather Fawcett

Title: The School Between Winter and Fairyland Author: Heather Fawcett Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A spell-binding tale of magic, monsters and mystery, set in an enchanted boarding school. Full of suspense and exquisitely written, this is middle-grade fantasy at its best -… Continue reading The School Between Winter and Fairyland by Heather Fawcett

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment