#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Young Adult

April 2021 Round Up

In April, I read 17 books, mostly Australian, across various genres and issues and styles, aimed at different age groups. I read a lot for kids, from picture books to middle grade books, young adult and adult. I also chipped away at more of my challenges, and have extended my Aussie Author Challenge beyond the… Continue reading April 2021 Round Up

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Orion Published: 13th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Storm Keepers’ Battle by Catherine Doyle

Title: The Storm Keepers’ Battle Author: Catherine Doyle Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Fionn Boyle, Storm Keeper of Arranmore, is facing the fight of his life. The terrifying all- powerful sorceress Morrigan has been raised from the dead and has sealed off the island… Continue reading The Storm Keepers’ Battle by Catherine Doyle

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Grandest Bookshop in the World by Amelia Mellor

Title: The Grandest Bookshop in the World Author: Amelia Mellor Genre: Historical Fiction, Magical Realism Publisher: Affirm Press Published: 29th September 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 304 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Pearl and Vally Cole live in a bookshop. And not just any bookshop. In 1893, Cole’s Book Arcade in Melbourne is the grandest bookshop in the… Continue reading The Grandest Bookshop in the World by Amelia Mellor

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Dragon and her Boy by Penny Chrimes

Title: The Dragon and her Boy Author: Penny Chrimes Genre: Fantasy, Historical, Time slip Publisher: Hachette Australia/Orion Published: 23rd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: A story of the very last living dragon, stuck living in a tunnel under London, and the boy who unintentionally finds himself as her protector, perfect for… Continue reading The Dragon and her Boy by Penny Chrimes

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

The World Between Blinks by Amie Kaufman and Ryan Graudin

Title: The World Between Blinks Author: Amie Kaufman and Ryan Graudin Genre: Fantasy Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 10th February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Discover a magical world where lost things are found ... Whenever cousins Jake and Marisol get together, adventure follows. They have their late Nana to thank for that.… Continue reading The World Between Blinks by Amie Kaufman and Ryan Graudin

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Lost Tide Warriors by Catherine Doyle

Title: The Lost Tide Warriors Author: Catherine Doyle Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 3rd September 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: In the brilliant sequel to The Storm Keeper's Island, winner of the Books are My Bag Readers Award, Fionn Boyle finds himself at the heart of the fight for the island's survival.Fionn… Continue reading The Lost Tide Warriors by Catherine Doyle

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle

Title: The Storm Keeper’s Island Author: Catherine Doyle Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st August 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: WINNER OF THE BAMB YOUNG READERS – MIDDLE GRADE AWARD 2018WINNER OF THE INDEPENDENT BOOKSHOP WEEK BOOK AWARD 2019'Magical in every way' - EOIN COLFERWhen Fionn Boyle sets foot on Arranmore Island, it begins… Continue reading The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant

Title: The Hatmakers Author: Tamzin Merchant Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The first adventure in a spellbinding new magical world. Cordelia comes from a long line of magical milliners, who weave alchemy and enchantment into every hat. In Cordelia's world, Making - crafting items… Continue reading The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, Festivals, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

Title: The House at the Edge of Magic Author: Amy Sparkes Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 6th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A quirky, funny and fast-paced middle grade fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Kaye Umansky, Sophie Anderson and Peter Bunzl. Nine is an orphan pickpocket determined to… Continue reading The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes