adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Dragon and her Boy by Penny Chrimes

Title: The Dragon and her Boy Author: Penny Chrimes Genre: Fantasy, Historical, Time slip Publisher: Hachette Australia/Orion Published: 23rd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: A story of the very last living dragon, stuck living in a tunnel under London, and the boy who unintentionally finds himself as her protector, perfect for… Continue reading The Dragon and her Boy by Penny Chrimes

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

The World Between Blinks by Amie Kaufman and Ryan Graudin

Title: The World Between Blinks Author: Amie Kaufman and Ryan Graudin Genre: Fantasy Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 10th February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Discover a magical world where lost things are found ... Whenever cousins Jake and Marisol get together, adventure follows. They have their late Nana to thank for that.… Continue reading The World Between Blinks by Amie Kaufman and Ryan Graudin

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Lost Tide Warriors by Catherine Doyle

Title: The Lost Tide Warriors Author: Catherine Doyle Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 3rd September 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: In the brilliant sequel to The Storm Keeper's Island, winner of the Books are My Bag Readers Award, Fionn Boyle finds himself at the heart of the fight for the island's survival.Fionn… Continue reading The Lost Tide Warriors by Catherine Doyle

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle

Title: The Storm Keeper’s Island Author: Catherine Doyle Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st August 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: WINNER OF THE BAMB YOUNG READERS – MIDDLE GRADE AWARD 2018WINNER OF THE INDEPENDENT BOOKSHOP WEEK BOOK AWARD 2019'Magical in every way' - EOIN COLFERWhen Fionn Boyle sets foot on Arranmore Island, it begins… Continue reading The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant

Title: The Hatmakers Author: Tamzin Merchant Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The first adventure in a spellbinding new magical world. Cordelia comes from a long line of magical milliners, who weave alchemy and enchantment into every hat. In Cordelia's world, Making - crafting items… Continue reading The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, Festivals, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

Title: The House at the Edge of Magic Author: Amy Sparkes Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 6th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A quirky, funny and fast-paced middle grade fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Kaye Umansky, Sophie Anderson and Peter Bunzl. Nine is an orphan pickpocket determined to… Continue reading The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

The Good Hawk by Joseph Elliott

Title: The Good Hawk Author: Joseph Elliott Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 1st February 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 368 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A rich fantasy adventure trilogy, full of warring clans, deadly shadows and devastating plagues... If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back? Agatha patrols the sea… Continue reading The Good Hawk by Joseph Elliott

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, challenges, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Little Gem by Anna Zobel

Title: Little Gem Author: Anna Zobel Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 5th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: An adorable and charming new children's series that is a sparkling gem of a read for anyone who loves Polly and Buster or Mummy Fairy and Me! Sometimes getting a little lost can help you discover who… Continue reading Little Gem by Anna Zobel

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Christmas, classics, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Roald Dahl, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories

December 2020 Wrap Up post

December 2020 saw me reading my final 22 books for the year, bringing me to 239 for the year.  Of these books, three were rereads, and another was one that I chose not to review, and therefore not reviewed, and two were reviews that are for books coming out in January 2021 and will therefore… Continue reading December 2020 Wrap Up post

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Alice-Miranda, animals, Around the World Supper Club, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, Charlotte Barkla, check in post, Children's Literature, Cora Bell, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Edie's Experiments, Ella at Eden, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, House of Heroes, Jackie French, Jaclyn Moriarty, Jacqueline Harvey, Jinxed, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, Kensy and Max, Kingdoms and Empires Series, literary fiction, Matilda Saga, Maven and Reeve, Meg Keneally, memoir, middle grade, Miss Lily, Monsarrat Series, Monty's Island, non-fiction, Petra James, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Pippa's Island, poetry, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Rowland Sinclair, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction, spies, Sulari Gentill, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

Australian Women Writers Challenge wrap up post

I participated in the Australian Women Writer’s Challenge again in 2020 – with a goal of 65 books, and I managed to read 141, with two of those being re-reads. As much of this year was spent in lockdown or under restrictions, I had lots of time to read. I read just over double my… Continue reading Australian Women Writers Challenge wrap up post