adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

House of Dragons by Jessica Cluess

Title: House of Dragons Author: Jessica Cluess Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Penguin Random House Published: 16th June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 448 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Five royal houses will hear the call to compete in the Trial for the dragon throne. A liar, a soldier, a servant, a thief, and a murderer will answer it. Who… Continue reading House of Dragons by Jessica Cluess

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Alice-Miranda, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Charlotte Barkla, check in post, Crime/Mystery, Edie's Experiments, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, House of Heroes, Isolation Publicity, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Petra James, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

May 2020 Round Up

In May, we seemed to settle into a lockdown routine, so I got a bit more reading done. This month, I read 20 books – the vast majority of those – seventeen – were by Australian women writers – some for review, some my own reads and one or two that I read alongside Isolation… Continue reading May 2020 Round Up

Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Jane Austen, literary fiction, Lucy Worsley, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Austen Girls by Lucy Worsley

Title: The Austen Girls Author: Lucy Worsley Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books Published: 19th May 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: Would she ever find a real-life husband? Would she even find a partner to dance with at tonight's ball? She just didn't know. Anna Austen has always been told she… Continue reading The Austen Girls by Lucy Worsley

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

Title: The Monstrous Devices Author: Damien Love Genre: Science Fiction, Adventure Publisher: Bloomsbury/Rock the Boat Published: 19th May 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A cinematic and original page-turner for fans of Indiana Jones and Alex Rider On a winter's day, twelve-year old Alex receives a package in the mail: an old tin… Continue reading The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Interviews, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Isolation Publicity with Dr Anna Whateley

  Due to recent events, many Australian authors have had to cancel book launches and festival appearances. For some, this means new novels, series continuations and debut novels are heading into this scary, strange world without much publicity or attention. The good news is, you can still buy books – online or get your local… Continue reading Isolation Publicity with Dr Anna Whateley

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Christmas, Crime/Mystery, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Isolation Publicity, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

March 2020 Round Up

March was a strange month – it started out as normal as could be, though we knew about the coronavirus, and then a few weeks into March, everything changed, and by the end of it, they had changed again with strict social distancing rules. Despite this, I got a lot of reading done. My stats… Continue reading March 2020 Round Up

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

Books and Bites Book Bingo – A book with bad reviews: Trials of Apollo: The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan

In my tenth post for Books and Bites Book Bingo, I chose to mark off the square for a book with bad reviews. This was always going to be a subjective square – as all books are going to have good and bad reviews, so any book could really fit in here. Usually, the more… Continue reading Books and Bites Book Bingo – A book with bad reviews: Trials of Apollo: The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Book Industry, Books, literary fiction

Adelaide Festival Award for Literature

Several prizes and shortlists have been announced recently – and one award that has been given in the past week is the Adelaide Festival Award for Literature. A Media Release from Walker Books about this award and the book appears below: From Walker Books: MEDIA RELEASE Sarah Epstein wins Young Adult Fiction Award at Adelaide… Continue reading Adelaide Festival Award for Literature

#loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Clementine Rose, Ella at Eden, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Impossible Quest, Jaclyn Moriarty, Jacqueline Harvey, Kensy and Max, Kingdoms and Empires Series, literary fiction, middle grade, Nevermoor, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories

Podcasts about Kids Books

  As I have been listening to lots of podcasts lately – all of them Australian-based – many of them have been about books. Whilst most have been geared at adult reading, there are a few that are about kids’ books. I have already spoken about Middle Grade Mavens, and in this post I want… Continue reading Podcasts about Kids Books

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

Title: Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle Author: Rick Riordan Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 1st May 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 528 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: The first book in a breathtaking new series from Percy Jackson creator, Rick Riordan. How do you punish an immortal? By making him human. After angering his father Zeus, the… Continue reading Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan