#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Ella at Eden, Enola Holmes, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

August Round-Up 2021

August saw most of Australia back in lockdown due to the Delta variant of COVID, so it was a great month to get on top of my reading as much as I could. Between books for work and review, I read 29 books, and reviewed most of them. Again, most were by Australian authors, with… Continue reading August Round-Up 2021

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Raven Heir by Stephanie Burgis

Title: The Raven Heir Author: Stephanie Burgis Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: Cordelia and her triplets Rosalind and Giles have lived safely in the castle at the centre of the forest all their lives, protected by the spells their mother has woven. The… Continue reading The Raven Heir by Stephanie Burgis

#AussieAuthor2021, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

It’s Not You, It’s Me by Gabrielle Williams

Title: It’s Not You, It’s Me Author: Gabrielle Williams Genre: Time slip, historical fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A literally life-changing novel about time travel, soulmates and serial killers that asks a very big question: Can you ever change your fate? This is award-winning… Continue reading It’s Not You, It’s Me by Gabrielle Williams

#AussieAuthor2021, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, CBCA, classics, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta

Title: Looking for Alibrandi Author: Melina Marchetta Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Penguin/Puffin Published: 5th October 1992 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Multi-award-winning, a bestseller and made into an award-winning feature film, Looking for Alibrandi has become a modern classic. Melina Marchetta's stunning debut novel Looking for Alibrandi is one girl's story of her final year at school, a year she sets herself… Continue reading Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta

#AussieAuthor2021, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Young Adult

Skin Deep by Hayley Lawrence

Title: Skin Deep Author: Hayley Lawrence Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: Scarlett was gifted with beauty. But beauty can be taken in a day, in a single moment, by one car fire. Now permanently scarred, Scarlett has become a smudge in her… Continue reading Skin Deep by Hayley Lawrence

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Shadow Arts by Damien Love

Title: The Shadow Arts Author: Damien Love Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Bloomsbury/Rock the Boat Published: 2nd July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 160 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: "The thrilling sequel to Monstrous Devices–Alex and his grandfather hold the fate of history itself in their hands in a Rick Riordan meets Raiders of the Lost Ark adventure of… Continue reading The Shadow Arts by Damien Love

#AussieAuthor2021, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Lanternist by Author: Stephen Orr, illustrated by Timothy Ide

Title: The Lanternist The Lanternist by Stephen Orr Author: Stephen Orr, illustrated by Timothy Ide Genre: Historical Fiction/Mystery Publisher: MidnightSun Publishing Published: 3rd July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: 1901. The slide clunks into the lantern, and Phantoms come alive on the wall. The father-and-son Magic Lantern team of Bert and Tom… Continue reading The Lanternist by Author: Stephen Orr, illustrated by Timothy Ide

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, middle grade, non-fiction, Pamela Hart, Picture Books, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

May 2021 Round Up

Current stats: Modern Mrs Darcy – 13/14 Australian Authors Challenge – 24/24 (47) AWW2021 – 75/50 Dymocks Reading Challenge – 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge – 24/26 Overall goal – 122/170 In May, I managed to read 36 books, with a vast majority by Australian authors, and have almost finished my reading challenges – with a… Continue reading May 2021 Round Up

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, history, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Shackleton’s Endurance: An Antarctic Survival Story by Joanna Grochowicz

Title: Shackleton’s Endurance: An Antarctic Survival Story Author: Joanna Grochowicz Genre: History, Non-Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 4th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Ernest Shackleton's remarkable story is a terrifying adventure with the happiest of endings - another brilliant narrative non-fiction Antarctic adventure featuring an explorer who was a true… Continue reading Shackleton’s Endurance: An Antarctic Survival Story by Joanna Grochowicz