#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, Ella at Eden, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Jacqueline Harvey, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Meg Keneally, memoir, middle grade, Monsarrat Series, mythology, Natasha Lester, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Rowland Sinclair, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, Sulari Gentill, The Nerd Daily, Young Adult

The Nerd Daily 2020 Challenge – completed, sort of

One of the challenges I took part in this year was The Nerd Daily Challenge with 52 prompts – one for each week of the year. As with some of my other challenges, I did use the same book a couple of times, especially towards the end of the year when I knew I wasn’t… Continue reading The Nerd Daily 2020 Challenge – completed, sort of

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Lost Soul Atlas by Zana Fraillon

Title: The Lost Soul Atlas Author: Zana Fraillon Genre: Fiction Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Published: 14th July 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A powerful story of hope and friendship, from the author of The Bone Sparrow. Loyalty is tested, and a cruel twist of fate leads to an act of ultimate betrayal in this epic… Continue reading The Lost Soul Atlas by Zana Fraillon

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, humour, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

You Were Made for Me by Jenna Guillaume

Title: You Were Made for Me Author: Jenna Guillaume Genre: Fiction Publisher: Pan Macmillan Published: 11th August 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: The day I created a boy started out like any other.Katie didn't mean to create a boy. A boy like a long-lost Hemsworth brother: six-foot tall with floppy hair and… Continue reading You Were Made for Me by Jenna Guillaume

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Young Adult

Bianca de Lumiere by Lisette Prende

Title: Bianca de Lumiere Author: Lisette Prende Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Self-published Published: 8th August 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 300 Price: NZ$25.00 Synopsis: “Why can’t I just be a normal teenager?” “Oh Bee, there’s no such thing as a normal teenager.” “There’s gotta be something more normal than all of this!” Sixteen-year-old Bianca Taylor just wants to be… Continue reading Bianca de Lumiere by Lisette Prende

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

House of Dragons by Jessica Cluess

Title: House of Dragons Author: Jessica Cluess Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Penguin Random House Published: 16th June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 448 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Five royal houses will hear the call to compete in the Trial for the dragon throne. A liar, a soldier, a servant, a thief, and a murderer will answer it. Who… Continue reading House of Dragons by Jessica Cluess

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Alice-Miranda, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Charlotte Barkla, check in post, Crime/Mystery, Edie's Experiments, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, House of Heroes, Isolation Publicity, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Petra James, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

May 2020 Round Up

In May, we seemed to settle into a lockdown routine, so I got a bit more reading done. This month, I read 20 books – the vast majority of those – seventeen – were by Australian women writers – some for review, some my own reads and one or two that I read alongside Isolation… Continue reading May 2020 Round Up

Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Jane Austen, literary fiction, Lucy Worsley, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Austen Girls by Lucy Worsley

Title: The Austen Girls Author: Lucy Worsley Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books Published: 19th May 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: Would she ever find a real-life husband? Would she even find a partner to dance with at tonight's ball? She just didn't know. Anna Austen has always been told she… Continue reading The Austen Girls by Lucy Worsley

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

Title: The Monstrous Devices Author: Damien Love Genre: Science Fiction, Adventure Publisher: Bloomsbury/Rock the Boat Published: 19th May 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A cinematic and original page-turner for fans of Indiana Jones and Alex Rider On a winter's day, twelve-year old Alex receives a package in the mail: an old tin… Continue reading The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Interviews, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Isolation Publicity with Dr Anna Whateley

  Due to recent events, many Australian authors have had to cancel book launches and festival appearances. For some, this means new novels, series continuations and debut novels are heading into this scary, strange world without much publicity or attention. The good news is, you can still buy books – online or get your local… Continue reading Isolation Publicity with Dr Anna Whateley

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Christmas, Crime/Mystery, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Isolation Publicity, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

March 2020 Round Up

March was a strange month – it started out as normal as could be, though we knew about the coronavirus, and then a few weeks into March, everything changed, and by the end of it, they had changed again with strict social distancing rules. Despite this, I got a lot of reading done. My stats… Continue reading March 2020 Round Up