#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Housemate by Sarah Bailey

Title: The Housemate Author: Sarah Bailey Genre: Crime Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 464 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: The new standalone thriller from the award-winning writer of the bestselling Gemma Woodstock trilogy: The Dark Lake, Into the Night and Where the Dead Go.Three housemates. One dead, one missing and one accused of murder.Dubbed the… Continue reading The Housemate by Sarah Bailey

animals, Book Industry, Books, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, short stories

Who Sleuthed It? Edited by Lindy Cameron

Title:  Who Sleuthed It? Author: Edited by Lindy Cameron Genre: Crime Publisher: Clan Destine Press Published: August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 340 Price: $29.95 Synopsis: Who Sleuthed It? is the book you want when you want a book about animals helping their animal friends – or their human sidekicks – solve a host of diabolical crimes… Continue reading Who Sleuthed It? Edited by Lindy Cameron

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

What Zola did on Friday by Author: Melina Marchetta, illustrated by Deb Hudson

Title: What Zola did on Friday Author: Melina Marchetta, illustrated by Deb Hudson Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Puffin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 96 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: From the author of Looking for Alibrandi comes this gorgeous series to engage and entertain newly independent young readers. A wonderful children’s series celebrating community, friendship and kindness from… Continue reading What Zola did on Friday by Author: Melina Marchetta, illustrated by Deb Hudson

#AussieAuthor2021, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Drover by Neridah McMullin, illustrated by Sarah Anthony

Title: Drover Author: Neridah McMullin, illustrated by Sarah Anthony Genre: History Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 8th September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $26.99 Synopsis: The true story of an important pioneering woman in Australian history. Courageous, clever and daring, Drover is one of a kind. Travelling through the heart of the outback, Drover… Continue reading Drover by Neridah McMullin, illustrated by Sarah Anthony

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Wattle Island Book Club by Sandie Docker

Title: The Wattle Island Book Club Author: Sandie Docker Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Penguin/Michael Joseph Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: Price: $32.99 Synopsis: From the best-selling author of The Banksia Bay Beach Shack comes a moving and heart-warming story about finding a new lease on life. Spanning over seventy years, we follow the lives… Continue reading The Wattle Island Book Club by Sandie Docker

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Completed

Another challenge completed! I completed this one a few weeks ago, and my original post about it is here. This was the build your own challenge from lists of prompts from previous iterations of this challenge and I have to say, it was a really good one as there was a lot less pressure to… Continue reading Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Completed

#AussieAuthor2021, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Coco and the Bee by Laura Bunting, illustrated by Nicky Johnston

Title: Coco and the Bee Author: Laura Bunting, illustrated by Nicky Johnston Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 48 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Book three in a delightful new series by Laura Bunting, in stunning large format hardback, embossed. Irresistible and adorable illustrations by Nicky Johnston. Destined to be every… Continue reading Coco and the Bee by Laura Bunting, illustrated by Nicky Johnston

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Ella at Eden, Enola Holmes, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

August Round-Up 2021

August saw most of Australia back in lockdown due to the Delta variant of COVID, so it was a great month to get on top of my reading as much as I could. Between books for work and review, I read 29 books, and reviewed most of them. Again, most were by Australian authors, with… Continue reading August Round-Up 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

School of Fish: Frozen Fish by Louis Shea

Title: School of Fish: Frozen Fish Author: Louis Shea Genre: Graphic Novel Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 128 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: Brand new graphic novel by Louis Shea. Bright, funny, full colour illustration. Graphic novel format for ages 6+. Hilarious illustrations by the illustrator of There Was an Old Lady… Continue reading School of Fish: Frozen Fish by Louis Shea