#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Golden Tower

Title: The Golden Tower Author: Belinda Murrell Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fiction/Time slip Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: In her wildest dreams, Sophie never thought she might be kidnapped by a cat and taken to a world of flying horses and wonder – but also magic, mystery and danger!… Continue reading The Golden Tower

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Monty's Island, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy

January 2021 Wrap Up

In January 2021, I read fifteen books, and reviewed seventeen – two were read in 2020 but only due for publication in early January. Of these books, most were Australian authors, and one was by a male author, whilst another was a collaboration with a woman and a man. Many were kids’ books, as this… Continue reading January 2021 Wrap Up

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle

Title: The Storm Keeper’s Island Author: Catherine Doyle Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st August 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: WINNER OF THE BAMB YOUNG READERS – MIDDLE GRADE AWARD 2018WINNER OF THE INDEPENDENT BOOKSHOP WEEK BOOK AWARD 2019'Magical in every way' - EOIN COLFERWhen Fionn Boyle sets foot on Arranmore Island, it begins… Continue reading The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant

Title: The Hatmakers Author: Tamzin Merchant Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The first adventure in a spellbinding new magical world. Cordelia comes from a long line of magical milliners, who weave alchemy and enchantment into every hat. In Cordelia's world, Making - crafting items… Continue reading The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, Festivals, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

Title: The House at the Edge of Magic Author: Amy Sparkes Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 6th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A quirky, funny and fast-paced middle grade fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Kaye Umansky, Sophie Anderson and Peter Bunzl. Nine is an orphan pickpocket determined to… Continue reading The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, The Modern Mrs Darcy

The Forest of Moon and Sword by Amy Raphael

Title: The Forest of Moon and Sword Author: Amy Raphael Genre: Historical fiction, Adventure Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Australia Published: 12th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 300 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: When Art's mother is accused of witchcraft and captured, she is determined to get her back - at any cost. A lyrical adventure with folklore at its… Continue reading The Forest of Moon and Sword by Amy Raphael

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

The Werewolves Who Weren’t by T.C. Shelley

Title: The Werewolves Who Weren’t Author: T.C. Shelley Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 29th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: The magical follow-up to The Monster Who Wasn't. The second book in this brilliantly rich and strange fantasy series will make us all believe in monsters – be they good, bad or somewhere in between.Sam… Continue reading The Werewolves Who Weren’t by T.C. Shelley

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The Boy, the Wolf and the Stars by Shivaun Plozza

Title: The Boy, the Wolf and the Stars Author: Shivaun Plozza Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 20th October 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The Boy, the Wolf and the Stars is a sweeping, timeless adventure, an introduction to a brilliant new world with the feel of an instant classic. Every night Ulv is… Continue reading The Boy, the Wolf and the Stars by Shivaun Plozza

#loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Garth Nix, historical fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Left-Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

Title: The Left-Handed Booksellers of London Author: Garth Nix Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 29th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: From the bestselling author of Angel Mage, this new fantasy adventure set in 1980s London follows one girl's quest to find her father, leading her to a secret society of… Continue reading The Left-Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Jaclyn Moriarty, Junior Fiction, Kingdoms and Empires Series, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

The Stolen Prince of Cloudburst (A Kingdoms and Empires Book #3) by Jaclyn Moriarty

Title: The Stolen Prince of Cloudburst (A Kingdoms and Empires Book #3) Author: Jaclyn Moriarty Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 29th September 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 544 Price: $22.99 Synopsis: A magical tale of mystery and adventure that proves that sometimes even ordinary middle children can be heroes, from the bestselling author of The… Continue reading The Stolen Prince of Cloudburst (A Kingdoms and Empires Book #3) by Jaclyn Moriarty