#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Little Gem and the Mysterious Letters by Anna Zobel

Title: Little Gem and the Mysterious Letters Little Gem and the Mysterious Letters by Anna Zobel Author: Anna Zobel Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: An adorable and charming new story about everyone's favourite witch Little Gem. A sparkling gem of a read for anyone who… Continue reading Little Gem and the Mysterious Letters by Anna Zobel

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Pet Sitters: Purple Panic by Ella Shine

Title: Pet Sitters: Purple Panic Author: Ella Shine Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Puddle Dog Press Published: November 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 60 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Two pet sitters. One talking cat. What could possibly go wrong? Princess Gina’s owner is very fussy but Cassie and Lina think they’ll be able to care for her guinea… Continue reading Pet Sitters: Purple Panic by Ella Shine

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Eliza Vanda’s Button Box by Emily Rodda

Title: Eliza Vanda’s Button Box Author: Emily Rodda Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 5th May 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 288 Price: $22.99 Synopsis: From the author of the award-winning His Name was Walter comes another magical mystery story that will delight Emily Rodda fans. Buttons three, attend to me! Take me where I want to… Continue reading Eliza Vanda’s Button Box by Emily Rodda

Book Industry, Books, challenges, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Dark Lady by Akala

Title: The Dark Lady Author: Akala Genre: Magical Realism, Historical Fiction Publisher: Hodder/Hachette Australia Published: 27th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A natural storyteller with a vision of his own, The Dark Lady, Akala's debut novel for teens will enthuse and entertain teenagers and young adults, showing that reading is a true… Continue reading The Dark Lady by Akala

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Orion Published: 13th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Storm Keepers’ Battle by Catherine Doyle

Title: The Storm Keepers’ Battle Author: Catherine Doyle Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Fionn Boyle, Storm Keeper of Arranmore, is facing the fight of his life. The terrifying all- powerful sorceress Morrigan has been raised from the dead and has sealed off the island… Continue reading The Storm Keepers’ Battle by Catherine Doyle

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Golden Tower by Belinda Murrell

Title: The Golden Tower Author: Belinda Murrell Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fiction/Time slip Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: In her wildest dreams, Sophie never thought she might be kidnapped by a cat and taken to a world of flying horses and wonder – but also magic, mystery and danger!… Continue reading The Golden Tower by Belinda Murrell

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Monty's Island, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy

January 2021 Wrap Up

In January 2021, I read fifteen books, and reviewed seventeen – two were read in 2020 but only due for publication in early January. Of these books, most were Australian authors, and one was by a male author, whilst another was a collaboration with a woman and a man. Many were kids’ books, as this… Continue reading January 2021 Wrap Up

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle

Title: The Storm Keeper’s Island Author: Catherine Doyle Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st August 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: WINNER OF THE BAMB YOUNG READERS – MIDDLE GRADE AWARD 2018WINNER OF THE INDEPENDENT BOOKSHOP WEEK BOOK AWARD 2019'Magical in every way' - EOIN COLFERWhen Fionn Boyle sets foot on Arranmore Island, it begins… Continue reading The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant

Title: The Hatmakers Author: Tamzin Merchant Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The first adventure in a spellbinding new magical world. Cordelia comes from a long line of magical milliners, who weave alchemy and enchantment into every hat. In Cordelia's world, Making - crafting items… Continue reading The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant