Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, check in post, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Natasha Lester, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Book Bingo Ten 2020 – Set During A Time of War

And just like that, it is October, and Theresa, Amanda and I each have two posts left after this one. Sometimes, we choose the same square, and sometimes we choose the same book or books by the same author, even in our regular reviewing. We seem to have very similar tastes, which makes discussing the… Continue reading Book Bingo Ten 2020 – Set During A Time of War

Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Wild Way Home by Sophie Kirtley

Title: The Wild Way Home Author: Sophie Kirtley Genre: Historical Fiction, Time Slip Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 15th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: When Charlie's longed-for brother is born with a serious heart condition, Charlie's world is turned upside down. Upset and afraid, Charlie flees the hospital and makes for the… Continue reading The Wild Way Home by Sophie Kirtley

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Around the World Supper Club, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Pippa's Island, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Rowland Sinclair, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, Sulari Gentill

Books and Bites Bingo Update Two

In the past four months, I have managed to fill in twenty out of twenty-five categories in Books and Bites Bingo with Monique Mulligan. I have a few of the others planned, and others I need to decide. I have three months to complete this and my other challenges and hope that I can make… Continue reading Books and Bites Bingo Update Two

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Book Bingo Nine 2020 – Themes of Culture

For September’s Book Bingo with Amanda and Theresa, I am marking off the themes of culture square with The Republic of Birds by Jessica Miller and can report that the first row down has hit BINGO. Themes of culture was always going to be an open topic as well – there are so many ways… Continue reading Book Bingo Nine 2020 – Themes of Culture

Book Industry, Books, challenges, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

A Girl Made of Air by Nydia Hetherington

Title: A Girl Made of Air Author: Nydia Hetherington Genre: Historical Fiction, Folklore, Myth, Magical Realism Publisher: Hachette/Quercus Published: 8th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 376 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A lyrical debut packed with myth, magic and folklore, perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern and Angela Carter 'A captivating tale of love and loss and… Continue reading A Girl Made of Air by Nydia Hetherington

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, historical fiction, history, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Daughter of Victory Lights by Kerri Turner

Title: The Daughter of Victory Lights Author: Kerri Turner Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Published: 20th January 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: An enthralling story of one woman's determined grab for freedom after WW2 from a talented new Australian voice. ‘PART CABARET, PART BURLESQUE, AND LIKE NOTHING YOU'VE EVER SEEN BEFORE! GENTLEMEN,… Continue reading The Daughter of Victory Lights by Kerri Turner

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

Literary Tourism: Travel in the Time of COVID

Once upon a time, the world was filled with people travelling across the world, from country to country, and basking in a variety of cultures and experiences. But one day, a nasty virus came and shut everything down. We had to hide away inside, and watch the world slowly change. When this travelling stopped so… Continue reading Literary Tourism: Travel in the Time of COVID

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Charlotte Barkla, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Edie's Experiments, Ella at Eden, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, Monty's Island, mythology, non-fiction, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily, Tim Harris, Toffle Towers

July 2020 Wrap Up

In July, I read twenty-two books, and have managed to complete my Australian Women Writer’s Challenge – which I am still going with, and my Book Bingo Challenge. All those posts are written and scheduled, as are several others for reviews and my isolation publicity series, which ends on the twenty-first of this month. I’ve… Continue reading July 2020 Wrap Up

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Schoolmaster’s Daughter by Jackie French

Title: The Schoolmaster’s Daughter Author: Jackie French Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 18th May 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Drawing on her own family history, this is a story from Jackie French about education in Colonial Australia - and how women once had to fight for their right to it.… Continue reading The Schoolmaster’s Daughter by Jackie French

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Beyond Belief by Dee White

Title: Beyond Belief Author: Dee White Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st April 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 264 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Inspired by the true story of Muslims who saved the lives of Jewish children in the Second World War. In 1942, in the Grand Mosque in Paris, 11-year-old Ruben is hiding from… Continue reading Beyond Belief by Dee White