#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Boy Who Stepped Through Time by Anna Ciddor

Title: The Boy Who Stepped Through Time Author: Anna Ciddor Genre: Historical Fiction/Time Slip Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 2nd June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: An accidental trip back to the Roman Empire sets off a race against time to save a friendship - and a life. A thrilling time-slip adventure… Continue reading The Boy Who Stepped Through Time by Anna Ciddor

#AussieAuthor2021, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Macca the Backpacker by Matt Cosgrove

Title: Macca the Backpacker Macca the Backpacker by Matt Cosgrove Author: Matt Cosgrove Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Macca the Alpaca dreams of exploring, so he packs his backpack and sets off on a mountain adventure. But when the going gets tough, how will… Continue reading Macca the Backpacker by Matt Cosgrove

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Little Gem and the Mysterious Letters by Anna Zobel

Title: Little Gem and the Mysterious Letters Little Gem and the Mysterious Letters by Anna Zobel Author: Anna Zobel Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: An adorable and charming new story about everyone's favourite witch Little Gem. A sparkling gem of a read for anyone who… Continue reading Little Gem and the Mysterious Letters by Anna Zobel

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Lightning Catcher by Clare Weze

Title: The Lightning Catcher Author: Clare Weze Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 18th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Alfie has noticed a few things since his family moved to Folding Ford. He really misses life in the city. He and his sister don't exactly fit in here. But the… Continue reading The Lightning Catcher by Clare Weze

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, history, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Shackleton’s Endurance: An Antarctic Survival Story by Joanna Grochowicz

Title: Shackleton’s Endurance: An Antarctic Survival Story Author: Joanna Grochowicz Genre: History, Non-Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 4th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Ernest Shackleton's remarkable story is a terrifying adventure with the happiest of endings - another brilliant narrative non-fiction Antarctic adventure featuring an explorer who was a true… Continue reading Shackleton’s Endurance: An Antarctic Survival Story by Joanna Grochowicz

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Young Adult

April 2021 Round Up

In April, I read 17 books, mostly Australian, across various genres and issues and styles, aimed at different age groups. I read a lot for kids, from picture books to middle grade books, young adult and adult. I also chipped away at more of my challenges, and have extended my Aussie Author Challenge beyond the… Continue reading April 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, challenges, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Night Ride into Danger by Jackie French

Title: Night Ride into Danger Author: Jackie French Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 5th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Six mysterious passengers and seven dark secrets. Who can be trusted? It's a dark and dangerous journey for the Cobb and Co night mail coach, but when his coach-driver father… Continue reading Night Ride into Danger by Jackie French

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows by Denis Knight and Cristy Burne

Title: Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows Author: Denis Knight and Cristy Burne Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Lothian Children’s Books Published: 27th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 250 Price: $16.99 Synopsis:  A seriously smart and funny new series about a reluctant sorcerer's apprentice who would rather study science than magic, which asks the question: In… Continue reading Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows by Denis Knight and Cristy Burne

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Orion Published: 13th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, short stories

200 Minutes of Mystery by Jack Heath

Title: 200 Minutes of Mystery Author: Jack Heath Genre: Mystery Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 144 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: The next instalment in Jack Heath’s best-selling Minutes of Danger series 10 death-defying short stories, each with a mystery to solve in 20* minutes of reading timeEach story counts down from… Continue reading 200 Minutes of Mystery by Jack Heath