Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, history, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Husband Poisoner: Suburban Women Who Killed in Post-World War II Sydney by Tanya Bretherton

Title: The Husband Poisoner: Suburban Women Who Killed in Post-World War II Sydney Author: Tanya Bretherton Genre: History, True Crime Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 23rd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 310 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Shocking real-life stories of murderous women who used rat poison to rid themselves of husbands and other inconvenient family members. For… Continue reading The Husband Poisoner: Suburban Women Who Killed in Post-World War II Sydney by Tanya Bretherton

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

The Holocaust: A Chronicle of History and Hope by Hugh Dolan, illustrated by Adrian Barbu

Title: The Holocaust: A Chronicle of History and Hope Author: Hugh Dolan, illustrated by Adrian Barbu Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Press Australia Published: 1st April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 80 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Age 9+ ·  Powerful, moving, graphic novel ·  Personal stories against a broad historical context ·  Incorporates original images and documents… Continue reading The Holocaust: A Chronicle of History and Hope by Hugh Dolan, illustrated by Adrian Barbu

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Heroes of the Secret Underground by Susanne Gervay

Title: Heroes of the Secret Underground Author: Susanne Gervay Genre: Historical Fiction, time slip Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 7th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A timely and powerful time-slip story inspired by the author's family in Budapest during the Holocaust Louie lives with her brothers, Bert and Teddy, in a hotel… Continue reading Heroes of the Secret Underground by Susanne Gervay

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, literary fiction, Miss Lily, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, spies

Legends of the Lost Lilies by Jackie French

Title: Legends of the Lost Lilies Author: Jackie French Genre: Historical Fiction, Thriller, Espionage Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 7th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 448 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: The final and thrilling conclusion to the popular and bestselling Miss Lily series A mysterious telegram that says, 'Lily needs you' arrives just before a plane from… Continue reading Legends of the Lost Lilies by Jackie French

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Vanishing at the Small Castle (The Butter O’Bryan Mysteries #2) by Jackie French

Title: The Vanishing at the Small Castle (The Butter O’Bryan Mysteries #2) Author: Jackie French Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 7th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: It's 1932, the height of the Depression, and Butter O'Bryan and his friends have another mystery to solve. The Very Small Castle… Continue reading The Vanishing at the Small Castle (The Butter O’Bryan Mysteries #2) by Jackie French

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, biography, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

March 2021 Round Up

https://ashleighmeikle.com.au/2021/03/11/firewatcher-3-vigil-by-kelly-gardiner/ In March 2021, I managed to read 21 books, despite being away for the first ten days of the month for a wedding. Most were by Australian authors – 17 out of 21, and 14 were by Australian Women. I also completed my Aussie Author Challenge this month, and decided to extend to the… Continue reading March 2021 Round Up

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Last Reunion by Kayte Nunn

Title: The Last Reunion Author: Kayte Nunn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 31st March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 370 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Five women come together at a New Year's Eve party after decades apart, in this thrilling story of desire, revenge and courage, based on a brave group of Australian and British… Continue reading The Last Reunion by Kayte Nunn

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The French Gift by Kirsty Manning

Title: The French Gift Author: Kirsty Manning Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 328 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A World War II story of female friendship, longing and sacrifice through war and loss, bringing together the present and the past. 'Kirsty Manning has delivered yet again with this… Continue reading The French Gift by Kirsty Manning

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Phryne Fisher, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, short stories

The Lady with the Gun Asks the Questions by Kerry Greenwood

Title: The Lady with the Gun Asks the Questions Author: Kerry Greenwood Genre: Crime, short stories Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The elegant Miss Phryne Fisher returns in this scintillating collection, which features four brand-new stories. The Honourable Phryne Fisher - she of the Lulu… Continue reading The Lady with the Gun Asks the Questions by Kerry Greenwood

animals, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Zookeeper of Belfast by S. Kirk Walsh

Title: The Zookeeper of Belfast Author: S. Kirk Walsh Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette/Hodder and Stoughton Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A stunning World War Two novel for fans of Natasha Lester, Heather Morris, Kate Furnivall, Mandy Robotham, based on a true story. As the bombs rain down on… Continue reading The Zookeeper of Belfast by S. Kirk Walsh