#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Completed

Another challenge completed! I completed this one a few weeks ago, and my original post about it is here. This was the build your own challenge from lists of prompts from previous iterations of this challenge and I have to say, it was a really good one as there was a lot less pressure to… Continue reading Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Completed

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Ella at Eden, Enola Holmes, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

August Round-Up 2021

August saw most of Australia back in lockdown due to the Delta variant of COVID, so it was a great month to get on top of my reading as much as I could. Between books for work and review, I read 29 books, and reviewed most of them. Again, most were by Australian authors, with… Continue reading August Round-Up 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Song of Lewis Carmichael by Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride

Title: The Song of Lewis Carmichael Author: Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 192 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A beautiful, illustrated adventure story with a classic feel, about a quiet boy and a talking crow on an extraordinary hot-air balloon ride to… Continue reading The Song of Lewis Carmichael by Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride

#AussieAuthor2021, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

It’s Not You, It’s Me by Gabrielle Williams

Title: It’s Not You, It’s Me Author: Gabrielle Williams Genre: Time slip, historical fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A literally life-changing novel about time travel, soulmates and serial killers that asks a very big question: Can you ever change your fate? This is award-winning… Continue reading It’s Not You, It’s Me by Gabrielle Williams

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, Time Catchers

When Days Tilt (Time Catchers #1) by Karen Ginnane

Title: When Days Tilt (Time Catchers #1) Author: Karen Ginnane Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fictionm Publisher: Penguin Random House Published: 2nd July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Magic, mystery, and darkness – a gripping fantasy adventure for lovers of Philip Pullman’s Northern Lights. In this page-turning debut, one girl must figure out why she is… Continue reading When Days Tilt (Time Catchers #1) by Karen Ginnane

#AussieAuthor2021, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, CBCA, classics, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta

Title: Looking for Alibrandi Author: Melina Marchetta Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Penguin/Puffin Published: 5th October 1992 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Multi-award-winning, a bestseller and made into an award-winning feature film, Looking for Alibrandi has become a modern classic. Melina Marchetta's stunning debut novel Looking for Alibrandi is one girl's story of her final year at school, a year she sets herself… Continue reading Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta

#AussieAuthor2021, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Sugar Town Queens by Malla Nunn

Title: Sugar Town Queens Author: Malla Nunn Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 3rd August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 312 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: From the award-winning author of the CBCA shortlisted When the Ground is Hard, comes a stunning portrait of a family divided and an uplifting story of how friendship saves and heals. Fifteen-year-old… Continue reading Sugar Town Queens by Malla Nunn

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, A Murder Most Unladylike, A.L. Tait, adventure, Alice-Miranda, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Maven and Reeve, middle grade, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

Reading Round Up July 2021

July saw me head back to my job as a quiz writer, which I do from home. This means more reading, and like my reviewing, can see me reading books ahead of release as I work to get resources ready for the upcoming school term. This means more books will be read each month, but… Continue reading Reading Round Up July 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Young Adult

Skin Deep by Hayley Lawrence

Title: Skin Deep Author: Hayley Lawrence Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: Scarlett was gifted with beauty. But beauty can be taken in a day, in a single moment, by one car fire. Now permanently scarred, Scarlett has become a smudge in her… Continue reading Skin Deep by Hayley Lawrence