#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

2020 CBCA Awards

Congrats to the winners! Such an achievement and great news for the local book industry.  Some great ideas for Christmas for the young readers in your lives! Announcement: The CBCA Awards for 2020 were announced today, and are as follows: CBCA Book of the Year 2020 winners announced 16 October 2020 The winners of the… Continue reading 2020 CBCA Awards

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain by Jo Simmons

Title: I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain Author: Jo Simmons Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons, this is a new hilarious adventure from the creative team behind the bestselling I Swapped My Brother On The Internet.Keith has entered… Continue reading I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain by Jo Simmons

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Around the World Supper Club, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Christmas, Cressida Cowell, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Garth Nix, historical fiction, history, humour, Jaclyn Moriarty, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, Kensy and Max, Kingdoms and Empires Series, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, Nevermoor, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Wizards of Once

September 2020 Wrap up

In September, I read 23 books -ten were by Australian women, one checked off another box in Books and Bites Bingo and reviewed all books on this list. I’m slowly moving through my challenges, getting to some categories that are a bit more of a challenge, in finding the books to fit them. This month,… Continue reading September 2020 Wrap up

animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Stupid Carrots by David Campbell, illustrated by Daron Parton

Title: Stupid Carrots Author: David Campbell, illustrated by Daron Parton Genre: Picture Book, fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: October 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: First children’s book by well-known TV presenter and performing artist, David Campbell! Betty Bunny is HANGRY! But she really, really doesn’t want to eat carrots!A very funny and… Continue reading Stupid Carrots by David Campbell, illustrated by Daron Parton

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Verse novels

Pirate Stew by Neil Gaiman, and illustrated by Chris Riddell

Title: Pirate Stew Author: Neil Gaiman, and illustrated by Chris Riddell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st October 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 48 Price: $22.99 Synopsis: Meet LONG JOHN McRON, SHIP'S COOK . . . and the most unusual babysitter you've ever seen.Long John has a whole crew of wild pirates in tow, and –… Continue reading Pirate Stew by Neil Gaiman, and illustrated by Chris Riddell

animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Grump by Jonathon Bentley (also illustrator)

Title: Grump Author: Jonathon Bentley (also illustrator) Genre: Fiction, picture book Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published:  October 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Hilarious story of a teddy bear tyrant . . . and the cat on his head who’s had enough! A great cautionary tale that demonstrates how bad behaviour is unacceptable and… Continue reading Grump by Jonathon Bentley (also illustrator)

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Bad Guys Episode 12: The One? by Aaron Blabey

Title: Bad Guys Episode 12: The One? Author: Aaron Blabey Genre: Humour Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st October 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 192 Price: $15.99 Synopsis:  Seriously, what is going on with Snake? Terrifying powers! Evil allies! Interdimensional Doorways! What is his deal? And that’s not all! Why is Agent Fox suddenly so mysterious? Who… Continue reading Bad Guys Episode 12: The One? by Aaron Blabey

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Timmy the Ticked-Off Pony: Bite Me by Magda Szubanski

Title: Timmy the Ticked-Off Pony: Bite Me Author: Magda Szubanski Genre: Humour, Junior Fiction Publisher: Schoalstic Australia Published: 1st October 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The second hilarious book in the new series by award-winning author and comedian, Magda Szubanski. Timmy is really ticked-off. He has lost his fame and fortune, and… Continue reading Timmy the Ticked-Off Pony: Bite Me by Magda Szubanski

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

John Williamson’s Old Man Emu

Author: John Williamson, illustrated by Simon McLean Genre: Poetry Publisher: Puffin Published: 29th September 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A new picture book adaptation of John Williamson's first and now legendary hit song, 'Old Man Emu’, to celebrate John’s 50th year of performing and the song’s 50th anniversary in 2020. This iconic… Continue reading John Williamson’s Old Man Emu

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Cressida Cowell, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times by Cressida Cowell

Title: Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times Author: Cressida Cowell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books/Hachette Published: 24th September 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 460 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The No.1 bestselling series from the author of HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON, Cressida Cowell. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful Magic in an exciting… Continue reading Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times by Cressida Cowell