#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Mertales: The Best Friend Promise by Rebecca Timmis

Title: Mertales: The Best Friend Promise Author: Rebecca Timmis Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Albert Street Books/Allen and Unwin Published: 2nd July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: $14.99 Synopsis: A sea-sational new series, packed with mermagic and flipperific adventure. Today is Pearl's ninth birthday, and she is planning a sea-sational day with her best friends. But when Pearl… Continue reading Mertales: The Best Friend Promise by Rebecca Timmis

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Snow Pony by Alison Lester

Title: The Snow Pony Author: Alison Lester Genre: Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 2nd July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: An authentic, compelling bush drama classic from Alison Lester, set in the high snow plains of south-eastern Australia. Only Dusty can ride the Snow Pony. And no one but Dusty will… Continue reading The Snow Pony by Alison Lester

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Awards, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Nancys by R.W.R McDonald

Title: The Nancys Author: R.W.R McDonald Genre: Crime Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 3rd June 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 416 Price: $16.99 Synopsis:  A schoolgirl and her uncle and his boyfriend have two weeks to solve a murder in a small town style forgot... WINNER of the Ngaio Marsh Award for Best First NovelTippy Chan… Continue reading The Nancys by R.W.R McDonald

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, middle grade, non-fiction, Pamela Hart, Picture Books, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

May 2021 Round Up

Current stats: Modern Mrs Darcy – 13/14 Australian Authors Challenge – 24/24 (47) AWW2021 – 75/50 Dymocks Reading Challenge – 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge – 24/26 Overall goal – 122/170 In May, I managed to read 36 books, with a vast majority by Australian authors, and have almost finished my reading challenges – with a… Continue reading May 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

How to Make a Pet Monster: Flummox by Lili Wilkinson

Title: How to Make a Pet Monster: Flummox Author: Lili Wilkinson Genre: Comedy, Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin/Albert Street Press Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 206 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Doesn't everyone want their very own pet monster?A fantastically readable, gloriously funny and collectable new junior fiction series. Have you ever wanted a pet… Continue reading How to Make a Pet Monster: Flummox by Lili Wilkinson

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Small Acts of Defiance by Michelle Wright

Title: Small Acts of Defiance Small Acts of Defiance Author: Michelle Wright Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: The remarkable debut novel from acclaimed prize-winning short fiction writer Michelle Wright, author of Fine. 'A beautifully intimate portrait that celebrates the courage and resilience of… Continue reading Small Acts of Defiance by Michelle Wright

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Interviews

Interview with Anna Ciddor about her new book, The Boy Who Stepped Through Time

Cover of the Boy Who Stepped Through Time by Anna Ciddor To begin, can you tell us what The Boy Who Stepped Through Time is about? It’s about an ordinary Australian boy, called Perry, who goes on holidays to the south of France and finds himself having extraordinary adventures. I had lots of fun transporting… Continue reading Interview with Anna Ciddor about her new book, The Boy Who Stepped Through Time

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Pawcasso by Remy Lai

Title: Pawcasso Author: Remy Lai Genre: Contemporary, Graphic novel Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 18th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A delightful graphic novel about friendship and belonging, starring the world's most adorable dog, perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Guts. Every Saturday, Pawcasso trots into town with a basket, a shopping… Continue reading Pawcasso by Remy Lai

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, history, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Shackleton’s Endurance: An Antarctic Survival Story by Joanna Grochowicz

Title: Shackleton’s Endurance: An Antarctic Survival Story Author: Joanna Grochowicz Genre: History, Non-Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 4th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Ernest Shackleton's remarkable story is a terrifying adventure with the happiest of endings - another brilliant narrative non-fiction Antarctic adventure featuring an explorer who was a true… Continue reading Shackleton’s Endurance: An Antarctic Survival Story by Joanna Grochowicz

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Drum Roll Please…it’s Stevie Louise! by Tanya Hennessy

Title: Drum Roll Please…it’s Stevie Louise! Author: Tanya Hennessy Genre: Comedy Publisher: Allen and Unwin/Albert Street Books Published: 4th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 184 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A delightfully funny and deeply relatable junior fiction story from one of Australia's most loved multi-media stars. Meet Stevie Louise. She is an entrepreneur (that's like a… Continue reading Drum Roll Please…it’s Stevie Louise! by Tanya Hennessy