#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Dragon Skin by Karen Foxlee

Title: Dragon Skin Author: Karen Foxlee Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 28th September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 336 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: From the bestselling and multi-award-winning author of Lenny's Book of Everything comes a magical tale about a girl who saves a dragon and rescues her family. How to save a dragon:1) Assemble equipment.… Continue reading Dragon Skin by Karen Foxlee

animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Skunk and Badger: Egg Marks the Spot by Amy Timberlake

Title: Skunk and Badger: Egg Marks the Spot Author: Amy Timberlake Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 28th September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 160 Price: $22.99 Synopsis: Roommates Skunk and Badger head out on a rock-finding expedition that becomes much more dangerous than they ever expected in this second book of the odd-couple series… Continue reading Skunk and Badger: Egg Marks the Spot by Amy Timberlake

#AussieAuthor2021, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Mertales: The Daring Reef Rescue by Rebecca Timmis

Title: Mertales: The Daring Reef Rescue Author: Rebecca Timmis Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 28th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 120 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Galloping Guppies! It's Book 2 in the sea-sational MerTales series, packed with mer-magical adventure. Tomorrow is the Fancy-Fins Dress-up Party, and the MerTales crew are very excited!Pearl, Sandy and… Continue reading Mertales: The Daring Reef Rescue by Rebecca Timmis

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Housemate by Sarah Bailey

Title: The Housemate Author: Sarah Bailey Genre: Crime Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 464 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: The new standalone thriller from the award-winning writer of the bestselling Gemma Woodstock trilogy: The Dark Lake, Into the Night and Where the Dead Go.Three housemates. One dead, one missing and one accused of murder.Dubbed the… Continue reading The Housemate by Sarah Bailey

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The School Between Winter and Fairyland by Heather Fawcett

Title: The School Between Winter and Fairyland Author: Heather Fawcett Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A spell-binding tale of magic, monsters and mystery, set in an enchanted boarding school. Full of suspense and exquisitely written, this is middle-grade fantasy at its best -… Continue reading The School Between Winter and Fairyland by Heather Fawcett

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Ella at Eden, Enola Holmes, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

August Round-Up 2021

August saw most of Australia back in lockdown due to the Delta variant of COVID, so it was a great month to get on top of my reading as much as I could. Between books for work and review, I read 29 books, and reviewed most of them. Again, most were by Australian authors, with… Continue reading August Round-Up 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Song of Lewis Carmichael by Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride

Title: The Song of Lewis Carmichael Author: Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 192 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A beautiful, illustrated adventure story with a classic feel, about a quiet boy and a talking crow on an extraordinary hot-air balloon ride to… Continue reading The Song of Lewis Carmichael by Sofie Laguna, illustrated by Marc McBride

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, short stories

The Magnificent Hercules Quick by Ursula Dubosarsky

Title: The Magnificent Hercules Quick     Author: Ursula Dubosarsky Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 96 Price: $4.99 Synopsis: An Australia Reads exclusive story about a boy who does a series of odd jobs for his eccentric neighbours, from the current Australian Children's Laureate and the bestselling creators of The… Continue reading The Magnificent Hercules Quick by Ursula Dubosarsky

#AussieAuthor2021, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

It’s Not You, It’s Me by Gabrielle Williams

Title: It’s Not You, It’s Me Author: Gabrielle Williams Genre: Time slip, historical fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A literally life-changing novel about time travel, soulmates and serial killers that asks a very big question: Can you ever change your fate? This is award-winning… Continue reading It’s Not You, It’s Me by Gabrielle Williams