#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, humour, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Power of Positive Pranking by Nat Amoore

Title: The Power of Positive Pranking Author: Nat Amoore Genre: Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 368 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Green Peas is our name and pranking’s our game! A symphony of alarm clocks at assembly? Yep, that was us. A stampede of fluffy guinea pigs? That’s next on our agenda.… Continue reading The Power of Positive Pranking by Nat Amoore

#loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Christmas, classics, Covers, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, history, Impossible Quest, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, Lynette Noni, middle grade, Mitford Murders, Philip Pullman, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction, The Mitford Murders, Young Adult

September 2019 Round Up

  This month, I reached my overall reading goal of 150 books with Whisper by Lynette Noni. Overall, I have reached 71 books in my Australian Women Writer's challenge, and am nearing the end of my PopSugar Challenge, with only a few categories left. I also filled out my Book Bingo card for the year,… Continue reading September 2019 Round Up

#loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Covers, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, Kensy and Max, literary fiction, series, spies, translated works

Book Bingo Twenty – A Book by an Australian Woman, A book that’s more than 500 pages and a foreign translated novel.

It's that time of the fortnight, when Book Bingo Saturday with Amanda Barrett of Mrs B's Book Reviews and Theresa Smith of Theresa Smith Writes has rolled around. As this is my second go around, and after this week and next fortnight, I still have ten squares left, there will be a few posts where… Continue reading Book Bingo Twenty – A Book by an Australian Woman, A book that’s more than 500 pages and a foreign translated novel.

animals, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, translated works

The Distance Between Me and the Cherry Tree by Paola Peretti, translated by Denise Muir

Title: The Distance Between Me and the Cherry Tree Author: Paola Peretti, translated by Denise Muir Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bonnier/Allen and Unwin Published: 29th August 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A novel for all ages about a young girl losing her sight, inspired by the author's own life story. For fans of… Continue reading The Distance Between Me and the Cherry Tree by Paola Peretti, translated by Denise Muir

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, history, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Desert Nurse by Pamela Hart

Title: The Desert Nurse Author: Pamela Hart Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 10th July 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 410 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: Amid the Australian Army hospitals of World War I Egypt, two deeply determined individuals find the resilience of their love tested to its limits It's 1911, and 21-year-old Evelyn Northey desperately… Continue reading The Desert Nurse by Pamela Hart

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Book Bingo 13 – a book with non-human characters

Book bingo Saturday again - round two, post thirteen of the year for the challenge. To mark off the non-human characters square, I have gone to a book I wrote a quiz for as part of my quiz writer job with Scholastic that fits the category of a book with non-human characters: A book with… Continue reading Book Bingo 13 – a book with non-human characters

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

We see The Stars by Kate van Hooft

Title: We see The Stars Author: Kate van Hooft Genre: Literary Fiction, Crime, Mystery Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 27th June 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $29.99 Synopsis:A haunting and deeply moving novel with a brilliant voice in the tradition of The Eye of the Sheep and Jasper Jones. 'Mysterious, compelling and almost unbearably tender.' Danielle Wood,… Continue reading We see The Stars by Kate van Hooft

Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Other Worlds 2: Beast World by George Ivanoff

Title: Other Worlds 2: Beast World Author: George Ivanoff Genre: Fantasy/Adventure/Steampunk Publisher: Penguin Random House Published: 26th February 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 203 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Xandra finds a key . . . It opens a doorway . . . She and her brother are sucked through . . . Into a crazy world that… Continue reading Other Worlds 2: Beast World by George Ivanoff

Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Blog Tour: Differently Normal by Tammy Robinson

Title: Differently Normal Author: Tammy Robinson Genre: Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 30th January 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 345 Price: :$29.99 Synopsis: Heartbreaking and heartwarming in equal measure, DIFFERENTLY NORMAL is about first love and the sacrifices you'll make for the ones you hold close. For fans of Nicholas Sparks and Jojo Moyes. For Maddy,… Continue reading Blog Tour: Differently Normal by Tammy Robinson

Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, history, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The War I Finally Won by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Title: The War I Finally Won Author: Kimberly Brubaker Bradley Genre: Children's/YA, Historical Fiction Publisher: Text Publishing Published: 2nd October 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Like the classic heroines of literature, Ada wins our hearts as she continues her World War II adventures after the Newbery Honor–winning The War that Saved My Life.… Continue reading The War I Finally Won by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley