#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, middle grade, non-fiction, Pamela Hart, Picture Books, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

May 2021 Round Up

Current stats: Modern Mrs Darcy – 13/14 Australian Authors Challenge – 24/24 (47) AWW2021 – 75/50 Dymocks Reading Challenge – 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge – 24/26 Overall goal – 122/170 In May, I managed to read 36 books, with a vast majority by Australian authors, and have almost finished my reading challenges – with a… Continue reading May 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

How to Make a Pet Monster: Flummox by Lili Wilkinson

Title: How to Make a Pet Monster: Flummox Author: Lili Wilkinson Genre: Comedy, Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin/Albert Street Press Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 206 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Doesn't everyone want their very own pet monster?A fantastically readable, gloriously funny and collectable new junior fiction series. Have you ever wanted a pet… Continue reading How to Make a Pet Monster: Flummox by Lili Wilkinson

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Little Gem and the Mysterious Letters by Anna Zobel

Title: Little Gem and the Mysterious Letters Little Gem and the Mysterious Letters by Anna Zobel Author: Anna Zobel Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: An adorable and charming new story about everyone's favourite witch Little Gem. A sparkling gem of a read for anyone who… Continue reading Little Gem and the Mysterious Letters by Anna Zobel

animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Pet Sitters: Tony Takes Off by Ella Shine

Title: Pet Sitters: Tony Takes Off Author: Ella Shine Genre: Fiction Publisher: Puddle Dog Press Published: 1st November 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 60 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Two pet sitters. One talking cat. What could possibly go wrong? ‘No chaos! And no emergencies!’ says Mum when Cassie and Lina pet sit again.But Tony the miniature pony… Continue reading Pet Sitters: Tony Takes Off by Ella Shine

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Eliza Vanda’s Button Box by Emily Rodda

Title: Eliza Vanda’s Button Box Author: Emily Rodda Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 5th May 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 288 Price: $22.99 Synopsis: From the author of the award-winning His Name was Walter comes another magical mystery story that will delight Emily Rodda fans. Buttons three, attend to me! Take me where I want to… Continue reading Eliza Vanda’s Button Box by Emily Rodda

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Young Adult

April 2021 Round Up

In April, I read 17 books, mostly Australian, across various genres and issues and styles, aimed at different age groups. I read a lot for kids, from picture books to middle grade books, young adult and adult. I also chipped away at more of my challenges, and have extended my Aussie Author Challenge beyond the… Continue reading April 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows by Denis Knight and Cristy Burne

Title: Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows Author: Denis Knight and Cristy Burne Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Lothian Children’s Books Published: 27th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 250 Price: $16.99 Synopsis:  A seriously smart and funny new series about a reluctant sorcerer's apprentice who would rather study science than magic, which asks the question: In… Continue reading Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows by Denis Knight and Cristy Burne

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Orion Published: 13th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, biography, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

March 2021 Round Up

https://ashleighmeikle.com.au/2021/03/11/firewatcher-3-vigil-by-kelly-gardiner/ In March 2021, I managed to read 21 books, despite being away for the first ten days of the month for a wedding. Most were by Australian authors – 17 out of 21, and 14 were by Australian Women. I also completed my Aussie Author Challenge this month, and decided to extend to the… Continue reading March 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Emporium of Imagination by Tabitha Bird

Title: The Emporium of Imagination Author: Tabitha Bird Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Penguin Australia Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A captivating novel of magical realism about a fantastical shop that brings comfort, peace and hope to those in need. You won't want to miss the opening of this shop!… Continue reading The Emporium of Imagination by Tabitha Bird