adventure, Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The School Between Winter and Fairyland by Heather Fawcett

Title: The School Between Winter and Fairyland Author: Heather Fawcett Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A spell-binding tale of magic, monsters and mystery, set in an enchanted boarding school. Full of suspense and exquisitely written, this is middle-grade fantasy at its best -… Continue reading The School Between Winter and Fairyland by Heather Fawcett

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Completed

Another challenge completed! I completed this one a few weeks ago, and my original post about it is here. This was the build your own challenge from lists of prompts from previous iterations of this challenge and I have to say, it was a really good one as there was a lot less pressure to… Continue reading Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Completed

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Ella at Eden, Enola Holmes, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

August Round-Up 2021

August saw most of Australia back in lockdown due to the Delta variant of COVID, so it was a great month to get on top of my reading as much as I could. Between books for work and review, I read 29 books, and reviewed most of them. Again, most were by Australian authors, with… Continue reading August Round-Up 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The School for Talking Pets by Kelli Anne Hawkins

Title: The School for Talking Pets Author: Kelli Anne Hawkins Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: DOCTOR DOLITTLE MEETS WILLY WONKA IN THIS FUNNY AND THRILLING ADVENTURE FROM AN EXCITING NEW VOICE. Pets? Tick!TALKING pets? Double tick!Silly spies, secret plots and one shy kid… Continue reading The School for Talking Pets by Kelli Anne Hawkins

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Curse of the Vampire Robot by Graeme Base

Title: The Curse of the Vampire Robot Author: Graeme Base Genre: Fantasy, Poetry Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: Classic vampire mythology meets nerdy computer-speak in a rhyming tale of adventure, bravery and compassion from master storyteller Graeme Base. Deep in the Scottish Highlands, Many years from… Continue reading The Curse of the Vampire Robot by Graeme Base

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Raven Heir by Stephanie Burgis

Title: The Raven Heir Author: Stephanie Burgis Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: Cordelia and her triplets Rosalind and Giles have lived safely in the castle at the centre of the forest all their lives, protected by the spells their mother has woven. The… Continue reading The Raven Heir by Stephanie Burgis

#LoveOZMG, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The What on Earth Institute of Wonder by Lisa Nicol

Title: The What on Earth Institute of Wonder Author: Lisa Nicol Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Puffin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A mind-boggling expedition into the secrets of the Animal Kingdom with only an invisible map of the human heart as a guide. (Unless, of course, you count the… Continue reading The What on Earth Institute of Wonder by Lisa Nicol

animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Magical Bookshop by Katja Frixe, translated by Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp

Title: The Magical Bookshop Author: Katja Frixe, translated by Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Bloomsbury/One World Published: 3rd August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 144 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: This is Clara's favourite place in the whole world. Here, Clara can settle down and get lost in one of the many books, joke around with… Continue reading The Magical Bookshop by Katja Frixe, translated by Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, Time Catchers

When Days Tilt (Time Catchers #1) by Karen Ginnane

Title: When Days Tilt (Time Catchers #1) Author: Karen Ginnane Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fictionm Publisher: Penguin Random House Published: 2nd July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Magic, mystery, and darkness – a gripping fantasy adventure for lovers of Philip Pullman’s Northern Lights. In this page-turning debut, one girl must figure out why she is… Continue reading When Days Tilt (Time Catchers #1) by Karen Ginnane