#AussieAuthors2022, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Esther’s Children by Caroline Beecham

Title: Esther’s Children Author: Caroline Beecham Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 3rd May 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 376 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: From the picturesque streets of pre-war Vienna to Britain's atmospheric cities in the grip of war, Esther's Children is the perfect read for fans of Kate Quinn's The Alice Network, and Kelly Rimmer's The Warsaw… Continue reading Esther’s Children by Caroline Beecham

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Dystopia, Ella Diaries, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, humour, Jacqueline Harvey, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

April 2022 Monthly Wrap Up Post

Aussie Author Reading Challenge: 75/24 End of Year Post: Dymocks Reading Challenge: 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge: 22/24 Goal: 102/150 Australian Women: 64 Australian Men: 13 Australian: 75 Non-Australian: 27 Men: 23 Women: 82 In April, I read 27 books – some quiz books, but mostly review books, and some reviews are still yet to go… Continue reading April 2022 Monthly Wrap Up Post

#AussieAuthors2022, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The German Wife by Kelly Rimmer

Title: The German Wife Author: Kelly Rimmer Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 27th April 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 470 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Inspired by real events, the New York Times bestselling author of The Warsaw Orphan returns with an unputdownable novel of a community torn apart when a former Nazi family moves into town to work on… Continue reading The German Wife by Kelly Rimmer

#AussieAuthors2022, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Fantasy, literary fiction, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Her Fierce Creatures by Maria Lewis

Title: Her Fierce Creatures Author: Maria Lewis Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 8th March 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: The new gripping female-led fantasy from author Maria Lewis with her trademark brand of feisty female heroines, world-building and a bit of romance, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J Maas… Continue reading Her Fierce Creatures by Maria Lewis

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, history, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Talking History: 150 Years of Speakers and Speeches by Joan Haig and Joan Lennon

Title: Talking History: 150 Years of Speakers and Speeches Author: Joan Haig and Joan Lennon Genre: History/Non-Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 15th February 2022 Format: Hardcover Pages: 80 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: 150 years of world-changing speeches A contemporary introduction to speeches that have changed the world.From Abraham Lincoln to Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti, Nelson Mandela to… Continue reading Talking History: 150 Years of Speakers and Speeches by Joan Haig and Joan Lennon

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Fairytales, Fantasy, Festivals, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, spies, The Girls Who Change the World, Tim Harris, Young Adult

My Reading Journey February 2022

In February I read thirty books and have almost completed my reading challenges. I’ve hit my target for the Aussie Author Reading Challenge. There are only a few books I haven’t reviewed – mostly books I have had to read for my work as a quiz writer haven’t been reviewed. I’ve read a variety of… Continue reading My Reading Journey February 2022

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Never Forget by Claire Hallifax and Simon O’Carrigan

Title: Never Forget Author: Claire Hallifax, Simon O’Carrigan Genre: History Publisher: Omnibus Books Published: 1st March 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Inspired by the extraordinary works of Australian artists painting the First World War as it happened around them, this evocative book commemorates and explores the sacrifice of the soldiers, nurses who… Continue reading Never Forget by Claire Hallifax and Simon O’Carrigan

#AussieAuthors2022, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Orphan Rock by Dominique Wilson

Title: Orphan Rock Author: Dominique Wilson Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Transit Lounge Published: 1st March 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 485 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Orphan Rock is a complex and richly detailed story of secrets and heartbreak that will take you from the back streets of Sydney’s slums to the wide avenues of the City of Lights. … Continue reading Orphan Rock by Dominique Wilson

#AussieAuthors2022, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, historical fiction, history, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, Reading, Reviews

Revisiting a Favourite: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

In 2015, Kate Forsyth published what I think was one of her most powerful, most harrowing, and most effective novels: The Beast’s Garden. Set in Germany in World War Two, it follows Ava as she does what she can to resist the Nazi regime and help her family and those she loves. To save them,… Continue reading Revisiting a Favourite: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Rabbit, Soldier, Angel, Thief by Katrina Nannestad

Title: Rabbit, Soldier, Angel, Thief Author: Katrina Nannestad Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: ABC Books Published: 27th October 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 320 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Award-winning writer Katrina Nannestad transports us to Russia and the Great Patriotic War and into the life of Sasha, a soldier at only six years old ... Wood splinters and… Continue reading Rabbit, Soldier, Angel, Thief by Katrina Nannestad