#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, middle grade, non-fiction, Pamela Hart, Picture Books, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

May 2021 Round Up

Current stats: Modern Mrs Darcy – 13/14 Australian Authors Challenge – 24/24 (47) AWW2021 – 75/50 Dymocks Reading Challenge – 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge – 24/26 Overall goal – 122/170 In May, I managed to read 36 books, with a vast majority by Australian authors, and have almost finished my reading challenges – with a… Continue reading May 2021 Round Up

animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

We Were Wolves by Jason Cockcroft

Title: We Were Wolves We Were Wolves by Jason Cockcroft Author: Jason Cockcroft Genre: Fiction Publisher: Walker Books/Andersen Press Published: 2nd June 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 216 Price: $26.99 Synopsis: An intense, darkly spellbinding story of a boy awaiting his father's return from prison as an ancient woodland awakes Boy lives in a caravan on… Continue reading We Were Wolves by Jason Cockcroft

animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, history, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Great Barrier Reef by Helen Scales and Lisk Feng

Title: The Great Barrier Reef Author: Helen Scales and Lisk Feng Genre: Non-Fiction Publisher: Walker Books/Flying Eye Books Published: 2nd June 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 88 Price: $34.99 Synopsis: Nearly 400,000 square kilometres of dazzling colour, intricate ecosystems and unique creatures large and small: The Great Barrier Reef is one of the great natural wonders… Continue reading The Great Barrier Reef by Helen Scales and Lisk Feng

animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Twitch by M.G. Leonard

Title: Twitch Twitch by M.G. Leonard Author: M.G. Leonard Genre: Mystery Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 2nd June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: The internationally bestselling author of Beetle Boy writes a thrilling mystery adventure about friendship, bravery and the wonderful world of birds, starring a birdwatching detective called Twitch. Can a birdwatcher outwit… Continue reading Twitch by M.G. Leonard

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

The Nerd Herd: Raging Wool by Nathan Luff, illustrated by Chris Kennett

Title: The Nerd Herd: Raging Wool The Nerd Herd: Raging Wool by Nathan Luff and Chris Kennett Author: Nathan Luff, illustrated by Chris Kennett Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 160 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Individually they’re meek, mild and soft. But together, with their combined talents, they’re a herd.… Continue reading The Nerd Herd: Raging Wool by Nathan Luff, illustrated by Chris Kennett

#AussieAuthor2021, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Macca the Backpacker by Matt Cosgrove

Title: Macca the Backpacker Macca the Backpacker by Matt Cosgrove Author: Matt Cosgrove Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Macca the Alpaca dreams of exploring, so he packs his backpack and sets off on a mountain adventure. But when the going gets tough, how will… Continue reading Macca the Backpacker by Matt Cosgrove

animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Pet Sitters: Glitter Jitters by Ella Shine

Title: Pet Sitters: Glitter Jitters Author: Ella Shine Genre: Fiction Publisher: Puddle Dog Press Published: November 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 60 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Two pet sitters. One talking cat. What could possibly go wrong? Cassie and Lina think Bella the bearded dragon is SO beautiful. Gus is not so sure, and he’s determined to… Continue reading Pet Sitters: Glitter Jitters by Ella Shine

animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Pet Sitters: Tony Takes Off by Ella Shine

Title: Pet Sitters: Tony Takes Off Author: Ella Shine Genre: Fiction Publisher: Puddle Dog Press Published: 1st November 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 60 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Two pet sitters. One talking cat. What could possibly go wrong? ‘No chaos! And no emergencies!’ says Mum when Cassie and Lina pet sit again.But Tony the miniature pony… Continue reading Pet Sitters: Tony Takes Off by Ella Shine

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Pet Sitters: Purple Panic by Ella Shine

Title: Pet Sitters: Purple Panic Author: Ella Shine Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Puddle Dog Press Published: November 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 60 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Two pet sitters. One talking cat. What could possibly go wrong? Princess Gina’s owner is very fussy but Cassie and Lina think they’ll be able to care for her guinea… Continue reading Pet Sitters: Purple Panic by Ella Shine

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Pawcasso by Remy Lai

Title: Pawcasso Author: Remy Lai Genre: Contemporary, Graphic novel Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 18th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A delightful graphic novel about friendship and belonging, starring the world's most adorable dog, perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Guts. Every Saturday, Pawcasso trots into town with a basket, a shopping… Continue reading Pawcasso by Remy Lai