Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Silk House by Kayte Nunn

Title: The Silk House Author: Kayte Nunn Genre: Historical Fiction/Gothic Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 30th June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 380 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Weaving. Healing. Haunting. The spellbinding story of a mysterious boarding school sheltering a centuries-old secret by the bestselling author of THE BOTANIST'S DAUGHTER Weaving. Healing. Haunting. The spellbinding story of… Continue reading The Silk House by Kayte Nunn

#LoveOZMG, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Eloise and the Bucket of Stars by Janeen Brian

Title: Eloise and the Bucket of Stars Author: Janeen Brian Genre: Historical Fiction, Magical Realism Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 1st June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Left in a pail at an orphanage as a baby, only something magical can save Eloise from a miserable life and give her the one… Continue reading Eloise and the Bucket of Stars by Janeen Brian

Book Industry, Books, literary fiction

The God Child by Nana Oforiatta Ayim

Title: The God Child Author: Nana Oforiatta Ayim Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Circus Published: 4th February 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $26.99 Synopsis: Maya grows up in Germany knowing that her parents are different: from one another, and from the rest of the world. Her reserved, studious father is distant; and her beautiful,… Continue reading The God Child by Nana Oforiatta Ayim

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Tiger Heart by Penny Chrimes

Title: Tiger Heart Author: Penny Chrimes Genre: Fantasy/Time slip/Historical Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 14th January 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 260 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: One magical friendship. One roaring adventure. The magical tale of a bold young chimney sweep and a remarkable tiger, a dangerously hypnotic ruby and a mystical land that's found across an ocean… Continue reading Tiger Heart by Penny Chrimes

biography, Book Industry, Books, history, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

A Game of Birds and Wolves: The Secret Game that Won the War by Simon Parkin

Title: A Game of Birds and Wolves: The Secret Game that Won the War Author: Simon Parkin Genre: Non-fiction, Biography Publisher: Hachette Australia/Sceptre Published: 12th November 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 310 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Find out what is happening in the Atlantic, find ways of getting the convoys through, and sink the U-boats!' Prime Minster, Winston… Continue reading A Game of Birds and Wolves: The Secret Game that Won the War by Simon Parkin

adventure, Book bingo, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Book Bingo Nineteen: Themes of Culture

It's September, and time for book bingo again with Theresa and Amanda. This means I have six to seven books left on my card to fill in, some of which I am unsure of what to do. Science Fiction is always a tricky, because there are times it crosses over with fantasy. I initially had… Continue reading Book Bingo Nineteen: Themes of Culture

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Events, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, short stories, Young Adult

When We Were Warriors by Emma Carroll

Title: When We Were Warriors Author: Emma Carroll Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Faber Published: 3rd June 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: An irresistible return to World War Two for the Queen of Historical Fiction. A body washed up on the beach... Evacuation to an old house with forbidden rooms and dark secrets...… Continue reading When We Were Warriors by Emma Carroll

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant by Kayte Nunn

Title: The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant Author: Kayte Nunns Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 28th May 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 375 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: A cache of unsent love letters from the 1950s is found in a suitcase on a remote island in this mysterious love story by top ten bestselling author,… Continue reading The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant by Kayte Nunn

Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Au Pair by Emma Rous

Title: The Au Pair Author: Emma Rous Genre: Fiction, Mystery Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 11th December 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 410 Price: $29.99 Synopsis:A tautly plotted mystery of dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton. 'Entrancing, compelling, atmospheric, reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier. A beautiful read that delivers a shocking and satisfying ending' Liv Constantine, bestselling… Continue reading The Au Pair by Emma Rous

Book Industry, Books, challenges, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Frieda: A Novel of the Real Lady Chatterley by Annabel Abbs

Title: Frieda: A Novel of the Real Lady Chatterley Author: Annabel Abbs Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette Published: 11th September 2011 Format: Paperback Pages: 372 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: The moving story of Frieda von Richthofen, wife of D.H. Lawrence - and the real-life inspiration for Lady Chatterley's Lover, a novel banned for more than 30 years Germany,… Continue reading Frieda: A Novel of the Real Lady Chatterley by Annabel Abbs