#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, middle grade, non-fiction, Pamela Hart, Picture Books, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

May 2021 Round Up

Current stats: Modern Mrs Darcy – 13/14 Australian Authors Challenge – 24/24 (47) AWW2021 – 75/50 Dymocks Reading Challenge – 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge – 24/26 Overall goal – 122/170 In May, I managed to read 36 books, with a vast majority by Australian authors, and have almost finished my reading challenges – with a… Continue reading May 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Eliza Vanda’s Button Box by Emily Rodda

Title: Eliza Vanda’s Button Box Author: Emily Rodda Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 5th May 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 288 Price: $22.99 Synopsis: From the author of the award-winning His Name was Walter comes another magical mystery story that will delight Emily Rodda fans. Buttons three, attend to me! Take me where I want to… Continue reading Eliza Vanda’s Button Box by Emily Rodda

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Young Adult

April 2021 Round Up

In April, I read 17 books, mostly Australian, across various genres and issues and styles, aimed at different age groups. I read a lot for kids, from picture books to middle grade books, young adult and adult. I also chipped away at more of my challenges, and have extended my Aussie Author Challenge beyond the… Continue reading April 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows by Denis Knight and Cristy Burne

Title: Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows Author: Denis Knight and Cristy Burne Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Lothian Children’s Books Published: 27th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 250 Price: $16.99 Synopsis:  A seriously smart and funny new series about a reluctant sorcerer's apprentice who would rather study science than magic, which asks the question: In… Continue reading Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows by Denis Knight and Cristy Burne

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Orion Published: 13th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, biography, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

March 2021 Round Up

https://ashleighmeikle.com.au/2021/03/11/firewatcher-3-vigil-by-kelly-gardiner/ In March 2021, I managed to read 21 books, despite being away for the first ten days of the month for a wedding. Most were by Australian authors – 17 out of 21, and 14 were by Australian Women. I also completed my Aussie Author Challenge this month, and decided to extend to the… Continue reading March 2021 Round Up

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Storm Keepers’ Battle by Catherine Doyle

Title: The Storm Keepers’ Battle Author: Catherine Doyle Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Fionn Boyle, Storm Keeper of Arranmore, is facing the fight of his life. The terrifying all- powerful sorceress Morrigan has been raised from the dead and has sealed off the island… Continue reading The Storm Keepers’ Battle by Catherine Doyle

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

Title: House of Hollow Author: Krystal Sutherland Genre: Young Adult, fantasy, mystery, urban fantasy/fairy tale Publisher: Penguin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: 'This dark, deliciously twisted novel has everything you could hope for as a reader – a brilliant concept, glamorous characters with secrets to hide, immersive world-building, and… Continue reading House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

Challenge Completed: Aussie Authors Challenge

When I started this challenge, I thought it would take me a little longer than three months, given I primarily read books by Australian women, and thought I’d be searching more for books by Australian men. However, I got lucky, and with so many releases, I managed to complete this challenge by March, well ahead… Continue reading Challenge Completed: Aussie Authors Challenge

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Grandest Bookshop in the World by Amelia Mellor

Title: The Grandest Bookshop in the World Author: Amelia Mellor Genre: Historical Fiction, Magical Realism Publisher: Affirm Press Published: 29th September 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 304 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Pearl and Vally Cole live in a bookshop. And not just any bookshop. In 1893, Cole’s Book Arcade in Melbourne is the grandest bookshop in the… Continue reading The Grandest Bookshop in the World by Amelia Mellor