adventure, Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The School Between Winter and Fairyland by Heather Fawcett

Title: The School Between Winter and Fairyland Author: Heather Fawcett Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A spell-binding tale of magic, monsters and mystery, set in an enchanted boarding school. Full of suspense and exquisitely written, this is middle-grade fantasy at its best -… Continue reading The School Between Winter and Fairyland by Heather Fawcett

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Dulcinea in the Forbidden Forest by Ole Könnecke (translated by Shelley Tanaka

Title: Dulcinea in the Forbidden Forest Author: Ole Könnecke (translated by Shelley Tanaka Genre: Fairy tale Publisher: Walker Books/Gecko Press Published: 8th September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 64 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: A funny illustrated fairy tale for early readers about the brave and capable Dulcinea, who must save her father from the witch’s spell and… Continue reading Dulcinea in the Forbidden Forest by Ole Könnecke (translated by Shelley Tanaka

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Completed

Another challenge completed! I completed this one a few weeks ago, and my original post about it is here. This was the build your own challenge from lists of prompts from previous iterations of this challenge and I have to say, it was a really good one as there was a lot less pressure to… Continue reading Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge Completed

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Ella at Eden, Enola Holmes, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

August Round-Up 2021

August saw most of Australia back in lockdown due to the Delta variant of COVID, so it was a great month to get on top of my reading as much as I could. Between books for work and review, I read 29 books, and reviewed most of them. Again, most were by Australian authors, with… Continue reading August Round-Up 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Curse of the Vampire Robot by Graeme Base

Title: The Curse of the Vampire Robot Author: Graeme Base Genre: Fantasy, Poetry Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: Classic vampire mythology meets nerdy computer-speak in a rhyming tale of adventure, bravery and compassion from master storyteller Graeme Base. Deep in the Scottish Highlands, Many years from… Continue reading The Curse of the Vampire Robot by Graeme Base

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Raven Heir by Stephanie Burgis

Title: The Raven Heir Author: Stephanie Burgis Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: Cordelia and her triplets Rosalind and Giles have lived safely in the castle at the centre of the forest all their lives, protected by the spells their mother has woven. The… Continue reading The Raven Heir by Stephanie Burgis

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, A.L. Tait, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, Maven and Reeve, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Wolf’s Howl: A Maven and Reeve Mystery by A.L. Tait

Title: The Wolf’s Howl: A Maven and Reeve Mystery Author: A.L. Tait Genre: Fantasy, Mystery Publisher: Puffin Australia Published: 3rd August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Bestselling author A. L. Tait is back with the next Maven and Reeve Mystery. A secret mission.A missing cook.A hostile landscape.A mystery to unravel. Maven and… Continue reading The Wolf’s Howl: A Maven and Reeve Mystery by A.L. Tait

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, A Murder Most Unladylike, A.L. Tait, adventure, Alice-Miranda, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Maven and Reeve, middle grade, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

Reading Round Up July 2021

July saw me head back to my job as a quiz writer, which I do from home. This means more reading, and like my reviewing, can see me reading books ahead of release as I work to get resources ready for the upcoming school term. This means more books will be read each month, but… Continue reading Reading Round Up July 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

June 2021 Reading Wrap Up

   In June 2021, I read 20 books, and have reviewed them all. My totals for my challenges have reached the following numbers: Modern Mrs Darcy – 13/14 Australian Authors Challenge – 24/24 (57) AWW2021 – 90/50 Dymocks Reading Challenge – 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge – 24/26 Overall goal – 147/170 Total Australian authors read:… Continue reading June 2021 Reading Wrap Up