#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The Boy, the Wolf and the Stars by Shivaun Plozza

Title: The Boy, the Wolf and the Stars Author: Shivaun Plozza Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 20th October 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The Boy, the Wolf and the Stars is a sweeping, timeless adventure, an introduction to a brilliant new world with the feel of an instant classic. Every night Ulv is… Continue reading The Boy, the Wolf and the Stars by Shivaun Plozza

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Transit of Angels by Desney King

Title: Transit of Angels Author: Desney King Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Pilyara Press Published: 19th October 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 285 Price: $27.99 Synopsis: Is there life after death?  Angelica is thirty-four when her beloved husband, Bill, is killed in a motorbike accident. She knows Bill is dead. Yet she yearns to be reunited with… Continue reading Transit of Angels by Desney King

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

2020 CBCA Awards

Congrats to the winners! Such an achievement and great news for the local book industry.  Some great ideas for Christmas for the young readers in your lives! Announcement: The CBCA Awards for 2020 were announced today, and are as follows: CBCA Book of the Year 2020 winners announced 16 October 2020 The winners of the… Continue reading 2020 CBCA Awards

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, check in post, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Natasha Lester, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Book Bingo Ten 2020 – Set During A Time of War

And just like that, it is October, and Theresa, Amanda and I each have two posts left after this one. Sometimes, we choose the same square, and sometimes we choose the same book or books by the same author, even in our regular reviewing. We seem to have very similar tastes, which makes discussing the… Continue reading Book Bingo Ten 2020 – Set During A Time of War

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain by Jo Simmons

Title: I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain Author: Jo Simmons Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons, this is a new hilarious adventure from the creative team behind the bestselling I Swapped My Brother On The Internet.Keith has entered… Continue reading I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain by Jo Simmons

A Murder Most Unladylike, adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Death Sets Sail (Murder Most Unladylike #9) by Robin Stevens

Title: Death Sets Sail Author: Robin Stevens Genre: Historical Fiction, Crime Publisher: Puffin Published: 1st September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The final novel in the number-one bestselling, award-winning Murder Most Unladylike series. Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong are in Egypt, where they are taking a cruise along the Nile. They are hoping to… Continue reading Death Sets Sail (Murder Most Unladylike #9) by Robin Stevens

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, challenges, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Rainshaker Blog tour: Rainshaker by Elizabeth Mary Cummings, illustrated by Cheri Hughes

Title: Rainshaker Author: Elizabeth Mary Cummings, illustrated by Cheri Hughes Genre: Fiction Publisher: Big Sky Publishing Published: 12th October 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 32 Price: $12.50 Synopsis: When Erin finds a snow shaker her imagination is ignited and she embarks on a magical journey of possibility of what if? In a world of droughts and… Continue reading Rainshaker Blog tour: Rainshaker by Elizabeth Mary Cummings, illustrated by Cheri Hughes

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Books and Bites Bingo A Neil Gaiman book: Pirate Stew by Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell

Moving through Books and Bites Bingo, I am finally able to tick off another category. A book by Neil Gaiman, and for this I am using new release Pirate Stew, illustrated by Chris Riddell. This is a delightful story, told in verse form that all ages can enjoy. It is filled with pirates and diverse… Continue reading Books and Bites Bingo A Neil Gaiman book: Pirate Stew by Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Around the World Supper Club, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Christmas, Cressida Cowell, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Garth Nix, historical fiction, history, humour, Jaclyn Moriarty, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, Kensy and Max, Kingdoms and Empires Series, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, Nevermoor, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Wizards of Once

September 2020 Wrap up

In September, I read 23 books -ten were by Australian women, one checked off another box in Books and Bites Bingo and reviewed all books on this list. I’m slowly moving through my challenges, getting to some categories that are a bit more of a challenge, in finding the books to fit them. This month,… Continue reading September 2020 Wrap up

animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Stupid Carrots by David Campbell, illustrated by Daron Parton

Title: Stupid Carrots Author: David Campbell, illustrated by Daron Parton Genre: Picture Book, fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: October 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: First children’s book by well-known TV presenter and performing artist, David Campbell! Betty Bunny is HANGRY! But she really, really doesn’t want to eat carrots!A very funny and… Continue reading Stupid Carrots by David Campbell, illustrated by Daron Parton