adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Beatryce Prophecy by Kate DiCamillo

Title: The Beatryce Prophecy Author: Kate DiCamillo Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Walker Books Published: 6th October 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 256 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: A magical medieval tale from two masters, Newbery Medal-winning Kate DiCamillo and Caldecott Medal-winning Sophie Blackall – a fantastical meditation on fate, love and the power of words to spell the… Continue reading The Beatryce Prophecy by Kate DiCamillo

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Young Adult

Fireborn: Twelve and the Frozen Forest by Aisling Fowler

Title: Fireborn: Twelve and the Frozen Forest Author: Aisling Fowler Genre: Fantasy Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 26th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 432 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Set in the snowy northern forests of an imagined prehistoric world, Fireborn is the middle-grade debut of the decade. At turns exciting, funny and heart wrenchingly sad, it marks… Continue reading Fireborn: Twelve and the Frozen Forest by Aisling Fowler

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Heartsong of Wonder Quinn by Kate Gordon

Title: The Heartsong of Wonder Quinn Author: Kate Gordon Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: UQP Published: 1st September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 184 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Lonely orphan Wonder Quinn lives in the attic of Direleafe Hall with only a gloomy crow for company. Every year she hopes to make a true friend and every year… Continue reading The Heartsong of Wonder Quinn by Kate Gordon

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Summer We Turned Green by William Sutcliffe

Title: The Summer We Turned Green Author: William Sutcliffe Genre: Contemporary, Climate Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 28th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: It's the summer holidays, and thirteen-year-old Luke has just had his life turned upside down. First his older sister Rose moved 'across the road' – where a community of… Continue reading The Summer We Turned Green by William Sutcliffe

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, memoir, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Real Pigeons, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, spies, Young Adult

September 2021 Round Up

In September, I read 21 books, and most of those were again Australian authors, with two quiz books and 19 review books. To date on the day of writing this, I have read 217 books, and September saw me reach 215 books for 2021. I completed my Dymocks Reading Challenge, leaving only my QBD Challenge… Continue reading September 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, biography, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Monty's Island, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Real Pigeons, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Young Adult

Dymocks Reading Challenge – CHALLENGE COMPLETED

One of the reading challenges I undertook this year was the Dymocks Reading Challenge, which I like because the categories are fairly open, yet still challenging – sometimes it can be hard to find the book you want without doubling up, and for some, there are lots of books that work here. I started in… Continue reading Dymocks Reading Challenge – CHALLENGE COMPLETED

animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Rosie the Rhinoceros by Jimmy Barnes

Title: Rosie the Rhinoceros Author: Jimmy Barnes Genre: Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Published: 29th September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: From the award-winning author and rock legend Jimmy Barnes and critically acclaimed illustrator Matt Shanks comes a book about the joy of being yourself. Who is Rosie? Is she a fun-loving rhinoceros… Continue reading Rosie the Rhinoceros by Jimmy Barnes

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Dragon Skin by Karen Foxlee

Title: Dragon Skin Author: Karen Foxlee Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 28th September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 336 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: From the bestselling and multi-award-winning author of Lenny's Book of Everything comes a magical tale about a girl who saves a dragon and rescues her family. How to save a dragon:1) Assemble equipment.… Continue reading Dragon Skin by Karen Foxlee

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Housemate by Sarah Bailey

Title: The Housemate Author: Sarah Bailey Genre: Crime Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 464 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: The new standalone thriller from the award-winning writer of the bestselling Gemma Woodstock trilogy: The Dark Lake, Into the Night and Where the Dead Go.Three housemates. One dead, one missing and one accused of murder.Dubbed the… Continue reading The Housemate by Sarah Bailey

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment