#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Drum Roll Please…it’s Stevie Louise! by Tanya Hennessy

Title: Drum Roll Please…it’s Stevie Louise! Author: Tanya Hennessy Genre: Comedy Publisher: Allen and Unwin/Albert Street Books Published: 4th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 184 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A delightfully funny and deeply relatable junior fiction story from one of Australia's most loved multi-media stars. Meet Stevie Louise. She is an entrepreneur (that's like a… Continue reading Drum Roll Please…it’s Stevie Louise! by Tanya Hennessy

animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Covers, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

How Not to Annoy Mum by Dave Hughes, Holly Ife, illustrated by Heath McKenzie

Title: How Not to Annoy Mum Author: Dave Hughes, Holly Ife, illustrated by Heath McKenzie Genre: Humour Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st April 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: From hugely popular comedian and TV/Radio personality DAVE HUGHES and Holly Ife!Hilarious sequel to the best-selling book How Not To Annoy DadThe Koala family… Continue reading How Not to Annoy Mum by Dave Hughes, Holly Ife, illustrated by Heath McKenzie

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Princess Benjamina has a Very Cheeky Bum by Claire Hooper

Title: Princess Benjamina has a Very Cheeky Bum Author: Claire Hooper Genre: Fiction Publisher: Albert Street Publishing/Allen and Unwin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: When you are trying to find your inner voice, sometimes you need to look behind you! This delightful tale, bursting with humour, proves that behind… Continue reading Princess Benjamina has a Very Cheeky Bum by Claire Hooper

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

Challenge Completed: Aussie Authors Challenge

When I started this challenge, I thought it would take me a little longer than three months, given I primarily read books by Australian women, and thought I’d be searching more for books by Australian men. However, I got lucky, and with so many releases, I managed to complete this challenge by March, well ahead… Continue reading Challenge Completed: Aussie Authors Challenge

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Nelson: Broccoli and Spies by Andrew Levins

Title: Nelson: Broccoli and Spies Author: Andrew Levins Genre: Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 5th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages:  176 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: The second book in the totally outrageous adventures of Nelson Hunter – the boy who hates vegetables. Featuring a serious spy mystery and an epic broccoli-fuelled battle! Nelson is a hilarious illustrated… Continue reading Nelson: Broccoli and Spies by Andrew Levins

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, Dystopia, Ella at Eden, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, Futuristic Fiction, Garth Nix, historical fiction, history, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, Meg Keneally, memoir, middle grade, Monsarrat Series, Natasha Lester, non-fiction, Picture Books, Pippa's Island, Publishers, quiz books, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

Challenge Completed – Dymocks Reading Challenge

The idea with this challenge was to read one book every two weeks – I managed to knock most of the categories out within a few months, and when going over the lists for each one Dymocks had on their website, I found out I could finish them with stuff I had already read. So… Continue reading Challenge Completed – Dymocks Reading Challenge

Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

The Incredible Runaway Snot by Josh Pyke and Heath McKenzie

Title: The Incredible Runaway Snot Author: Josh Pyke and Heath McKenzie Genre: Humour Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st November 2020 Format: Hardback Pages: 24 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Ages 3+ Hilariously cheeky new picture book from award- winning singer/songwriter, Josh Pyke Eric the snot just wants peace and quiet, but there’s a sudden boom in the… Continue reading The Incredible Runaway Snot by Josh Pyke and Heath McKenzie

animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

The Grinny, Granny Donkey by Craig Smith, Katz Cowley (illustrator)

Title: The Grinny, Granny Donkey Author: Craig Smith, Katz Cowley (illustrator) Genre: Humour Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st November 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: The Grinny Granny Donkey is the third book from Craig Smith and Katz Cowley, the creative team behind the Scottish Granny internet sensation, The Wonky Donkey! At a… Continue reading The Grinny, Granny Donkey by Craig Smith, Katz Cowley (illustrator)

adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Disgusting McGrossface Goes on Holiday by Rove McManus

Title: Disgusting McGrossface Goes on Holiday Author: Rove McManus Genre: Humour Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st November 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: A NEW picture book written AND illustrated by Australian actor and TV Personality ROVE McMANUS! ·  Sequel to the popular picture book, Disgusting McGrossface.·  Laugh-out-loud rhyming text that will have… Continue reading Disgusting McGrossface Goes on Holiday by Rove McManus

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain by Jo Simmons

Title: I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain Author: Jo Simmons Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons, this is a new hilarious adventure from the creative team behind the bestselling I Swapped My Brother On The Internet.Keith has entered… Continue reading I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain by Jo Simmons