#loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Garth Nix, historical fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Left-Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

Title: The Left-Handed Booksellers of London Author: Garth Nix Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 29th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: From the bestselling author of Angel Mage, this new fantasy adventure set in 1980s London follows one girl's quest to find her father, leading her to a secret society of… Continue reading The Left-Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

adventure, Children's Literature, Cressida Cowell, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Wizards of Once

Wizards of Once: Never and Forever by Cressida Cowell

Title: Wizards of Once: Never and Forever Author: Cressida Cowell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hodder Children’s/Hachette Published:  22nd September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 385 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The final book in the Wizards of Once quartet. Warriors and Wizards combine forces against the dreadful power of the Kingwitch, whose searing evil threatens not only the Wildwoods,… Continue reading Wizards of Once: Never and Forever by Cressida Cowell

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Cressida Cowell, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times by Cressida Cowell

Title: Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times Author: Cressida Cowell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books/Hachette Published: 24th September 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 460 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The No.1 bestselling series from the author of HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON, Cressida Cowell. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful Magic in an exciting… Continue reading Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times by Cressida Cowell

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Book Bingo Nine 2020 – Themes of Culture

For September’s Book Bingo with Amanda and Theresa, I am marking off the themes of culture square with The Republic of Birds by Jessica Miller and can report that the first row down has hit BINGO. Themes of culture was always going to be an open topic as well – there are so many ways… Continue reading Book Bingo Nine 2020 – Themes of Culture

Book Industry, Books, challenges, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

A Girl Made of Air by Nydia Hetherington

Title: A Girl Made of Air Author: Nydia Hetherington Genre: Historical Fiction, Folklore, Myth, Magical Realism Publisher: Hachette/Quercus Published: 8th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 376 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A lyrical debut packed with myth, magic and folklore, perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern and Angela Carter 'A captivating tale of love and loss and… Continue reading A Girl Made of Air by Nydia Hetherington

#LoveOZMG, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Eloise and the Bucket of Stars by Janeen Brian

Title: Eloise and the Bucket of Stars Author: Janeen Brian Genre: Historical Fiction, Magical Realism Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 1st June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Left in a pail at an orphanage as a baby, only something magical can save Eloise from a miserable life and give her the one… Continue reading Eloise and the Bucket of Stars by Janeen Brian

adventure, animals, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, classics, Covers, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll, MinaLima Design (Illustrator)

Title: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass Author: Lewis Carroll, MinaLima Design (Illustrator) Genre: Fantasy Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 21/10/2019 Format: Hardcover Pages: 320 Price: $39.99 Synopsis: Lewis Carroll's beloved classic stories are reimagined in this deluxe illustrated gift edition from the award-winning design studio behind the graphics for the Harry Potter… Continue reading Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll, MinaLima Design (Illustrator)

#loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

Gom’s Gold by S.L. Mills

 Title: Gom’s Gold Author: S.L. Mills Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Stem Enterprises/self-published Published: 7th December 2014 Format: Paperback Pages: 228 Price: $20.00 Synopsis: A fairytale castle surrounded by rainbows stands high on a plateau in Australia’s Blue Mountains. Inhabited by a strange boy with a pet magpie and a grumpy old man, it is just too… Continue reading Gom’s Gold by S.L. Mills

#loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Impossible Quest, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Young Adult

Battle of the Heroes (Impossible Quest #5) by Kate Forsyth

Title: Battle of the Heroes (Impossible Quest #5) Author: Kate Forsyth Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published:  1st September 2015 Format: Paperback Pages: 188 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Do not lose faith. Remember the words of the story, remember the words of the spell... Quinn, Sebastian, Elanor and Tom have defeated the black witch Githa and… Continue reading Battle of the Heroes (Impossible Quest #5) by Kate Forsyth

#loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Impossible Quest, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

The Beast of Blackmoor Bog (Impossible Quest #3) by Kate Forsyth

Title: The Beast of Blackmoor Bog (Impossible Quest #3) Author: Kate Forsyth Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st February 2015 Format: Paperback Pages: 192 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: After escaping the bog-men in the wilds of the Witchwood, Sebastian, Quinn, Elanor and Tom journey south on their impossible quest. Sebastian and Elanor seek help from… Continue reading The Beast of Blackmoor Bog (Impossible Quest #3) by Kate Forsyth