#AussieAuthor2021, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Coco and the Bee by Laura Bunting, illustrated by Nicky Johnston

Title: Coco and the Bee Author: Laura Bunting, illustrated by Nicky Johnston Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st September 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 48 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Book three in a delightful new series by Laura Bunting, in stunning large format hardback, embossed. Irresistible and adorable illustrations by Nicky Johnston. Destined to be every… Continue reading Coco and the Bee by Laura Bunting, illustrated by Nicky Johnston

animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Magical Bookshop by Katja Frixe, translated by Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp

Title: The Magical Bookshop Author: Katja Frixe, translated by Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Bloomsbury/One World Published: 3rd August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 144 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: This is Clara's favourite place in the whole world. Here, Clara can settle down and get lost in one of the many books, joke around with… Continue reading The Magical Bookshop by Katja Frixe, translated by Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp

animals, Australian literature, Book bingo, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Chatterpuss by Josh Pyke, illustrated by Daron Parton

Title: Chatterpuss Author: Josh Pyke, illustrated by Daron Parton Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st July 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Ages 3+ An exciting new picture book from award-winning  singer/songwriter, Josh PykeMeet Chatterpuss—a cat who really loves to chat!Glenn the hen just wants peace and quiet. But when the big… Continue reading Chatterpuss by Josh Pyke, illustrated by Daron Parton

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Coco and the Butterfly by Laura Bunting and Nicky Johnston

Title: Coco and the Butterfly Author: Laura Bunting and Nicky Johnston Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: March 2021 Format: Hardback Pages: 48 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Book #2 in delightful new series by Laura Bunting, in stunning large format hardback, embossedIrresistible and adorable illustrations by Nicky JohnsonDestined to be every little girl’s new favourite characterPerfect… Continue reading Coco and the Butterfly by Laura Bunting and Nicky Johnston

adventure, animals, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Marshmallow Pie, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, short stories

Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar on TV by Clara Vulliamy

Title: Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar on TV Author: Clara Vulliamy Genre: Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Published: 5th August 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 128 Price: $9.99 Synopsis: The second book in the Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar series by Clara Vulliamy, the author-illustrator of Dotty Detective. Perfect for fans of Toto the Ninja Cat or The… Continue reading Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar on TV by Clara Vulliamy

animals, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Marshmallow Pie, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar by Clara Vulliamy

Title: Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar Author: Clara Vulliamy Genre: Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Published: 5th August 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 128 Price: $9.99 Synopsis: A hilarious new series from Clara Vulliamy, the author-illustrator of Dotty Detective, about grumpy cat Marshmallow Pie and his reluctant pursuit of stardom. Perfect for fans of Toto the Ninja Cat… Continue reading Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar by Clara Vulliamy

adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Kitty is Not a Cat: Teddy’s Bear by Jess Black

Title: Kitty is Not a Cat: Teddy’s Bear Author: Jess Black Genre: Fiction Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Australia Published: 28th June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 60 Price: $9.99 Synopsis: What could be better than a cuddly teddy bear? How about a real-life grizzly bear! A warmly funny junior-fiction series about Kitty, a little girl who believes she… Continue reading Kitty is Not a Cat: Teddy’s Bear by Jess Black

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Christmas, Crime/Mystery, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Isolation Publicity, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

March 2020 Round Up

March was a strange month – it started out as normal as could be, though we knew about the coronavirus, and then a few weeks into March, everything changed, and by the end of it, they had changed again with strict social distancing rules. Despite this, I got a lot of reading done. My stats… Continue reading March 2020 Round Up

#loveozya, A Murder Most Unladylike, adventure, animals, Anna James, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Deltora Quest, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, middle grade, Pages and Co Series, Phryne Fisher, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

July Reading Round-Up

Seven months into the year, and in total, I have read 118 books. Of those 118, 58 have been by Australian Women, and the remaining 60 by authors across the board - male, female and international. I am still trying to make progress on my Jane Austen challenge and have one square left to tick… Continue reading July Reading Round-Up

Bella Donna, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Bella Donna: Coven Road by Ruth Symes (Bella Donna #1)

Title: Bella Donna: Coven Road Author:  Ruth Symes Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin/Picadilly Published: 7th January 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 180 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A witch, a cat and a lot of magic! A witch, a cat and a lot of magic! Some girls dream of being a princess, but Bella Donna has always… Continue reading Bella Donna: Coven Road by Ruth Symes (Bella Donna #1)