adventure, Book Industry, Books, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Young Adult

Bianca de Lumiere by Lisette Prende

Title: Bianca de Lumiere Author: Lisette Prende Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Self-published Published: 8th August 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 300 Price: NZ$25.00 Synopsis: “Why can’t I just be a normal teenager?” “Oh Bee, there’s no such thing as a normal teenager.” “There’s gotta be something more normal than all of this!” Sixteen-year-old Bianca Taylor just wants to be… Continue reading Bianca de Lumiere by Lisette Prende

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The Unadoptables by Hana Tooke

Title: The Unadoptables Author: Hana Tooke Genre: Fantasy, Historical Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd July 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The amazing humour and world-building of Nevermoor meets the wisdom and warmth of Rooftoppers in this most un-ordinary adventure about five amazing children . . . 'Milou,' Lotta said softly. 'We need adoption papers to leave.… Continue reading The Unadoptables by Hana Tooke

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Books and Bites Book Bingo Travel Memoir: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

  A travel memoir is one area I wasn’t sure what I would find – but as with all my challenges, I have been finding fun and inventive ways to interpret the categories I thought I might struggle with. This time I am marking off my thirteenth square and gaining a BINGO for the first… Continue reading Books and Bites Book Bingo Travel Memoir: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Peta Lyre’s Rating Normal by Anna Whateley

Title: Peta Lyre’s Rating Normal Author: Anna Whateley Genre: Fiction, Young Adult Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 28th April 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 248 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: At sixteen, neurodivergent Peta Lyre is the success story of social training. That is, until she finds herself on a school ski trip - and falling in love… Continue reading Peta Lyre’s Rating Normal by Anna Whateley

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Writing

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Orion/Hachette Australia Published: 28th April 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 380 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of THE TRAIN TO IMPOSSIBLE PLACES and THE POLAR BEAR EXPLORERS' CLUB. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

Book Industry, Books, classics, Fables, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Deathless Girls by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Title: The Deathless Girls Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Genre: Historical, Gothic, Fantasy Publisher: Bellatrix/Hachette Published: 24th September 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 310 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Gothic, intoxicating, feminist and romantic - this is the breathtakingly imagined untold story of the brides of Dracula, by bestselling author Kiran Millwood Hargrave in her much-anticipated YA debut. Gothic,… Continue reading The Deathless Girls by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Title: Caraval Author: Stephanie Garber Genre: Fantasy/YA Publisher: Hodder and Stoughton Published: 31 January 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 402 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: Welcome to Caraval, where nothing is quite what it seems. Scarlett has never left the tiny isle of Trisda, pining from afar for the wonder of Caraval, a once-a-year week-long performance where the… Continue reading Caraval by Stephanie Garber