#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Housemate by Sarah Bailey

Title: The Housemate Author: Sarah Bailey Genre: Crime Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 464 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: The new standalone thriller from the award-winning writer of the bestselling Gemma Woodstock trilogy: The Dark Lake, Into the Night and Where the Dead Go.Three housemates. One dead, one missing and one accused of murder.Dubbed the… Continue reading The Housemate by Sarah Bailey

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

adventure, Alexander McCall-Smith, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Noah Wild and the Floating Zoo by Alexander McCall-Smith

Title: Noah Wild and the Floating Zoo Author: Alexander McCall-Smith Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloosmbury Published: 3rd August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 128 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Noah looked at Hatty. ‘Imagine having a zoo,’ he said. It’s full-time monkey business on the high seas in this new family adventure from Alexander McCall-Smith, the best-selling author of… Continue reading Noah Wild and the Floating Zoo by Alexander McCall-Smith

animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Magical Bookshop by Katja Frixe, translated by Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp

Title: The Magical Bookshop Author: Katja Frixe, translated by Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Bloomsbury/One World Published: 3rd August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 144 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: This is Clara's favourite place in the whole world. Here, Clara can settle down and get lost in one of the many books, joke around with… Continue reading The Magical Bookshop by Katja Frixe, translated by Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Super Geeks: Planet Pancake by James Hart

Title: Super Geeks: Planet Pancake Author: James Hart Genre: Science Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 208 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Zeek and Arnie are back in another hilarious action-packed adventure featuring pirates, pancakes and the edge of the world . . . When Zeek and Arnie hear about a heap of… Continue reading Super Geeks: Planet Pancake by James Hart

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, middle grade, non-fiction, Pamela Hart, Picture Books, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

May 2021 Round Up

Current stats: Modern Mrs Darcy – 13/14 Australian Authors Challenge – 24/24 (47) AWW2021 – 75/50 Dymocks Reading Challenge – 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge – 24/26 Overall goal – 122/170 In May, I managed to read 36 books, with a vast majority by Australian authors, and have almost finished my reading challenges – with a… Continue reading May 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Can’t Say it Went to Plan by Gabrielle Tozer

Title: Can’t Say it Went to Plan Author: Gabrielle Tozer Genre: Contemporary Young Adult Publisher: HarperCollins/Angus and Robertson Published: 5th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: From the award-winning author of The Intern, Faking It and Remind Me How This Ends. School's out. Forget study, exams and mapping out the future. For the next seven days,… Continue reading Can’t Say it Went to Plan by Gabrielle Tozer

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

The Holocaust: A Chronicle of History and Hope by Hugh Dolan, illustrated by Adrian Barbu

Title: The Holocaust: A Chronicle of History and Hope Author: Hugh Dolan, illustrated by Adrian Barbu Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Press Australia Published: 1st April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 80 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Age 9+ ·  Powerful, moving, graphic novel ·  Personal stories against a broad historical context ·  Incorporates original images and documents… Continue reading The Holocaust: A Chronicle of History and Hope by Hugh Dolan, illustrated by Adrian Barbu

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

The Gentle Genius of Trees by Philip Bunting

Title: The Gentle Genius of Trees Author: Philip Bunting Genre: Non-Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia/Omnibus Books Published: 1st April 2021 Format: Hardback Pages: 32 Price: $19.99 Synopsis:  A funny, forensic, forest of facts exploring the brilliance of trees, from photosynthesis, symbiosis, and the wood-wide web·  From the quirky and celebrated author/illustrator of How Did I Get… Continue reading The Gentle Genius of Trees by Philip Bunting

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

Title: House of Hollow Author: Krystal Sutherland Genre: Young Adult, fantasy, mystery, urban fantasy/fairy tale Publisher: Penguin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: 'This dark, deliciously twisted novel has everything you could hope for as a reader – a brilliant concept, glamorous characters with secrets to hide, immersive world-building, and… Continue reading House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland