#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Friday Barnes, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series

Friday Barnes: Bitter Enemies by R.A. Spratt

Title: Friday Barnes: Bitter Enemies Author: R.A. Spratt Genre: Mystery Publisher: Puffin Published: 7th January 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: Headmasters behaving badly! Headmasters behaving badly! When four former headmasters arrive at Highcrest Academy to take part in the school’s anniversary celebrations, the students are warned to be on their best behaviour.… Continue reading Friday Barnes: Bitter Enemies by R.A. Spratt

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Reading, Reviews

Dymocks Reading Challenge 2021

The final challenge I am taking part in this year is the Dymocks Reading Challenge. It also has fairly open categories – here, things can be interpreted in a myriad of ways. I think this makes for an effective challenge, as I can often find a way to make what I am reading work for… Continue reading Dymocks Reading Challenge 2021

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Christmas, classics, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Roald Dahl, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories

December 2020 Wrap Up post

December 2020 saw me reading my final 22 books for the year, bringing me to 239 for the year.  Of these books, three were rereads, and another was one that I chose not to review, and therefore not reviewed, and two were reviews that are for books coming out in January 2021 and will therefore… Continue reading December 2020 Wrap Up post

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Philosopher’s Daughters by Alison Booth

Title: The Philosopher’s Daughters Author: Alison Booth Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Red Door Press Published: 2nd April 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: A tale of two very different sisters whose 1890s voyage from London into remote outback Australia becomes a journey of self-discovery, set against a landscape of wild beauty and savage… Continue reading The Philosopher’s Daughters by Alison Booth

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, A Murder Most Unladylike, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, Kensy and Max, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, spies, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

October Wrap Up 2020

As we head into the pointy end of the year, I’ve had to make the decision to change the way I tackle challenges, doubling up where I can, and even thinking about reducing the challenges I take on next year, due to the overly prescriptive nature of the reading challenges that are available, and at… Continue reading October Wrap Up 2020

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

2020 CBCA Awards

Congrats to the winners! Such an achievement and great news for the local book industry.  Some great ideas for Christmas for the young readers in your lives! Announcement: The CBCA Awards for 2020 were announced today, and are as follows: CBCA Book of the Year 2020 winners announced 16 October 2020 The winners of the… Continue reading 2020 CBCA Awards

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Around the World Supper Club, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Pippa's Island, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Rowland Sinclair, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, Sulari Gentill

Books and Bites Bingo Update Two

In the past four months, I have managed to fill in twenty out of twenty-five categories in Books and Bites Bingo with Monique Mulligan. I have a few of the others planned, and others I need to decide. I have three months to complete this and my other challenges and hope that I can make… Continue reading Books and Bites Bingo Update Two

Book Industry, Books, challenges, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

A Girl Made of Air by Nydia Hetherington

Title: A Girl Made of Air Author: Nydia Hetherington Genre: Historical Fiction, Folklore, Myth, Magical Realism Publisher: Hachette/Quercus Published: 8th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 376 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A lyrical debut packed with myth, magic and folklore, perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern and Angela Carter 'A captivating tale of love and loss and… Continue reading A Girl Made of Air by Nydia Hetherington

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, A.L. Tait, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Cora Bell, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, Isolation Publicity, Jacqueline Harvey, Jinxed, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Marshmallow Pie, Maven and Reeve, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

August 2020 Wrap Up

In August, I read twenty-one books. Thirteen were written by Australian Women Writers, and all contributed to my challenges across the board. Several were part of series, and many were review books. Some I had been looking forward to, and one from Scholastic Australia, by comedian Rove McManus was a surprise arrival, and one that… Continue reading August 2020 Wrap Up

Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, The Nerd Daily

Moonflower Murders by Anthony Horowitz

Title: Moonflower Murders Author: Anthony Horowitz Genre: Crime Publisher: Penguin Random House Published: 18th August 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 608 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Featuring his famous literary detective Atticus Pund and Susan Ryeland, hero of the worldwide bestseller Magpie Murders, a brilliantly complex literary thriller by Anthony Horowitz. The follow-up to Magpie Murders. A labyrinth… Continue reading Moonflower Murders by Anthony Horowitz