#AussieAuthors2022, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Flipper and Finnegan: The True Story of How Jumpers Saved Little Penguins by Sophie Cunningham, Anil Tortop

Title: Flipper and Finnegan: The True Story of How Jumpers Saved Little Penguins Author: Sophie Cunningham, Anil Tortop Genre: Non-Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin/Albert Street Books Published: 16th August 2022 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: From the bestselling creators of Tippy & Jellybean - The True Story of the Brave Koala who Saved Her… Continue reading Flipper and Finnegan: The True Story of How Jumpers Saved Little Penguins by Sophie Cunningham, Anil Tortop

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, Children's Literature, classics, Emily Rodda, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Dog Tales (21st Anniversary Edition) by Emily Rodda

Title: Dog Tales (21st Anniversary Edition) Author: Emily Rodda Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st June 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 224 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: The Dolan Street dogs are Max 1, Max 2, Barney, Scruffy, Gina and Mavis. (Mavis is really a goat, but no-one has ever told her this.) All sorts of interesting… Continue reading Dog Tales (21st Anniversary Edition) by Emily Rodda

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Young Adult

10 Minutes of Danger by Jack Heath

Title: 10 Minutes of Danger Author: Jack Heath Genre: Adventure/Action/Thriller Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st July 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 192 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: 20 stories. 20 dangerous situations. 20 brave kids. 10 minutes to escape. Dodi is in the blast radius of an asteroid on a collision course with Earth. Gary is stuck up… Continue reading 10 Minutes of Danger by Jack Heath

#AussieAuthors2022, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Miss Understood by Kathryn Apel and Beau Wylie (Illustrator)

Title: Miss Understood Author: Kathryn Apel and Beau Wylie (Illustrator) Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st May 2022 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: I'm the wolf, Miss Understood. You think I'm bad, but I am good. Those Little Pigs told you a porker made it sound like I'm a stalker! Is the… Continue reading Miss Understood by Kathryn Apel and Beau Wylie (Illustrator)

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Alice England, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Dani Vee, Enola Holmes, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, Larrikin House, middle grade, Picture Books, Polly and Buster, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Sally Rippin, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction, spies, The Girls Who Change the World

July 2022 Round-Up

In July 2022, I read 23 books, attended one book launch at Gleebooks, and maintained my goals to read as many Australian authors as possible, and keep on top of my review books. It’s meant I’ve been able to read other things in between the review books, and have managed to finish everything I have… Continue reading July 2022 Round-Up

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, spies, The Girls Who Change the World

The Girls Who Changed the World: Ming and Marie Spy for Freedom by Jackie French

Title: The Girls Who Changed the World: Ming and Marie Spy for Freedom Author: Jackie French Genre: Historical Fiction, Time Slip Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 3rd August 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: An empowering and exhilarating look at the girls who went before us, and the way they shaped the world. Ming… Continue reading The Girls Who Changed the World: Ming and Marie Spy for Freedom by Jackie French

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, humour, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Dead Good Detectives by Jenny McLachlan

Title: Dead Good Detectives Author: Jenny McLachlan Genre: Magical Realism, Mystery Publisher: HarperCollins/Farshore Fiction Published: 3rd August 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Meet the ghosts in this hilariously heart-racing and spooky adventure and young souls of 8+ by the author of the bestselling Land of Roar series. Perfect for fans of BBC’s Ghosts!Sid Jones loves hanging… Continue reading Dead Good Detectives by Jenny McLachlan

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, adventure, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Miss Penny Dreadful and the Midnight Kittens by Allison Rushby

Title: Miss Penny Dreadful and the Midnight Kittens Author: Allison Rushby Genre: Mystery, Historical Fiction, School Stories, Paranormal Publisher: Walker Books Published: 3rd August 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 144 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: "Now, Miss Pickering." Miss Strickland turned to her pupil. "If you would be so kind as to close the door behind you, we… Continue reading Miss Penny Dreadful and the Midnight Kittens by Allison Rushby

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Travelling Bookshop: Mim and the Anxious Artist by Katrina Nannestad

Title: The Travelling Bookshop: Mim and the Anxious Artist Author: Katrina Nannestad Genre: Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 3rd August 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: The right book might just change your life ... Mim Cohen roams the world in a travelling bookshop, with her dad and brother and a horse called… Continue reading The Travelling Bookshop: Mim and the Anxious Artist by Katrina Nannestad

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Silver Sea by Belinda Murrell

Title: The Silver Sea Author: Belinda Murrell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd August 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The second book in Belinda Murrell’s Tuscian series, set in an Italian Renaissance inspired world filled with magic, mystery, mischievous creatures, and danger at every turn! ‘You don’t understand how dangerous this is.… Continue reading The Silver Sea by Belinda Murrell