#AussieAuthor2021, #AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Young Adult

My January 2022 Reading Update

Aussie Author Reading Challenge: 16/24 Dymocks Reading Challenge: 18/26 QBD Reading Challenge: 15/24 Goal: 25/150 Australian Women: 13 Australian Men: 3 Australian: 16 Non-Australian: 9 I made a good start on my reading in January – I got through all the review books sent to me that have been slated for release between January and… Continue reading My January 2022 Reading Update

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, memoir, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Real Pigeons, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, spies, Young Adult

September 2021 Round Up

In September, I read 21 books, and most of those were again Australian authors, with two quiz books and 19 review books. To date on the day of writing this, I have read 217 books, and September saw me reach 215 books for 2021. I completed my Dymocks Reading Challenge, leaving only my QBD Challenge… Continue reading September 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Ella at Eden, Enola Holmes, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

August Round-Up 2021

August saw most of Australia back in lockdown due to the Delta variant of COVID, so it was a great month to get on top of my reading as much as I could. Between books for work and review, I read 29 books, and reviewed most of them. Again, most were by Australian authors, with… Continue reading August Round-Up 2021

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Ella at Eden, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Ella at Eden: Camp Midnight by Laura Sieveking

Title: Ella at Eden: Camp Midnight Author: Laura Sieveking Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 192 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: The girls from Eden College are going on a camping trip to Mount Midnight National Park. Ella is nervous but excited about camping in a tent in the middle of… Continue reading Ella at Eden: Camp Midnight by Laura Sieveking

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, middle grade, non-fiction, Pamela Hart, Picture Books, Poppy McGowan, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction

May 2021 Round Up

Current stats: Modern Mrs Darcy – 13/14 Australian Authors Challenge – 24/24 (47) AWW2021 – 75/50 Dymocks Reading Challenge – 24/26 QBD Reading Challenge – 24/26 Overall goal – 122/170 In May, I managed to read 36 books, with a vast majority by Australian authors, and have almost finished my reading challenges – with a… Continue reading May 2021 Round Up

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Ella at Eden, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, The Modern Mrs Darcy

November 2020 Wrap up

As we come to the end of the year, I am wrapping up as much as I can. I have completed five of my eight goals, and four of seven challenges – I hope to complete the others as I am very close to doing so and have a few ideas of what to use.… Continue reading November 2020 Wrap up

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain by Jo Simmons

Title: I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain Author: Jo Simmons Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons, this is a new hilarious adventure from the creative team behind the bestselling I Swapped My Brother On The Internet.Keith has entered… Continue reading I Stole My Genius Sister’s Brain by Jo Simmons

#loveozya, A Murder Most Unladylike, adventure, Alexander McCall-Smith, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Awards, Belinda Murrell, Bella Donna, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, Chain of Charms, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Covers, Crime/Mystery, Deltora Quest, Dystopia, Emily Rodda, Enola Holmes, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, Impossible Quest, Jackie French, Jaclyn Moriarty, Jane Austen, Kate Forsyth, Kensy and Max, literary fiction, Lucy Worsley, Lynette Noni, Matilda Saga, May Gibbs, Medoran Chronicles, middle grade, Miss Lily, Mitford Murders, Natasha Lester, No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency, non-fiction, Pages and Co Series, Philip Pullman, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Pippa's Island, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Rowan of Rin, Rowland Sinclair, Scholastic, series, short stories, spies, Sulari Gentill, The Book of Dust, The Mitford Murders

Pop Sugar Challenge Wrap Up 2019

In 2019 I also participated in the Pop Sugar Challenge. I missed out on completing this by one, mainly because time just ran out and I never got to it. Below is my list of categories that I completed. I am thinking of trying a different one this year, as I feel the categories are… Continue reading Pop Sugar Challenge Wrap Up 2019

Books, challenges, Christmas, classics, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Nutcracker by Alexandre Dumas

Title: The Nutcracker (Barnes & Noble Leather-bound Pocket Editions) Author: Alexandre Dumas Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: Barnes and Noble Inc/Fall River Press Published: 1st September 2018 Format: Leather bound Pages: 152 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Discover the real story behind the Disney holiday film, The Nutcracker and the Four Realms, and the famous Nutcracker Christmas ballet,… Continue reading The Nutcracker by Alexandre Dumas

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Events, history, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

A.A. Milne’s Birthday – Winnie-the-Pooh Day

Today marks A.A. Milne’s birthday. One hundred and thirty-four years ago, on the 18th of January 1882, Alan Alexander Milne was born in London. He attended Trinity College at Cambridge University before writing for Punch, and serving in World War One. A pacifist at heart, Milne served in the Royal Warwickshire Regiment, followed by the… Continue reading A.A. Milne’s Birthday – Winnie-the-Pooh Day