#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Charlotte Barkla, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Edie's Experiments, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Jacqueline Harvey, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, Kensy and Max, literary fiction, middle grade, Miss Lily, Monty's Island, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, satire, series, Speculative fiction, spies, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily, Tim Harris, Toffle Towers, Writing, Young Adult

June 2020 Wrap Up

  The Modern Mrs Darcy 11/12 AWW2020 – 67/25 Book Bingo – 12/12 The Nerd Daily Challenge 45/52 Dymocks Reading Challenge 23/25 Books and Bites Bingo 15/25 STFU Reading Challenge: 9/12 General Goal –110/165   In June, I managed to read eighteen books in total, fourteen by Australian authors, and all but one of those… Continue reading June 2020 Wrap Up

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Writing

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Orion/Hachette Australia Published: 28th April 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 380 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of THE TRAIN TO IMPOSSIBLE PLACES and THE POLAR BEAR EXPLORERS' CLUB. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Writing

The Lost Jewels by Kirsty Manning

Title: The Lost Jewels Author: Kirsty Manning Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st March 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: From the bestselling author of The Jade Lily comes a thrilling modern-day treasure hunt brimming with family secrets. Inspired by a true story, The Lost Jewels unfolds an incredible mystery of thievery, sacrifice and… Continue reading The Lost Jewels by Kirsty Manning

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Writing

Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valour by Ally Carter’

Title: Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valour Author: Ally Carter Genre: Fiction Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Australia Published: 3rd March 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 340 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: New York Times bestselling author Ally Carter's middle grade debut is full of mystery, mayhem, and friendship, and will keep you guessing right until the very end. When 11-year-old April… Continue reading Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valour by Ally Carter’

#loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, Dystopia, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, historical fiction, history, House of Heroes, humour, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, The Nerd Daily, translated works, Writing, Young Adult

February 2020 Round Up

In February this year I read seventeen books – several for pleasure, some for quiz writing purposes and the rest for review purposes – most coming out in March or in the next few months. My current total stats for my reading challenges are: The Modern Mrs Darcy 9/12 AWW2020 -15/25 Book Bingo - 9/12… Continue reading February 2020 Round Up

#loveozya, Anita Heiss, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Clementine Rose, Crime/Mystery, Dr Pimms, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Garth Nix, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Jaclyn Moriarty, Jacqueline Harvey, Kate Forsyth, Kate Morton, Kensy and Max, Kingdoms and Empires Series, literary fiction, LJM Owen, Medoran Chronicles, memoir, middle grade, Miss Lily, Natasha Lester, Nevermoor, non-fiction, Picture Books, Pippa's Island, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Rowan of Rin, Rowland Sinclair, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, Sulari Gentill, Writing, Young Adult

Bookish Podcasts

In the last year, I’ve discovered podcasts, and the ones I mainly listen to revolve around books, history and popular culture. Because podcasts are generally short – usually no longer than an hour for the ones I listen to, I find them great to pop on whilst working or writing and just listen to them… Continue reading Bookish Podcasts

#loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, poetry, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, Writing, Young Adult

Adding two more challenges…

  Today whilst making sure I’d set up my challenge document properly, I came across two more challenges. The Dymocks Reading Challenge, and the STUF #AusLit Reading Challenges. Like my other challenges, both these challenges have categories flexible enough to work with what I read, and with the odd category I’ll need to work to… Continue reading Adding two more challenges…

#loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Covers, Crime/Mystery, Deltora Quest, Dystopia, Emily Rodda, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Impossible Quest, Jackie French, Jane Austen, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, Matilda Saga, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, parody, Picture Books, Pippa's Island, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Sulari Gentill, Writing, Young Adult

November Round up 2019

Nearly at the end of the year – and I am compiling my reads and reviews from November. Between work, reviewing and my own reading, I read eighteen books in November, bringing me to 188 for the year in total, and twelve of those books were by Australian women. In November, I participated in #AusReadingMonth… Continue reading November Round up 2019

Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, parody, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sulari Gentill, Writing

Crossing the Lines by Sulari Gentill

Title: Crossing the Lines Author: Sulari Gentill Genre: Literary Fiction, Crime Publisher: Pantera Press Published: 1st August 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 265 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: Winner of the Ned Kelly Best Crime Fiction Award 2018 When Madeleine d’Leon conjures Ned McGinnity as the hero in her latest crime novel, she makes him a serious writer… Continue reading Crossing the Lines by Sulari Gentill

Book Industry, Books, challenges, history, memoir, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Writing

Mudlarking: Lost and Found of the River Thames by Lara Maiklem

Title: Mudlarking: Lost and Found of the River Thames Author: Lara Mailkem Genre: Non-Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Circus Published: 15th October 2019 Format: Hardcover Pages: 320 Price: $32.99 Synopsis:  Mudlark (/'mAdla;k/) noun A person who scavenges for usable debris in the mud of a river or harbour Lara Maiklem has scoured the banks of the Thames for over… Continue reading Mudlarking: Lost and Found of the River Thames by Lara Maiklem