#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Charlotte Barkla, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Edie's Experiments, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Jacqueline Harvey, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, Kensy and Max, literary fiction, middle grade, Miss Lily, Monty's Island, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, satire, series, Speculative fiction, spies, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily, Tim Harris, Toffle Towers, Writing, Young Adult

June 2020 Wrap Up

  The Modern Mrs Darcy 11/12 AWW2020 – 67/25 Book Bingo – 12/12 The Nerd Daily Challenge 45/52 Dymocks Reading Challenge 23/25 Books and Bites Bingo 15/25 STFU Reading Challenge: 9/12 General Goal –110/165   In June, I managed to read eighteen books in total, fourteen by Australian authors, and all but one of those… Continue reading June 2020 Wrap Up

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Writing

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Orion/Hachette Australia Published: 28th April 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 380 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of THE TRAIN TO IMPOSSIBLE PLACES and THE POLAR BEAR EXPLORERS' CLUB. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Events, Interviews, Isolation Publicity, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Young Adult

Isolation Publicity with Middle Grade Mavens

  Due to recent events, many Australian authors have had to cancel book launches and festival appearances. For some, this means new novels, series continuations and debut novels are heading into this scary, strange world without much publicity or attention. The good news is, you can still buy books – online or get your local… Continue reading Isolation Publicity with Middle Grade Mavens

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, historical fiction, history, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Blog Tour Review: The Deceptions by Suzanne Leal

Title: The Deceptions Author: Suzanne Leal Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 31st March 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: Long-buried family secrets surface in a compelling new novel from the author of The Teacher's Secret. Moving from wartime Europe to modern day Australia, The Deceptions is a powerful story of old transgressions, unexpected… Continue reading Blog Tour Review: The Deceptions by Suzanne Leal

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Books and Bites Bingo Set in Europe: Josephine’s Garden by Stephanie Parkyn

The third square I am marking off is a book set in Europe. With this one, I had many countries, genres, time periods and authors to choose from that are on my shelf and will be headed my way. However, as my goal is to mark off the easier categories in all challenges first, with… Continue reading Books and Bites Bingo Set in Europe: Josephine’s Garden by Stephanie Parkyn

#loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, poetry, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, Writing, Young Adult

Adding two more challenges…

  Today whilst making sure I’d set up my challenge document properly, I came across two more challenges. The Dymocks Reading Challenge, and the STUF #AusLit Reading Challenges. Like my other challenges, both these challenges have categories flexible enough to work with what I read, and with the odd category I’ll need to work to… Continue reading Adding two more challenges…

#loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Covers, Crime/Mystery, Deltora Quest, Dystopia, Emily Rodda, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Impossible Quest, Jackie French, Jane Austen, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, Matilda Saga, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, parody, Picture Books, Pippa's Island, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Sulari Gentill, Writing, Young Adult

November Round up 2019

Nearly at the end of the year – and I am compiling my reads and reviews from November. Between work, reviewing and my own reading, I read eighteen books in November, bringing me to 188 for the year in total, and twelve of those books were by Australian women. In November, I participated in #AusReadingMonth… Continue reading November Round up 2019

Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Case of the Wandering Scholar (Laetitia Rodd #2) by Kate Saunders

Title: The Case of the Wandering Scholar Author: Kate Saunders Genre: Historical Fiction, Crime/Mystery Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 1st October 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: It is 1851 and Mrs Rodd has received an unusual commission: wealthy businessman Jacob Welland is dying of consumption and implores our redoubtable detective to find his… Continue reading The Case of the Wandering Scholar (Laetitia Rodd #2) by Kate Saunders

#loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Christmas, classics, Covers, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, history, Impossible Quest, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, Lynette Noni, middle grade, Mitford Murders, Philip Pullman, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction, The Mitford Murders, Young Adult

September 2019 Round Up

  This month, I reached my overall reading goal of 150 books with Whisper by Lynette Noni. Overall, I have reached 71 books in my Australian Women Writer's challenge, and am nearing the end of my PopSugar Challenge, with only a few categories left. I also filled out my Book Bingo card for the year,… Continue reading September 2019 Round Up

#loveozya, adventure, Alexander McCall-Smith, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Covers, Crime/Mystery, Deltora Quest, Emily Rodda, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Jacqueline Harvey, Jane Austen, Kensy and Max, literary fiction, middle grade, Mma Ramotswe, No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Rowan of Rin, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction, spies, Young Adult

August Round Up 2019

I managed to read sixteen books in August, and the break down is below for each challenge and collectively in lists and tables. Several were read for review purposes, some for quiz writing purposes and others for my own reading. Some reviews are only going live in September, but others are up and ready to… Continue reading August Round Up 2019