#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, Young Adult

February 2021 Round-up

February’s reading leaped considerably to thirty books read that month for blogging and blog tours, and a couple that I read for myself. I’m yet to start back working as a quiz writer, but I also review for Scholastic, so several of these books were for that. Most were by Australian authors, and about 27… Continue reading February 2021 Round-up

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Dragon and her Boy by Penny Chrimes

Title: The Dragon and her Boy Author: Penny Chrimes Genre: Fantasy, Historical, Time slip Publisher: Hachette Australia/Orion Published: 23rd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: A story of the very last living dragon, stuck living in a tunnel under London, and the boy who unintentionally finds himself as her protector, perfect for… Continue reading The Dragon and her Boy by Penny Chrimes

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Winterborne Home for Mayhem and Mystery by Ally Carter

Title: Winterborne Home for Mayhem and Mystery Author: Ally Carter Genre: Fiction Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Published: 23rd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: April is one of five foster kids living at Winterborne Home, a sprawling mansion full of secrets. The biggest secret is that Gabriel Winterborne, their reclusive millionaire guardian, is actually The… Continue reading Winterborne Home for Mayhem and Mystery by Ally Carter

animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Ultimate Animal Alphabet Book by Jennifer Cossins

Title: The Ultimate Animal Alphabet Book Author: Jennifer Cossins Genre: Education Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Published: 27th October 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: From the Adelie penguin to the zigzag heron, this A-Z book is jam-packed with over 400 animal species and all kinds of interesting animal facts. A companion book to Jennifer Cossins' Ultimate… Continue reading The Ultimate Animal Alphabet Book by Jennifer Cossins

adventure, Children's Literature, Cressida Cowell, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Wizards of Once

Wizards of Once: Never and Forever by Cressida Cowell

Title: Wizards of Once: Never and Forever Author: Cressida Cowell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hodder Children’s/Hachette Published:  22nd September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 385 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The final book in the Wizards of Once quartet. Warriors and Wizards combine forces against the dreadful power of the Kingwitch, whose searing evil threatens not only the Wildwoods,… Continue reading Wizards of Once: Never and Forever by Cressida Cowell

adventure, Book Industry, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Cressida Cowell, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Wizards of Once

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic by Cressida Cowell

Title: The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic Author: Cressida Cowell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette Australia/Hodder Published: 20th September 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 480 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The No.1 Bestselling Series. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful magic in an exciting fantasy adventure from the author of HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON. The… Continue reading The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic by Cressida Cowell

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Cressida Cowell, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, Wizards of Once

Wizards of Once by Cressida Cowell

Title: Wizards of Once Author: Cressida Cowell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Hodder Children’s Books Published: 8th May 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 455 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: From the bestselling author of HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites. #1 Sunday Times Bestseller Winner… Continue reading Wizards of Once by Cressida Cowell

animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, short stories

Kitty is Not a Cat: Light’s Out by Jess Black

Title: Kitty is Not a Cat: Light’s Out Author: Jess Black Genre: Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia/Lothian Published: 28th July 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 60 Price: $9.99 Synopsis: When Kitty arrives on the doorstep of a house full of music-mad felines, their lives are turned upside down as they attempt to teach her how to be… Continue reading Kitty is Not a Cat: Light’s Out by Jess Black

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

When Rain Turns to Snow by Jane Godwin

Title: When Rain Turns to Snow Author: Jane Godwin Genre: Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 30th June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 280 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A beautiful and timely coming-of-age story about finding out who you are in the face of crisis and change. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo, Fiona Wood and Emily Rodda.… Continue reading When Rain Turns to Snow by Jane Godwin

animals, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Elephant Me by Giles Andreae and Guy Parker-Rees

Title: Elephant Me Author: Giles Andreae and Guy Parker-Rees Genre: Fiction Publisher: Hachette/Orchard Books Published: 26th May 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: $24.99 Price: 32 Synopsis: The empowering story of little elephant Num-Num, who discovers the importance of simply being YOU! From the creators of international bestseller and much-loved classic Giraffes Can't Dance. It's time for… Continue reading Elephant Me by Giles Andreae and Guy Parker-Rees