adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Dragon and her Boy by Penny Chrimes

Title: The Dragon and her Boy Author: Penny Chrimes Genre: Fantasy, Historical, Time slip Publisher: Hachette Australia/Orion Published: 23rd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: A story of the very last living dragon, stuck living in a tunnel under London, and the boy who unintentionally finds himself as her protector, perfect for… Continue reading The Dragon and her Boy by Penny Chrimes

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, literary fiction, Reading, Young Adult

Embassy of the Dead by Will Mabbitt

Title: Embassy of the Dead #1 Author: Will Mabbitt Genre: Children's/Horror/Ghost Stories Publisher: Hachette Australia/Orion Children's Books Published: 12th June 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 310 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: The first book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meet the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let… Continue reading Embassy of the Dead by Will Mabbitt

Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Young Adult

When The Mountains Roared by Jess Butterworth

Title: When The Mountains Roared Author: Jess Butterworth Genre: Children's Fiction Publisher: Orion Published: 10th April 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 282 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans… Continue reading When The Mountains Roared by Jess Butterworth

Books, Covers, Crime/Mystery, Festivals, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Rather Be The Devil by Ian Rankin

    Title: Rather Be The Devil Author: Ian Rankin Genre: Crime Publisher: Hachette Published: 3rd November, 2016 Format: Paperback Pages: 310 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Some cases never leave you. For John Rebus, forty years may have passed, but the death of beautiful, promiscuous Maria Turquand still preys on his mind. Murdered in her hotel… Continue reading Rather Be The Devil by Ian Rankin

Books, Fantasy, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

Title: King’s Cage   Author: Victoria Aveyard Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult Publisher: Orion Children’s Books Published: 7th February 2017 Format: paperback Pages: 512 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The highly anticipated new novel from New York Times Number One bestselling author of Red Queen. Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her mistakes.… Continue reading King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

Books, Crime/Mystery, Festivals, Publishers, Reading

RebusFest: Thirty Years of Ian Rankin and John Rebus – 1987-2017

2017 marks the thirtieth anniversary of John Rebus in print. Rebus’s first outing, Knots and Crosses, came out in 1987, and his thirtieth adventure, Rather Be The Devil, came out on the third of November 2016, so keep an eye out for my review of this soon. To celebrate this anniversary, Edinburgh, Rebus’s hometown, will be… Continue reading RebusFest: Thirty Years of Ian Rankin and John Rebus – 1987-2017

Books, Crime/Mystery, Reading, Reviews

Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

Title: Magpie Murders Author: Anthony Horowitz Genre: Mystery Publisher: Orion/Hachette Australia Published: 11th October 2016 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: When editor Susan Ryeland is given the tattered manuscript of Alan Conway's latest novel, she has little idea it will change her life. She's worked with the revered crime writer for years and… Continue reading Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz